TO TWEET OR NOT TO TWEET

The other night we watched a movie where a divorced father brought his children together for a family dinner. They talked for a while, some had their phone to an ear, others were keying on their phones. Some stared at their watches or out the window, obviously annoyed to be there.

None of them were connected to the ones they had resentfully agreed to attend the dinner. You could tell as soon as they could, they’d be out the door.

This photo shows how using your phone at times like this can harm families and the closeness they’re missing out on.

3 famiy

They’d taken time to have a family gathering, but none of them were connected. True the photo could show them after a long period of being together, but maybe not.

Back to the movie we watched. The one move toward progress the father made was to open a box and required everyone there to place their phone in the box. I salute the divorced father in the movie. He knew his children wouldn’t listen to a thing he had to say, or the other table discussion, if bells and whistles rang out during the meal.

Missing a phone call, tweet, or other media connection usually isn’t life threatening. I’m as guilty as anyone else at keeping my phone close by, but have tried to not let the phone interrupt special times with family and friends. Texting is a fabulous way to touch base quickly and easily too, but I love hearing my loved one’s voices.

I don’t think there is anything more discouraging, when we all have little time to spend with family and friends, than when ninety percent of them are on the phone. We gather to soak up memories of our loved ones, and that can’t happen when some are otherwise engaged. There’s a feeling of disturbing them from a game or other fixation they’re otherwise involved. So many wonderful memories are made around the family dinner table. I don’t want to miss a one.

xemenia and her mom 218..

That said, the media is a wonderful way to connect with loved ones and new friendships we’re lucky to have formed.

What are your thoughts on family and phone usage?

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website for all My Books

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TO TWEET OR NOT TO TWEET

  1. Joan Reeves says:

    I fear I’m becoming a phone curmudgeon. I’m tired of following drivers on the freeway who are weaving all over the road because they’re talking animatedly on the phone, or, worse, texting. We have a phone ban at the dinner table. Surprisingly we have no protests about it. Maybe because we never allowed the kids to do anything but dine, and they were expected to participate in dinner conversation too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I seem to always have a phone close by, but I decided a long time ago when it became possible to see who was calling without answering and again when I could change the ring of an incoming call to match a friend or relative, that I was never diving for a phone call again. If I don’t answer the phone, I’m either not home, I’m sleeping, or I’m busy. I’ll call you back when I get near the phone. If I don’t recognize a call, I won’t answer it. Grandchildren do not bring phones to the table. My kids know not to bring them to the table. I don’t care if they are in a pocket, but they can stay there. No one needs to be that connected!

    I can see calling home and asking if they want the family-sized box or whatever in the grocery store, but a complete conversation? Really?

    Car? It had better be hands free or you can be in serious trouble in Virginia!

    And quit talking while you stand in line at the checkout, and that person checking you out had better not touch their phone! I’ve listened to some conversations that should have never been public! Have that conversation in the parking before you enter the store!

    Some of it goes beyond rude!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      Yes, the grocery store is over the moon with phone conversations. Once I had to call hubby to see if he wanted anything special while I shopped. We talked for a few minutes and I forgot my speaker was on. Once I hung up the phone, a lady next to me said, “Thanks for sharing your conversation.” She had a rather sour look on her face. Was I ever embarrassed! Never again did I not check my speaker.

      Like

  3. susanrhughes says:

    I hate it when people peruse their phones at the table. But it’s becoming the norm.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      Using the phone at the table will continue to become worse until someone steps up to the plate and requests the conversation surround family or family/friends. People raise their phone more than a glass these days! LOL

      Like

  4. I tell the grandkids to put their phones away, if they want ‘social’ time, I’m there. They can talk to me. I was rude to an older woman who answered her phone at the movies and proceeded to talk away in a normal tone of voice. She didn’t ‘get’ it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Man, Pepper, she should have gotten it. Every movie has a ‘commercial’ that begins and ends with:”Turn Off Your Cell Phones”. Sounds like a person who believes she was more important than everyone else in the show. If you’re on-call, don’t go to the movie.

      Like

    • Carol says:

      Now that is ridiculous. A movie theatre should be silent, not filled with people’s conversations. I imagine your grandchildren love talking to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Carol, being attached to the phone is so like being attached the computer. I just learned a really cool new “App” for my phone that tracks my activity level, distance & calories when I walk. Love that. I also like the safety net of having my phone with me–whether that net is mostly in my head or actually real. What I could skip is the basic level of teenage rudeness (not that it’s limited to teenagers, just that the rudeness is indicative of that teenage entitlement mentality) that is amped up by this form of tech. If you’re carving out time to be with someone, be with them. Post, tweet, e-mail about it later. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      I’m definitely with you on the phone’s safety net. Time with family and friends is limited, so I completely agree with – post those tweets and e-mails later. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

