When You Suffer One of Those Why Do You Bother Sort of Days

Ever have one of those why do I bother sort of days?
Do you ever look at your writer friends wonder what makes them get up in the morning, why do they have the ability to sit at the computer and write story after story? What feeds their motivation and how can I get some that to come my way?
And if you can’t/won’t write, then maybe you’re like me, and you read. You pick up a bestselling, award winning book and read about half of it. Hate it. Because it’s not yours. You don’t know if you can finish the novel you started—the unbestselling, nonaward winning one you’re (not) writing, or you were writing. Past tense writing.

little prince 1

And you’re gripped by self doubt. You wonder if you should be feeding the hungry, clothing the naked, engaging in a crusade to save an endangered species. But you don’t know how to do those things. You know how to write stories.
Remember how in English class your teacher would put a picture on wall and ask everyone to write about it? And even though all of the students saw the same picture, they each wrote a different story?
Stories and people are like that. You and I might sit in the exact same lecture hall, listen to the same professor, but chances are, your notes will look different than mine. We might attend the same party, witness the same crime, or fall in love with the same guy, but what we write in our diaries about the party, crime or guy will be different. Because we’re different. Unique. And we every situation we see is colored by the glasses of our experiences.

little prince 2

A conversation I had with a (heterosexual) friend after a yoga class demonstrates this perfectly. She once admitted that at yoga she often looks at the other women’s boobs. Huh. I thought that was fascinating because, I told her, that I often look at their butts. We decided that she looked at boobs because, being flat chested, she envied them, and I looked at butts because I wished mine was smaller.
What does this have to do with writing? It’s way too easy to compare our writing to another’s and see the plot holes, the clunky dialogue, or the awkward sentence. Often when we write, we’ll read over the first draft and mutter swear words. What we need to keep in mind is this—each stories is uniquely our own. No one else can tell your story like you can.
And there are some stories that will resonate with millions of people. And there are some stories that will touch the hearts of only a few. And that’s okay. As John Donne wrote, no man is an island. If your story makes even one person’s day a little brighter, you’ve done an amazing thing. Because that one cheered person carrying your book might be a little nicer, a little kinder, and a little more patient. And the world be a better place.
As writers, and as people, we can’t see where we’re going. It’s like running on a foggy day—one foot, or one sentence in front of the other. The only thing we can be sure of, if we stop running or writing, we’ll get nowhere pretty fast. (And our butts will get bigger.)
So, writer friends, in an effort to vanquish discouragement, here’s an opportunity to toot your own horn. Please post one line from one of your favorite review. (Preferably one not written by your mom.) Feel free to share a buy link.
I’ll start.
SQUEE!! I absolutely LOVED this book! It was truly impossible to put down and I can’t wait to read the next one. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline, and I loved how unique this book was.
http://www.amazon.com/The-Highwayman-Incident-Witching-Series-ebook/dp/B00QL15NQ8/ref=cm_cr_pr_pdt_img_top?ie=UTF8highwayman 2 copy (2)

About Kristy Tate

USA Today bestselling author Kristy Tate has come a long way from small-town Washington. Her avid curiosity and love of reading have carried her to thirty plus countries. (She loves to travel to the places she reads and writes about.) She's the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling and award-winning Beyond Series and the Kindle Scout winning Witch Ways series. She writes mysteries with romance, humorous romance, light-hearted young adult romance, and urban fantasy. When she's not reading, writing, or traveling, she can be found playing games with her family, hiking with her dogs, or watching movies while eating brownies. She is also a popular public speaker and presents writing workshops for schools, libraries, and fundraisers. All proceeds donated to charity. References available upon request.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to When You Suffer One of Those Why Do You Bother Sort of Days

  1. Thanks for the opportunity to feature one of my books. This line is from a 5-star review of my first book I.O.U. SEX, co-written with Sandra Allen. It is NOT erotica, but it is spicy!
    “It’s funny, poignant, sassy, sexy, heart-felt, and believable – everything a good book should be and more.”
    http://www.amazon.com/I-O-U-Sex-Sandra-Nachlinger-ebook/dp/B004CFAPA4/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I absolutely LOVED this post! I will have to come back later with my favourite review.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brilliant idea! Here’s my favourite, from a review of my short story collection Something Nice, written by Jan Strnad last Summer.

