Turn! Turn! Turn!

The songwriter was Pete Seegar, and it was sung by The Byrds in 1965, which sent it to the top of the charts. But the words really came from Ecclesiastes, which is from the Bible. No matter what your beliefs, there is truth in the words. Here’s the most famous portion from the Bible.

To Everything There is a Season

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;Signs of Spring

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

***

But why do we do the things that we do? Because we are human. And like nature, we cycle.

This is the beginning of March, a change of season. Winter for many is a time of holidays and snow but for me, it’s that reflective time. Maybe I’m a little like that deciduous tree in the backyard. The leaves are gone and it appears to just be standing there, doing nothing. It looks to be asleep, but it’s not. There’s this whole internal thing going on that no one sees.

I holed up in my writer’s cave and busted my butt to get two books ready to go this winter. But there was something else going on the entire time. Something inside of me intuitively making changes – something that said this coming year will be different. While I sat putting words into my computer, another part of my brain was analyzing my past and looking at my future – and it wasn’t happy with what it was seeing. I needed to make some changes – but which ones?

There’s more to writing than just writing. I had reached my limits when it came to promoting my books. And I realized I didn’t have those skills nor did I have the time or the desire to acquire them. The funny thing was the answer to my problem was under my nose. As I’ve written my Wedding Vow books, I talk about a man by the name of Chrisy, a rather colorful but very likeable character who knows how to make things happen. He doesn’t know a darn thing about designing wedding dresses, but he does know how to promote. I needed a Chrisy!

So open your heart and your mind or whatever needs to be opened and seeWith This Ring1600 x 2400 what flies your way! In January, I opened that proverbial window and unbeknownst to me things were happening. I feel as though my writer’s tree has begun to collect meristematic material at my tips and everything is ready to break loose with the first real sign of spring. My roots have grown over the winter, firmly establishing my foothold in the industry.

But what flew through my window was almost unexpected – a manager for my books. I’m getting my own Chrisy – that person who knows how to make things happen.

So I’m rending and casting away. I’m building up and embracing And maybe most importantly, I’m planting. For it’s a new season and a new time. I don’t know what is ahead. I only know that there is change in the air and I intend to do a few things this year that have nothing to do with writing and everything to do with meJulia&Aaron 250x400 as a person. This year, I’m going to try some new paths and do a few things differently. And with a little luck, I won’t be worrying so much about my books.

Here’s a sneak peek at my newest Wedding Vow book that will be part of the boxed set Love Blooms on Main Street. This time it’s Cody Montgomery’s second daughter who is finding her true love.

 TO HAVE & TO HOLD

“I don’t know. I only know I’m not happy.” Melissa watched her grandfather stand and pour a cup of coffee. Not knowing what he was thinking was killing her.

He took a sip and returned to his seat. “Now what about your feelings for this young man?”

“He’s not young. I’d say he’s in his early thirties.”

Her grandfather guffawed. “That’s not old.”

“Okay, it’s relative. He’s a whole lot older than I am and not as old as Dad.” She swirled what was left in her cup and watched the dark liquid rotate around the sides. “He’s handsome. We’ve kissed. But… He’s made it clear that he’s not rushing into anything. And I know who I am, I’ve got my job, and I know that no one wants me mixed up with some guy who likes to play in the dirt and plant flowers for a living.”

“Good girl.”

“That’s the other problem. I am a good girl.” She looked at her grandfather. “I’m a virgin, and he knows it.” Did I really just say that to my grandfather?

“Good. That’s the way it should be. And I’m glad to hear that he respects you for it.”

“You don’t understand. No one is a virgin anymore. I’m a dinosaur. It’s not like it used to be. Guys expect to have sex. It’s all about recognizing and enjoying one’s sexuality.”

“Maybe you should talk to your grandmother about this.”

“No. You asked and I’m telling you. I scare the hell out of guys. I’m smart. I’m a Montgomery. And I’m a virgin, too?” She blew out a breath. “No way. A guy isn’t coming near me. And if one does, he either wants some notch on his conquest gun belt or he’s after the money. This guy doesn’t know who I am. He’s just nice to me.”

“And you’re in love with him?”

“Whatever my feelings are… I’m not about to be swept off my feet by a good looking guy.”

“I like your level-headed attitude.” He swigged at his coffee and then drained his cup. “Will you give me this week before you turn in your resignation?”

She nodded.

“Fine. Report to me tomorrow morning at seven thirty, right here at the house. You can ride into the office with me. I want you to shadow me all this week. We’ll talk again Friday evening, and you can tell me what you think.”

She nodded and stood. “Thanks, Granddad. I don’t know what I want. I just know what I don’t want.”

“We’ll talk Friday.”

She returned to her apartment and began to make plans. She wasn’t certain what her grandfather had in mind, she only knew she wanted out of the corporate world.

She wanted to go home – back to her cottage by the pond, and she wanted to get as far away from Utah as possible.

This entry was posted in E.'s Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Turn! Turn! Turn!

  1. Jill James says:

    E., you sound so happy! Congratulations!

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      Just clearing the weight of those two books is a mood lifter yet neither one is actually gone from me. Stir in a little Spring Fever and the concept that I won’t be the one struggling with every tiny detail once my books are written… Yes, I’m looking forward to some positive changes and whatever else comes my way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol says:

    I’m looking for a seasonal change too, E. Good luck with your new manager. Awesome!

    Like

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    Congratulations on finding your Chrisy, E. Lord knows we could all use one! May all the changes that come your way this year help you!

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      No matter what we do in life, sometimes we need a little help. I remember when the kids were little and getting hubby to watch them so that I could go food shopping without the children was a treat! Or the really rare occasion when hubby and I would find a babysitter and sneak off without them. It’s not that I didn’t love my children or that they were poorly behaved (I loved them dearly and they were amazing in public!) – it was my need to be more than a mommy for a few hours. Because for 24/7 I was a mommy. I needed a few hours to just be a person. Then the day came that I had both of them in school. While other mothers cried because they’d “lost” their babies, I silently cheered the few hours of freedom!

      I think that is happening now. I’m slowly putting my children on that school bus so that they can learn new things, meet new people, make friends, and grow. And I’m cheering my few hours of freedom! And if my books do as well as my children, I’m going to be a very proud author!

      Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

