The Power of Prayer

We have often heard friends complain about a distressing event, death of a relative, sickness, loss of a job, or a monetary setback. They often end their stories with a special plea: “Pray for me.”

Supportive friends send their best wishes, promise to pray or share some special ‘vibes’.

We see terrible scenes on TV news and wonder why, and we pray. But the disasters and killings intensify and our prayers are not answered.

I read somewhere that America is a praying country, and the older we get, the more we pray. An impressive 48% of Americans ages 18 through 29 pray every day, the Pew Research Center reports. For the 50 through 59 age group, the number grows to 61%, and the 70-plus crowd is downright pious, checking in on a daily basis.

Prayers are like letters that flutter upward, missive of gratitude or requests for blessings. Some people pray every day, some only on special occasion. For some prayers are like urgent calls of help sent to God. “SOS I need you right away.”

When I was small my parents taught me to recite a bed prayer: “God Bless Mommy, God Bless Daddy, my big brother, my little sister and all the people I love.”

I did the same with my children and grandchildren.

Many remember the famous paragraph from the Gospel, “Ask and you will be given. Knock and the door will open for you.”

Right now we are praying for my husband’s niece. She’s 43, has two children 10 and 7 and she’s been battling colon and then lung cancer for three years. She’s undergone several surgeries, radiation and chemo therapy. She’s fighting with all her will, to live and be allowed to see her children grow. Family and friends have organized a chain of prayers for her, and we refuse to believe the doctors’ prognosis that she has only three years to live, if lucky.

So do you believe in the power of prayer? Do prayers change things?

What if God doesn’t seem to listen and your prayers are not answered?

 

This entry was posted in Mona's Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Power of Prayer

  1. susanrhughes says:

    I’m so sorry to hear what your niece is going through. She’s the same age as me, with kids about the same age as mine. I can’t imagine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Leacott says:

    Our prayers are with you and yours, Mona.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your niece, Mona. Yes, I believe in prayer. Yes I believe prayer works. Prayer is part of my life. When my eight-year-old granddaughter was diagnosed with a very aggressive Wilm’s KidneyTumor on July 4, 2003, we were devastated. Our lives were forever changed when she passed away Janurary 21, 2004. Thousands of prayers went up in her behalf for healing. But, healing wasn’t in God’s plan. We must pray for God’s will, and I sometimes forget that when I pray for a loved one. All our days are numbered, as God knew us before we were. You, your niece and family have my prayers. May God bless each and every one of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your niece. Yes, I believe in prayer and nurturing positive energy of all kinds. Hugs to you and your family. Hope Easter week finds you all enjoying one another. Happy Easter.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Joan Reeves says:

    I’m heartened to hear that your niece continues to battle cancer but sorry at the same time that she has not achieved remission. Cancer is such a terrible affliction. All the philosophers through the ages have confronted the question you posed: What if God doesn’t seem to listen and your prayers are not answered? I guess it’s a matter of what one chooses to believe. Choose faith and believe that there is a plan and a reason for everything even when you don’t see that plan or like where the plan leads. Or, choose chaos and think there is no rhyme or reason to what happens in life. Free will makes the choice ours.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Mona Risk says:

    We always hope that our prayers will come true. It’s only after that we try to understand God’s reasons. Easter is a good time for hope and prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

