Images. Thoughts. Let’s Have a Little Fun!

Yesterday, while I searched for a particular photo, several that popped up brought a line of poetry or a particular thought to mind. Of course, that’s nothing unusual since photos normally bring on an image of what’s going on, where was this photo taken, or maybe you wonder what’s running through the subject’s head. Sometimes a shot of a landscape does the same. What  if someone lurks behind the door? Why are they there?

You know how images of loved ones move through your head and always bring back that special moment of when the photo was taken? When you flip through your own photos, I’ll wager your mind is filled with sweet memories.

This specific photo represents how much of the country is living these days. Being from the South, we don’t see much snow, but we have the past week and are waiting on sleet and snow today. Different parts of the metro area are feeling the affect as I write this post. I love snow, but can live without sleet.
009So…I see children playing with other children, their parents or a lively pet, throwing snowballs, perhaps simply building a snowman. I imagine a couple walking quietly around the area, their thoughts held inward or perhaps discussing that it’s time to begin their family. Switching it up, I wonder if any one is lying in wait for a child, a parent or maybe there is a homeless person in need.

So many thoughts and ideas pass through my over active brain! 🙂

I’ll try to keep them to a minimum. Ha.

The photo below reminds me of Celestine Sibley.

hempsted3

I worked with Celestine for about two months before her death. I loved that woman! She was full of life and didn’t care what people thought of her. She had too much else to take care of.  She was a lover of antiques and simplicity and her cabin in Atlanta projected all that she was. The window in the corner is much the same as one in her cabin.

Once I’d thrown out a canister of old coffee grounds and vegetable scraps. Did I ever get that look…and she definitely had one! She also kept a cup, with sugar, and a saucer with water, on her cabinet. I didn’t bother that because I know it’s a great ant catcher, and I wasn’t prepared for that look again. 🙂

I could go on and on about Celestine, but I’ll hold onto those memories.

One other thing I’ll share because it’s too good not to. Celestine woke at 4 am every morning to write on a novel before leaving for her job at The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. Her grandson told me he often drove her into the city so she could write. She’d sit with a typewriter on her knees and write her column for the day. Yes! She was that good.

Anyone remember the movie with Natalie Woods and Robert Redford, “This Property is Condemned?”

PICT0028 It’s a great movie and if you haven’t seen it, perhaps you’ll look it up and watch. This photo reminds me of that movie. Children were carefree back in the day and allowed to explore and broaden their minds, unlike today where we hold our children close to home.

When I look at this photo, I can’t help but wonder what happened to a side table with a cool pitcher of lemonade and perhaps a plate of cookies. Where is the little man and woman sitting close and waiting for their children to visit? Where is the dog who used to lay between the chairs? The rockers are now stilled, and I want to know why.

RRPorch2

I had to laugh when I found this image. The image puts the finishing touches on a scene of two characters in my book, “Perfect Match.” Two nosey sisters prove that things are not as they always seem. Is there good in everyone? I love these two characters. They were so much fun to write about.

Half frame012b

What are your thoughts? If you’d like, share what you see in some, or all, of the photos. I’d love to read them.

Thank you for visiting and I hope we meet again. Until then, I wish you love, music and butterflies.

A Smoky Mountain Christmas Wedding – Book Two, coming soon.

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website for all My Books

http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Images. Thoughts. Let’s Have a Little Fun!

  1. susanrhughes says:

    That first photo reminds me of how thoroughly fed up I am with winter right now. LOL. Enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Like Susan, I’ve seen enough snow. Still, I know what you mean, Carol, about a photo being able to take me back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristy Tate says:

    Sunny and warm here almost always. I miss the seasons with a bittersweet nostalgia that’s probably completely wrong. Chances are if I ever moved to somewhere with crisp autumns and snowy winters, I’d miss my home in California. Everything looks greener somewhere else–unless you’re in my hometown in Washington. NOTHING is as green as the Pacific Northwest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Seasons here are wonderful and I’d miss them if they weren’t in our area. Granted, summers are scorching and winters are miserable sometimes, but that’s Georgia. California is blessed with super delightful weather.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

