Actors Portraying Characters

Once I wrap my head around a storyline, actors with clear-cut personalities make their way into my head. I see characters, as I think an actor would portray them, in my story, as though a movie is playing. For my book A Smoky Mountain Christmas, Sandra Bullock represented the main character, Tina. I envisioned Sandra as Tina in every scene I wrote. Sandra Bullock, most of the time, plays spirited, and infectious characters, so does Tina capture the same traits in A Smoky Mountain Christmas.

5931599

I’m excited my book, Perfect Match, is in our upcoming Boxed Set, Love Blooms on Main Street, release date April 30, 2015.

Perfect Match: The flower Forget-Me-Not symbolize true love and remembrance. Cali finds love again with Trace. In the midst of mistrust and a triangle with Trace’s deceased wife, Cali refuses to play second-fiddle to a ghost. Can they earn a second chance at love?

PM Cover

These are the actors that played in my mind while writing Perfect Match.

Cali Weston, heroine: Meg Ryan

Trace Robbins, hero: Greg Kinnear

Dylan Robbins, young boy: Connor Corum

Burt Hall, Cali’s old friend: Robert Duvall

Faye Ragland, meddlesome sister to Helen: Shirley MacLaine

Helen Ragland, meddlesome sister to Faye: Betty White

Tim Stone, the lawyer: Tom Skerritt

Sarah, the housekeeper: Olympia Dukakis

Sheriff Lang: Jeff Bridges

Stephen Moran-art dealer & villain: Matthew McConaughey

I enjoyed writing this book while the characters dealt with forgiveness and the loss of a loved one. All of us deal with these issues our own way. This is Cali and Trace’s journey toward progression in their particular difficulties.

Do you envision actors as your characters while you read or write?

Check back often for updates on our newest Boxed Set, Love Blooms on Main Street.

Links to my books, available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords, can be found here: http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Actors Portraying Characters

  1. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:

    Today’s post on Authors of Main Street is all about visualizing book characters. We all do it, stop by and see who Carol Devaney sees in her books!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Sounds like a great movie! I’d be first in line to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. E. Ayers says:

    I have no clue who would play the parts for most of what I write. But I’m not much of a TV watcher or a movie goer so I don’t know most of the actors and actresses under the age of 40. I’ll look at a pic and wonder who she is. Say names and they mean nothing.

    But I know so many writers who use that Hollywood technique, or will search the web or magazines to find their characters, and then they put them above their computer or someplace where they see them everyday until the book is finished.

    I just visualize my characters. I see them. I see my heroes wrists and nails – I see everything about them. I know I’m weird.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      I visualize the characters fully before thinking of an actor. They pop into my head, especially Tina who reminds me of Sandra Bullock. I just thought it would be fun to put an actor to my characters. Pretty good to use a certain actor and a role he/she played for a character. Keeps me motivated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love your cast of characters, Carol! Wonderful choices.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joan Reeves says:

    Thanks for your post, Carol. I visualize my characters and then find an actor who visually can be cast in that role. You and I must think alike. *g*

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

