Valentine’s Day–Love it or Leave it?

Valentine’s Day is this Saturday. I used to love it and looked forward to it with anticipation. But it’s lost its attraction over the past few years. Not because of anything the hubby has done or hasn’t done, but because I’m so tired of all the “Hallmark Holidays.” You’d think a romance writer would be more enthusiastic, wouldn’t you?

I still remember the best Valentine’s Days over the years. Hubby has never been one to spend a lot of money (because we’ve never had a lot), but he always came up with the perfect thing. One year it was a rose bush planted in our yard–so I could have roses all the time and not just for a few days. Another year it was a gardenia bush planted outside our bedroom window because I loved the scent.

One year we were both in college, with two kids under 3 years old, and living on bologna sandwiches. He really splurged that year and brought home two steaks. Never had anything taste so good.

We’ve never taken romantic trips, gone out on the town, or splurged on expensive restaurant meals for Valentine’s Day. We prefer to stay home and maybe fix a special meal. The last couple of years, though, we’ve mostly said Happy Valentine’s Day, exchanged candy (or maybe nothing at all), and that’s been enough.

What about you? Do you go all out to celebrate the holiday? Do you ignore it completely? Or are you somewhere in between?

Tori

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Valentine’s Day–Love it or Leave it?

  1. Tori,
    Your Valentine’s moments were perfect. I especially loved the steaks story. My Valentine’s treat comes in a plastic bag not a pretty, red heart-shaped box. For years, now, my favorite Valentine’s from my husband has been big, raw shrimp. I love to give myself a shrimp boil with the corn, potatoes, and homemade dipping sauce. I don’t knock candy on Valentine’s. But, Louisiana shrimp are so much tastier. So what if I don’t have a keepsake box. I still have wonderful memories simply because he gave me what I wanted.
    Happy Valentine’s,
    Mickie Sherwood
    ~~Sweet, and spicy romance – a heartbeat away! ~~
    http://www.mickiesherwood.com/blog
    http://www.twitter.com/MickieSherwood

    Liked by 4 people

    • Tori Scott says:

      Shrimp sounds good! And gives me an idea. We haven’t had fried shrimp in ages. I might just fix that for our dinner on Saturday. πŸ™‚ And keepsake boxes just add to clutter and gather dust, while making us feel guilty about even thinking of throwing it away. Hubby and I are at the point in our lives where consumable goods make the best gifts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol says:

    Tori, I think your hubby is so thoughtful. The steak story is a treasured memory! Your hubby is a keeper. πŸ™‚ We rarely do anything other than a card or wishing each other Happy Valentine’s Day anymore either. And…I’m okay with that.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My husband and I treat Valentine’s Day as a special occasion. If it falls during the week, we celebrate the following weekend. We call it the love weekend. We don’t exchange gifts, flowers or go anywhere special. My husband is a retired chef and he goes all our creating gourmet meals for the weekend. We save up what we would spend on a dinner out plus gifts and put that towards the food. I bake up something luscious (this year it’s an oreo cheesecake). We turn off our devices and unplug. We enjoy great food and watch our favorite movies. My husband is a total romantic like me and this weekend we are watching the 1997 A&E Production of Pride and Prejudice, Love Actually and a few more movies. πŸ™‚ For us, it’s about spending time together and reconnecting. No amount of money can equal that. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I think the last time I was really INTO Valentines Day was in high school. I have to agree there is far too much hype about the day, I prefer to be loved daily and gifted to spontaneously! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Tori Scott says:

    I agree, Kelly! Why settle for only one day a year?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jill James says:

    My husband has made many memorable Valentine’s Days for me. Sometimes it is my favorite Sterling roses or a sapphire necklace because it matches my eyes, or a wonderful dinner out. We usually do more splurging on our anniversary likes trips to San Luis Obispo or a night to the opera or ballet with a limo ride and dinner in the city.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Tori, I heard a wonderful guest on NPR say that, if you’re married, Valentines Day is: “Amateur Hour” . And that we should be celebrating our anniversaries instead. I agree, in theory, with this point of view. He also said: one should never give a gift for Valentines that could be purchased in a gas station. I’m think’n that’s sound advise all the way around. πŸ˜€ Staying home for Valentines.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. susanrhughes says:

    We usually go out for dinner. With three young kids, romantic meals don’t happen at home!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

