Boxed Sets. (A History of the Authors of Main Street.)

In December of2013, I collaborated with 10 authors and helped create Christmas on Main Street, an anthology of 11 Christmas stories. Most are novels. Some are novellas. There are a few short stories. We were each responsible for our own covers and editing, but one saintly author made our cover, another did all the formatting, one was responsible for running the ads, and two handled the money. We all promoted.

f77c8-ams_xmas_2014_3d_849px500p

How did we meet? We all belonged to an e-mail loop for romance writers, and someone came up with the idea of forming a group blog. Since there were thirteen of us, we decided to each blog once a month.

In June of 2013, we came up with the idea of each writing a short story that centered on a wedding. I think we were so impressed with ourselves that we decided to collaborate on a box set.

Our Christmas anthology bounced around number one on three of Amazon’s lists and pretty consistently hung around #50 on Amazon’s bestseller list over all. Why do I think our collection rocked the lists?

It’s a bargain. 11 books for .99 cents. It’s hard to beat the economics.

It was timely. (People like Christmas stories.)

It’s got a great cover.

Something that I didn’t give much thought to, but in hindsight I think makes a huge difference is we didn’t know each other when we started. We don’t belong to the same (physical) writing groups. For the most part, we don’t even live in the same states. In fact, Susan lives in Canada. This means that we don’t all drink out of the same reader pool.

Why did I do this? It wasn’t for money. I didn’t know if I would make enough money to buy a doughnut. My goal was/is to gain readers. No one is going to read my books if they don’t know I write books. Thousands of readers now have a copy of one of my novels on their ebook device.

In six weeks we had more than thirty thousand sales. I can honestly say:

I never could have done this on my own.  Even if I had 11 books to bundle, I wouldn’t want to. I don’t want to give all of my books away for 2.7 cents each.

I saw a dramatic uptick in the sales of my other books, more than a 200% increase in sales. Which may sound bigger than it is considering what my sales were at that time, but, hey—a 200% increase looks good on any spread sheet.

I have learned a lot from the flood of emails from the other writers in our set. They have marketing know-how and savvy that I’m still trying to grasp.

2D Boxed set

Since that first set, we’ve produced two more boxed sets. About two weeks ago we released Love Blooms on Main Street. 10 romantic novellas for .99 cents, each story features a flower, proving that love and readers just keep on blooming.

Copy of Love Blooms 2500

If you’re an author and have a boxed set, please share it with us.

Also, I have a book in the Kindle Scout program. If you nominate it and it’s picked up for publication, you get a free copy! You can vote for it here:

 https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/1KK4JDTJN8YFYWitch Ways copy (1)

About Kristy Tate

USA Today bestselling author Kristy Tate has come a long way from small-town Washington. Her avid curiosity and love of reading have carried her to thirty plus countries. (She loves to travel to the places she reads and writes about.) She's the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling and award-winning Beyond Series and the Kindle Scout winning Witch Ways series. She writes mysteries with romance, humorous romance, light-hearted young adult romance, and urban fantasy. When she's not reading, writing, or traveling, she can be found playing games with her family, hiking with her dogs, or watching movies while eating brownies. She is also a popular public speaker and presents writing workshops for schools, libraries, and fundraisers. All proceeds donated to charity. References available upon request.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Boxed Sets. (A History of the Authors of Main Street.)

  1. E. Ayers says:

    I don’t think saint fits me – ever! 😉

    But it is amazing how 13 of us came together and we’ve all become such good friends. And as one reviewer said about our writing, “There’s not a sinker in the bunch.” That was sheer luck!

    Main Street is really an attitude that fits so many readers. We do write contemporary, but I also write historical, and many of us write in other genres . But no one is too hot or too sweet which means we appeal to the average reader. And a few of us might be a little spicier, we are a long way from hot and even the sweetest writers here don’t tip the scales to being too sweet. So staying with the attitude of Main Street, be it a small town or a big city, we have a wide appeal And the Authors of Main Street have gained a reputation for quality boxed sets.

    I’m glad you’re an author here on Main Street. I love your books and I can’t wait to read Witch Ways.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I’m in love with the Witch Ways cover.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I loved hearing the story behind the Authors of Main Street! 🙂 Oh and I voted for your book, Witch Ways. Sounds like something I would love to read! 🙂 Love the cover!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I’ve got FOUR boxed sets for you!

    One is a set of 14 paranormal novels: http://www.amazon.com/Paranormal-featuring-vampires-werewolves-mermaids-ebook/dp/B00OGKNBX8

    One is a set of 10 novels called “At Odds With Destiny”: http://www.amazon.com/At-Odds-Destiny-Uvi-Poznansky-ebook/dp/B00SHYGG7C

    And then I have two sets of just my own novels…the first three books of my Dream Series are collected in http://getBook.at/DreamSequence

    and the first FIVE books are collected together in http://getBook.at/BoxofDreams

    Liked by 2 people

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Kristy, there isn’t anything you write I don’t want to read. What a great history of AoMS. Thanks! Feeling Blessed 🙂

      Like

  5. stephaniequeen says:

    Kristy, I love your history of our group! I still think some day we ought to put together our wedding serial of blogs into a cohesive story… I might even volunteer to do it… at some point!
    I’m glad to belong to this group!
    Stephanie Queen

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Great post and thank you for the opportunity.

    I’m part of a paranormal romance bundle only available for a limited time:
    http://amzn.com/B00MEWCG4A

    Also, my publisher has many bundles (all limited time offers) from sweet contemporary to spicy:
    http://www.crimsonromance.com/collections/

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Thanks for the opportunity! I have a mystery boxed set: Young Ladies of Mystery – it features my books Twenty-Five Years Ago Today, Sink or Swim, and Dark Before Dawn. Solve a cold case with aspiring reporter Kris Langley; discover the downside of fame with former reality show contestant Cassidy Novak; and meet teenage psychic Dawn Christian, who discovers that ESP spells D-A-N-G-E-R. Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Young-Ladies-Mystery-Boxed-ebook/dp/B008YA0AW6/ref=

    I also have the Teddy Bear Children’s Bundle for kids, which features three picture books including The Flag Keeper, which is an educational read for Flag Day and the Fourth of July. http://www.amazon.com/Childrens-Bundle-Complete-Picture-ebook/dp/B0071OHVD2/ref

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m in my first boxed set right now. It’s a science fiction romance collection called Sing A Song Of The Stars. All the details are here, and it’ll be available through mid-July, http://www.rachelleighsmith.com/2015/04/new-release-sing-song-of-stars.html

    And I know Pepper. We live in the same area and our writing group used to be an RWA chapter.

    Liked by 3 people

Please Leave a Reply