    “Lawston’s prose does not call attention to itself in any fancy manner, but it’s smooth and graceful and evocative and funny. It has a way of poking like an acupuncture needle exactly the cluster of nerve endings that send a tickle of electricity up your spine.”

    http://www.amazon.com/Something-Nice-Stories-Andrew-Lawston-ebook/product-reviews/B007R62AXU/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! And thanks for the chance to share.

    This is from Fresh Fiction for my book A Rancher’s Pride.
    Becky is the hero’s four-year-old daughter, who is deaf:

    “Instead of making Becky silent — White Daille gave her a voice, and what a voice she had. Reminiscent of Catherine Anderson and Deborah Smith who often give special people great voices — Barbara White Daille can add me to her fans.”

    http://amzn.com/B00E1UY35I

    Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you 🙂 Here’s mine from a reviewer I don’t know and isn’t related to me – LOL
    The Garnet Dagger Book 1 Legends of Oblivion Fantasy/ Paranormal Romance

    Captivating: “The story line had me hooked all night long. I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen. The cursed hero gave this book such a unique twist I wanted him to succeed but I also didn’t. It makes it a thoroughly captivating, good ride.”

    Amazon Buylink: http://amzn.com/B00BS9HTBK
    And it’s on sale at Amazon-Kindle this month for $1.99
    http://www.andreaRcooper.com

    Like

  6. mattwaldram says:

    Great post! My favourite review of Monsters of Elsewhere actually came from a user on Reddit, who says, “Absolutely amazing. It’s told with a cleverness and subtlety and wit that I’d expect from the likes of Gaiman and Pratchett at their best.”

    http://www.amazon.com/Monsters-Elsewhere-Matthew-Waldram-ebook/dp/B00RAB4OHM

    (As an aside, my favourite semi-insulting review so far, which really made me laugh: ““Was only vaguely interested in your book, but then I read your interview with Tim Minchin and I loved it.”)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carmens007 says:

    Thank you for this opportunity!
    Here’s one for my paranormal romance Shadows of the Past
    “Carmen Ştefănescu draws a beautiful, realistic picture of Medieval England, when people’s superstitions led to the persecution of wise healers who were considered witches. The legend of the cursed forest is absolutely fascinating, with its red-eyed ghost dogs, the stream with clear, cold water that turns into tar at night and the unsettling stillness of the trees…”Oana Ilasi
    Buy link:
    http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=84&products_id=410

    Liked by 2 people

  8. James D. says:

    Here’s one from the first book of my Dream Series:

    “The story draws you in – part romance, part murder mystery, part young woman finding herself and coming into her own. The characters are real, with depth and the story is told smoothly. I highly recommend this entire series”

    http://getbook.at/DreamStudent
    http://viewAuthor.at/JJDiBenedetto

    Like

  9. oddlynn3 says:

    Great post! Thanks for the opportunity.

    Here’s something about my book, A Viennese Christmas.

    “The main characters are realistic, fall in love at a leisurely pace rather than a forced one, and the atmosphere of the novel puts you right in the middle of the mystical Austrian city.” Review link: http://www.amazon.com/review/R3B851RCD696MH

    Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BBFDLOK

    Like

  10. rosgemmell says:

    What a great idea – thanks for the opportunity! This is a favourite one-line from a review from my British Regency novel, Dangerous Deceit.

    ‘Romy Gemmell knows the Regency period so well, yet portrays the history with the lightest of touches, leaving you as breathless and satisfied as the lovely Lydia is in the end.’

    http://www.amazon.com/Dangerous-Deceit-Romy-Gemmell-ebook/dp/B00LADYDKY

    Like

  11. rosgemmell says:

    Sorry – I just put the link in and the dashed cover came up as soon as I posted the message! Please feel free to try and delete the photo if that’s not allowed!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mickiesherwood says:

    Kristy, you captured my insecurities about the way forward perfectly. Thanks for the pep talk. Here’s my favorite Amazon verified purchase review.

    Christmas Crush – Is a man not a man if he rolls rather than walks? Just ask Ashley.

