Counting Blessings

So. Thanksgiving flew around the corner this year! Now, Christmas Eve is upon us and Christmas is on Thursday. Wow! For the life of me, I’ll never know where this year went. But it did. Each month pushed in so quickly, I scarcely remember one from the other. Except, of course, tax season. Who can forget that time of year? Not me.

And…for the record, it’s rained in my neck of the woods for two straight days, which has barely let up. I’d rather have some of that white stuff known as snow. Snow and the silence that comes with it. Beautiful.

file4171323682147

I realize so many have been bombarded with snow, this year especially, and my heart goes out to them. Still, this rain is abundant. Enough already. My footsteps squish when I walk across the yard. Nasty.

The year has also been a blessing in countless ways. We gained another ten months with my precious ninety-two-year old Mom. The holidays aren’t the same without her sweet smile around. She remains in my heart.

Housing, food, and clothing are a blessing, and I pray for those who are less fortunate.

The last few days have been filled with cooking, baking and more cooking. We’ll have dinner at our house tonight and open gifts. Christmas morning, we share breakfast with the kids after they open the rest of their gifts. Mostly for the grandson. Christmas is for kids and I love watching my grandson’s face, as he appreciates each and every gift.

file4911301670389

I hope your tree is decorated and brings you happiness.

May your Christmas be fabulous and filled with love, peace and joy.

Merry Christmas!

A Smoky Mountain Christmas Wedding – Book Two, coming soon.

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website for all My Books

http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Counting Blessings

  1. susanrhughes says:

    We’re having a warm spell here, so our snow will probably melt by tomorrow. No white Christmas after all, but what the heck. I’m grateful, as always, to spend the day with family and enjoy a wonderful meal.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      Susan, so sorry your snow will melt! There isn’t anything as beautiful than to wake on Christmas morning and find snow falling. It’s really all about family, and the joy of being together. Have a fabulous Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesterday we finally had a day w/o rain and now this morning, we are back to the sound of rain on a metal roof. I am expecting snow today and we have been warned of a snow storm overnight, which I don’t mind so much, since it means a white christmas. As long as I can get out of my driveway and over to my mother’s house, I will be happy to see the snow.

    What a gorgeous tree and table, by the way. I do love all of the lights at this time of year.

    Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jill James says:

    Carol, all the blessings of the holidays on you and yours.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to everyone!

    Rain can be depressing when it continues for days. We’re in for a fairly warm Christmas in SE Virginia. It’s almost 70 F out there. Thunderstorms tonight and then slightly cooler temps for Christmas. So much for the excitement of a white Christmas. Won’t happen here!

    But the true joy of Christmas is spending time with those you love. From my house to yours, Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Joan Reeves says:

    Carol, I hope you had a merry Christmas. It was 40 degrees F. here in Houston on Christmas morning. We are now at our house in the country, and it’s windy and cold with rain. I have the electric fireplace going, and I’m still in my jammies. I plan to be lazy all day. Hope your rain has stopped and you can also be lazy today.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol says:

    Thanks, Joan. Christmas was wonderful and I hope yours was equally wonderful! A country home and a fireplace is perfect after the holiday. Enjoy being lazy. I’m not doing much of anything today either. Time to kick back and regroup for the upcoming holidays and things to do. Love lounging in jammies all day. Plus, the rain stopped and we’re basking in sunshine. 🙂

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Have a very Merry Christmas, Carol! May every day of 2015 bring happiness to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

