What Brightens Your Day?

We all have different symbols that brighten our days. I’m partial to flowers. Any color, height or width.

Tickseed (Coreopsis auriculata) is a gorgeous plant. 11025733_10153205985003954_5160012850450597426_n[1]

Tickseed resemble daisies, which I’m fond of. They produce tiny seeds which resemble ticks. Before you know it, you’ll have more plants than you know what to do with. Make someone else happy. Give some away.

Speaking of tiny seeds, that’s how stories begin. Tiny thoughts lock inside your head, take root  and spread into larger  ones. Those tiny thought seeds are the foundation of stories when they bloom into characters and plot. It doesn’t take much to form stories from everywhere around us. Friends, family, strangers or the news. We take one instance and form entire novels from one tiny seed.

My granddaughter and grandson planted Shasta Daisies in a flower bed a few years ago and they also multiply. So make sure you have room for the flowers to spread.

I like to think of each petal on the daisy as a page or chapter in a book.

file0001943707512

2013-04-24_16 24 45

This is a beautiful white Iris, a special friend from North Carolina sent me a number of years ago. I love sharing plants, whether it’s the next door neighbor or from states away.

Stories bloom as the seeds on one tiny Tickseed, to huge blooms from a bulb of an Iris plant.

Our new ten story box set is based on flower symbolisms. Each story has a different flower.

Love Blooms on Main Street is works of love from the Authors of Main Street. Grab a copy while it’s on pre-order.

My contribution to the set is a story close to my heart, Perfect Match.

A lonely woman. A guilt-ridden man.

A child in the middle.

A home where dreams might come true.

When Cali and Trace meet, Cali has walked away from a bad relationship. Trace can’t forgive himself for the death of his wife and Cali has no intention of playing second fiddle to his late wife. But, there is Dylan, Trace’s seven year-old son. Cali can’t resist the little boy and Dylan has embraced Cali far more than either Cali or Trace would like. Problems arise when Cali discovers Trace’s secret.

What are some of your favorite flowers? What do they remind you of?

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website for all My Books

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What Brightens Your Day?

  1. Carol says:

    Reblogged this on My Weblog and commented:

    Love Blooms on Main Street

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love that Shasta Daisy petals remind you of chapters in a book. What a wonderful way to see each vital bit while loving the whole bloom! Thanks for the post, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thanks, Leigh. A few pages at a time and we have an entire book. Daisy in bloom, a book in bloom!

      Liked by 1 person

      • E. Ayers says:

        All those composite flowers remind me of life in general. People are really a sum of their parts, as are flowers. Our lives have so many petals to them, as do books! It’s a great analogy.

        Did you know that certain chrysanthemums will totally fall apart of you pull one petal off? Sort of like our stories will fall apart if we don’t tell the whole story!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Joan Reeves says:

    Lovely post, Carol. I’m crazy about flowers too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. susanrhughes says:

    I love irises. I had some beautiful white ones in my yard, but they haven’t bloomed in years (I don’t have a green thumb).

    Liked by 1 person

    • E. Ayers says:

      They need a little sunshine! They like it dry in the summer. They also don’t want to be mulched. That “foot” should be near the surface of the soil. They tend to be self-leveling, but we have a tendency to bury them too deep. Try lifting the bulbs and planting them again. And they don’t like being crowded. As cold as you are in the winter, you can mulch them in the fall but sweep all that away in the spring! Tell your girls to take Nature’s winter blanket off them and expose those bulb-like “toes”. Maybe you’ll see some blooms this year and you won’t have to lift them until later in the season after they have bloomed.

      Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      Green thumbs are thumbs that have been taught! Show me a green thumb and I’ll show you the person behind it with plenty of knowledge.

      Like

  5. Carol says:

    Susan. let me know privately where to send and I’ll send you some bulbs when they’re ready to separate! I began with one large bulb and now have so many I can’t count them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. E. Ayers says:

    Once my girls had their schooling out of the way, I embraced the field of horticulture and specialized in historic gardens. It’s also where I seriously began writing as I was writing horticulture articles.

    I don’t think there’s a flower that I don’t like. When each one blooms, it steals my heart again, and I would swear it’s my favorite! I’m very fond of perennials but even marigolds and zinnias hold a special place in my heart. Even the so called weeds make me smile. How can you not smile when you see the big, bright yellow head of a dandelion or a lovely buttercup plant busting in blooms? My husband would just shake his head when I’d remind him not to mow the flowers.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