    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

    “This was such a very good story. I really enjoyed it wish it was longer, I would have like to know what happen when he went to visit in New York. This is my first time reading this author book I definitely will be looking for other books by her. Good job. Thanks”

    Buy: http://www.amazon.com/Christmas-Crush-Mickie-Sherwood-ebook/dp/B00QQFBW1Y/

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jill James says:

    From NAC on Amazon:
    For a short story, especially with such a tough topic, this is excellent!

    Divorce, Interrupted Book 1 The Lake Willowbee Series http://amzn.com/B005S9ZIN2

    Liked by 2 people

  14. I loved this post! I was nodding my head throughout. On good days, we may be able to recognize that our stories are going to be different, for all the reasons you said. But sometimes we forget that “different” doesn’t necessarily mean “good, better, best”. Anyway, great post! Very encouraging. 🙂

    Here’s a fave line from a review by NavyWavelb, for my Regency historical, LORD WASTREL:
    “The book is just as hot as the model on the cover!”

    http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lord-wastrel-donna-cummings/1120606756?ean=2940046308556

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Donna Maloy says:

    Brilliant post. Thank you.
    The one-line review I loved was: “When you reach the end, you close the book, sit back with a grin and say, ‘THAT was a great adventure.’ ” The book is Celia and the Wolf (Young Adult) and the Amazon buy link is http://amzn.to/1uhC0Fk

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Carol says:

    Kristy, great post. We’re all caught up in these days!
    Here’s a review from A SMOKY MOUNTAIN CHRISTMAS
    “Ms. DeVaney’s Southern accent gives her a very distinctive voice and pace that slides into this book and everything else she writes. Her ability to create delightful characters and bring them to life is a gift. She writes a story, but under it is a deeper one. The one that sticks with you long after you’ve put the book down. In this case, it’s two people who’ve lost so much, and they need to learn to trust again.” http://amzn.com/B0063WV8IW
    Thanks for the opportunity!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Barb Caffrey says:

    Kristy, thank you. I enjoyed your post, agreed with it 100%, and appreciate the opportunity to share my best review — definitely from someone not related to me — a five star review on Amazon for my comic YA urban fantasy/romance AN ELFY ON THE LOOSE (I’ve truncated it a bit to save space and fit your requirements better):

    Fresh, innovative and daring, this story comes across as something very different from the rest…a unique take on elves and their relationship with humans in a contemporary setting. From the concepts in the novel to the author’s unique and elegant writing style, everything about it contributed to build an enchanting world full of finely crafted characters, dark menace and promises of hope and love. And the storyline–wow–it kept me guessing from the very beginning and then it left me wanting for more at the end.

    Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JMSPR5Y/

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Jude Knight says:

    Love your post, and thanks for the invitation. Here’s a lovely review for my little free novella, Candle’s Christmas Chair.

    “Nothing good is ever easy! I highly recommend this beautiful story of reticence, realization and, eventually, love. You will not be disappointed!”

    http://www.amazon.com/Candles-Christmas-Chair-Jude-Knight-ebook/dp/B00R2AJDXG/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

    Like

  19. Jude Knight says:

    Sorry. My FB login stuck the image in and I don’t know how to remove it.

    Like

  20. I must now go in search of my favorite review, thanks for the idea and I am sure the added boost to my writer sensibilities will be felt tomorrow after the boost of a nice review!

    Like

  21. leighmorgan1 says:

    Thanks for the opportunity, Kristy! Wonderful post as always. Happy Valentines Week 🙂

    “This book can make you fall in love with the human spirit in the first two pages! The characters, the intricacies of plot, setting, and pure emotion make Ms. Morgan’s novel a must read! I can’t wait for the next book in this series!”

    http://www.amazon.com/Sparring-Partners-Dojo-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00427ZI4K/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1423839728&sr=8-7&keywords=Leigh+Morgan

    Liked by 1 person

  22. stephaniequeen says:

    Kristy, wonderful post–very heartfelt–like you! Thank you.

    My favorite review is from an Amazon reviewer for PLAYING THE GAME and whenever I’m feeling discouraged, I go back and read it (does that sound pathetic?)
    Here it is:
    “I enjoyed every page from the start to the end. I will keep this story in my heart and pray that Stephanie Queen writes more of these HOT SIZZLING SCORCHING novels. The plot was exciting and characters were absolutely delicious. I read it in on setting as I was unable to put it down. I will absolutely read more of hers.”

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007BUD1VC

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

