Positive attitude

Today I went to visit Miss Jane.

Let me introduce this wonderful woman. She’s been a teacher and principal years ago, and when the school closed doors and she lost her job, she started babysitting. Upon the recommendation of the daycare center, my daughter hired Miss Jane as a nanny. She’s a gregarious person, bursting with energy, who talks loud and laughs a lot, mingles with people easily and befriends adults and kids alike. My granddaughters adored her right away. She acted more like a grandmother than a babysitter.

IMGP6679

At the Dolphin and Swan Resort where the RWA Conference took place.

At the time of the 2010 RWA National Conference in Orlando, my granddaughters were spending a month with me but I badly wanted to attend the conference. The complex hosting the event was splendid with several pools and outdoor activities for the children. I decided to take the girls and invited Miss Jane to come along and watched them while I was busy attending seminars.

IMGP6652

At the RWA book signing

Not only did Miss Jane supervise the children, she appointed herself my marketing manager. She distributed my bookmarkers, boasted of my talents and managed to sell several of my novels to people sitting around the pool.

IMGP6696

The fabulous pool-pond of the resort

Last year Miss Jane told me she had stomach problems. We compared notes and I suggested she saw a gastroenterologist. All her tests, procedures, and MRI came negative. Yet she kept losing weight. A doctor, more thorough than the others, asked for MRI of the head. That’s when they discovered she had a tumor the size of a tennis ball sitting on her cerebrum. She was stunned. No pain, no fatigue, just a loss of weight that she welcomed at the beginning.

Any surgery would be dangerous. A surgeon finally agreed to cut part of the tumor. Miss Jane improved right away. After therapy she was able to go home. At fifty-five she wanted to go back to work, but six months later, the symptoms returned. The tumor has doubled in size and engulfed the cerebrum. Nothing can be done to save her now.

Last week they moved her to the hospice, with the bleak prognosis of two to three weeks left for her. My daughter took her girls to visit. They found Miss Jane sitting in her bed, watching funny oldies. She chatted, laughed, and played card with them.

Her Christmas Cruise Bestseller SShe read most of my books. Today I printed a pfd copy of Her Christmas Cruise and took it to her. For almost an hour, she talked about many things, never mentioned her condition, and asked me to bring her more novels. Next time I visit, I will bring her my Holiday Babies Series.

I was sad and worried about this visit. Yet this wonderful woman managed to lift my spirits. She keeps busy with games, reading, TV and friends’ visits, and enjoys life one day at a time. I left the hospice relaxed and pledging never to complain again about meaningless frustration.

May I ask for your prayers for Miss Jane as the girls call her?

**If you want to join my newsletter , you may do so here.**

This entry was posted in Mona's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Positive attitude

  1. How sad. That she has such a positive attitude is something we all should aim for in life. May God keep her in his hands.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Stories like this remind us all to appreciate what we have and never take our health for granted.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. She sounds like a truly lovely woman. What a blessing you have all been given, to have her in your life. Prayers to Miss Jane and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Thank you for telling us about Miss Jane. The world needs more people like her. I will pray for her.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol says:

    I often think of the many wonderful people who have passed through my life. Each one made an impact in some way. Miss Jane is one of those special angels who graced yours. I’ll definitely be praying for Miss Jane and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mona Risk says:

    Thank you for your prayers for Miss Jane. Imagine she called me last night to wish us Happy Thanksgiving. I was embarrassed because I didn’t call her. I didn’t know to say. She told me her sons came to the hospice and they had a lovely Thanksgiving. She read Her Christmas Cruise and loved it. So on Sunday I will print the Holiday Babies Series and take it to her. If you have funny light romance novels and want to send me a PDF copy I will print them for her.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill James says:

    Prayers and warm thoughts, of course. I had a Miss Mary in my life when I was a little girl. She was like a third grandma. I loved her so much and I was so sad when we moved 3,000 miles across the country. She was who I practiced my cursive writing on, sending her weekly letters. I sent her a Christmas card every year until she passed away at 98 years old.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a woman your, Miss Jane is. Blessings to her and all those who love and honor her. What a spirit to emulate. Thank you for the post, Mona. I am so sorry you, and the rest of those in Miss Jane’s world, won’t have more time with her.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Carol says:

    Love comes in many forms. This time it’s a sweet aged woman who can teach us all…a thing about love and compassion. I commend you, Mona.

    Like

  10. monarisk says:

    Yesterday was a very sad day. Miss Jane passed away in the morning. A few days after I wrote this post I visited her and gave her prints of the three books of my Holiday Series. She called me a week later to say she loved them. She was doing much better and they were going to move her to a rehab. But the day before yesterday she turned off her phone and said she wanted to sleep. She had trouble breathing and passed a few hours later, while sleeping, in the middle of the night. I will copy this post and send it to her sons.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

