Top 5 Christmas Favorites by Joan Reeves

Merry-christmasAre you ready to sit down and put your feet up? I am. From Thanksgiving to New Year’s, I always feel as if I’m in a timed track and field sprint event. Actually, I guess it’s more like a marathon than a sprint.

Best Laid Plans

I worked so hard to finish my next contemporary romance, but I failed to take into account that the various publishing platforms would be shutting down early and not reopening for uploads until after New Year’s. So, I finally just screamed loud and long and said, “Oh, fish!”

Then I proceeded to eat the last two chocolate-covered cherries in my Christmas candy stash to take away the sting of not getting this book back from the last proofreader and formatted well before now.

Chocolate Cures All Ills

But back to the chocolate-covered cherries. I buy one box every year because my wonderful grandfather always bought a box for each of us kids every Christmas. I mean, an entire box of chocolates was like my idea of heaven.  So I do this every year and think of him and how much I loved him.

Tradition

Most of the stuff we all do at Christmas is because of tradition. Either a tradition started in your family long ago or one that you started–or just some little thing that you carried on because it makes you think of someone you loved or something that made you feel loved. Like my grandfather and the chocolates.

Instead of getting back to work on a short story I’m writing, I started thinking of all the things I do at Christmas that I do every year. I grouped these into 5 Christmas Favorites.

Favorite Christmas Songs (And the version I prefer)

1  Holly Jolly Christmas (Burl Ives)
2  Come Home for Christmas (The Eagles)
3  Santa Clause is Back in Town (Elvis)
4  Last Christmas (Wham)
5  Santa Baby (Bernadette Peters)

Favorite Christmas Carols

1 It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
2 O Little Town of Bethlehem
3 Do You Hear What I Hear
4 O Come, O Come Emmanuel
5 Silent Night

Favorite Christmas Movies

1 Love Actually (Funny, wise, wonderful!)
2 It’s a Wonderful Life (I still cry!)
3 A Christmas Story (I have a Red Ryder BB Gun!)
4 Die Hard (Christmas at Nakatomi Plaza)
5 The Ref (The Dysfunctional Christmas Story)

Favorite Christmas Food

1 My Mom’s Chocolate Bourbon Bon Bons (Oh, how I miss my Mom. She loved Christmas!)
2 My Sister-in-law Judy’s Coconut Cake
3 Chocolate Covered Cherry Bon Bons (chocolate, cherries, creamy liquid, yum!)
4 Texas Trash (my version of Chex Mix made with Tabasco, Tony Chachere Seasoning, Pecans, Almonds, Cashews, Peanuts, and, oh yeah! Chex Cereals.)
5 Pralines (the candy of the South–instant inches to the hips but oh so good.)

Favorite Christmas Activities

1 Nighttime Christmas Eve service at church.
2 The wrapping paper fight we have after all presents are opened.
3 Playing games with the whole family after Christmas dinner.
4 Caroling–either doing it or welcoming carolers at the door.
5 New Year’s Eve party we give.

Traditions are just memories of Christmas past. They call to mind long ago moments that bring joy to the present. Fill the holidays ahead with joy, making memories with family and friends.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Post Script

I want to remind you of the free book available to everyone. I compiled Holiday Decorating as a companion book to the Christmas on Main Street Romance Collection.

Each of the authors in the Christmas Box Set contributed a favorite craft or holiday decorating idea to the book. You can even watch the YouTube video I created to show you what the craft book is about.

If you haven’t downloaded Holiday Decorating, free to all, get it now. It’s available at Amazon Kindle * iTunes * Kobo * Nook

Only 99 cents for 12 Novels
Then for only 99cents, buy Christmas on Main Street Romance Collection, a box set of 12 full-length novels, all set during the holidays. My contribution to the box set is Nobody’s Cinderella. (Amazon never put the right cover up on the box set so you won’t see my name on the cover image, but I’ve been promised that my book is in the set.)

Buy Christmas on Main Street: Amazon Kindle iTunes * Kobo * Nook

Joan Reeves, author of funny, sexy Romance Novels, lives her happily ever after with her husband in the Lone Star State. Her books are available as ebooks and audiobooks. All her books have the same theme that is her motto: “It’s never too late to live happily ever after.” Joan publishes Writing Hacks, a free NL for writers, and WordPlay, a free NL for readers. Find Joan online: Blog, Website, Facebook, Twitter, & other social media.

About Joan Reeves

Joan Reeves is a NY Times and a USA Today bestselling author of Contemporary Romance. She is multi-published in print, ebooks, and audio books. Sign up for Joan's email list: http://eepurl.com/Yk61n and visit her on her blog http://SlingWords.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Joan's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Top 5 Christmas Favorites by Joan Reeves

  1. Jill James says:

    Joan, the holidays are made up of memories. My favorite part of Christmas is putting up the ornaments and remembering the kids making them, or getting one on vacation, or the old ones that belonged to grandmas or great-grandmas.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    On my tree I have an old plastic Raggedy Ann ornament from my childhood. My mom was going to throw it out so I took it. It brings back warm memories of Christmas as a kid – my dad cutting down a tree, and all the tacky 1970s decorations we used to put on it and throughout our living room.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    Joan, I love your lists! I’ve got at least 3 in each of your categories on my list as well. My grandma used to make bourbon balls and rum balls….I don’t think I’ve had either in more years than I can count. Your reminder has me looking up Grandma’s recipe; I’m making them this year! Hope you have a very Merry Christmas. Thank you for all you do on Main Street–it’s greatly appreciated!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Okay confession time: I loathe Christmas songs, and yes loathe is a strong word. It’s the fastest way to get me out of a store, out of your home, and out of my mind! I don’t remember not liking them as a kid, so I THINK it all happened when I worked retail as a teen and they would start playing them the day after Halloween, at least it seemed that way! Now, the ONLY Christmas CD I own is a Kenny G CD – becuase it has no words! LOL

    The rest of your favorites I can totally get on board with, thanks for sharing. Best wishes to you and yours for the holiday!

    Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

