I Love Books

book reviewNow, since this is a writers blog it may seem a little Captain Obvious, but I really, really love books. Since this is the month of love with Valentine’s Day I thought I would share a little of my first love affair: books. I learned to read at 2 1/2 years old and I haven’t stopped since. I’ve been known to read the cereal box at breakfast. I always have my Nook or Kindle for lunch time. Can’t believe I had to spend so many years trying to read and eat and hold a paperback book at the same time. LOL

I read 3 to 4 books at a time. I have one in most rooms of my house so wherever I am, I have a book to read. Some on the dining room table, one or two on the couch for when the husband is watching the fifth hour of Sports Center, and a few on my nightstand for bedtime reading, along with the ereaders, unless they are charging. I finish 3 to 4 books a week. My B&N book expense is HUGE!

My favorite reads are historical romance. I have always been a history buff and to add romance to history is the ultimate love affair. I miss the days of sweeping Civil War sagas like Heather Graham’s One Wore Blue series. For some reason, apparently TPTB (The Powers That Be) have declared the Civil War dead as an historical era for romance novels. I’m sorry, but a time when lines where drawn and you had to decide on a side with the consequences being life and death and the loss of everything you held dear was a time full of conflict. Throw in a woman who was on the other side of the line and you had the makings of a conflict-driven mega-romance story.

Now that I’m a published author I love the books I write as well. Add in self-publishing which means I can write anything I want and I’m happier than a kitten with a ball of yarn or a reader with an endless supply of books. Between reading and writing I can spend most days in a fantasy world of my own imagination. And just maybe, someday, I’ll be brave enough to tackle the writing of my own historical romance novel.

Because I love books!!


Jill James, writer of contemporary and paranormal romance
My newest release: Love in the Time of Zombies

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Love Books

  1. A wonderful spirit here — always great to see another book lover 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    I love historical romance as well! Heather Graham’s series is fantastic. Got me hooked! It’s funny to me that what we read to escape or simply is love isn’t always what we primarily write. Odd, but interesting. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bellastreet says:

    I’m with you, but there’s also the *smell* of books that’s compelling. Kindle needs to figure out a way to emit that from its readers!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    Like Bella, I love, love the scent of books. I love my reader, but miss that scent. Nothing like it. Heather Graham’s books are great. Tossing you a ball of kitten yarn. 😉

    Like

  5. susanrhughes says:

    Go ahead and write that historical romance. I’ll be the first to pick up a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. stephaniequeen says:

    I know what you mean about historical romances. I devour regency romances but I’ve never seriously entertained the idea of writing one–just love reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

