Ah, summer at last!

SolstciojpgAlthough summer doesn’t “officially” start until the June 21st solstice, it’s officially in full swing here.

school outThe kids are out of school and the Scottish Highland season has begun; which for our family is time to celebrate our heritage and business.

nessI will be in Scotland doing research for a series of Scottish Historical novels for half of July and most of August this summer. My daughter is part of an archaeological dig on the Ness of Brodgar on Orkney, and I’ll be spending nine days with her there. I’m thrilled to be going and will be sharing my experiences with you over the next few blogs.

Wishing you a happy and magical summer,

Leigh

This entry was posted in Leigh's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ah, summer at last!

  1. Summer is in full swing here too. The weather is sunny, humid and I love it! Wow, have a great time in Scotland. I can’t wait to hear all about you and your family’s adventures. There’s something magical about Scotland. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Sounds wonderful. Where will you stay?

    Liked by 1 person

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      We’ll be on Orkney for a little over a week, in Argyll for a week or so where we’ll visit the Highlands and the Loch Lomond area, we’ll be on Skye for a bit and then we’ll spend a few days in Edinburgh & Glasgow. A friend of mine knows some folk radio show hosts from Glasgow so we’re hoping they’ll show us some of the non-tourist pubs. Really looking forward to it! I’m hoping my son & I can squeeze in a day trip to Iona as well. I’d really love to see the Abby there.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Kristy says:

    So excited for you! I’ve been to Scotland twice and I absolutely loved it. The first time I was a student with a study abroad group. The second time my husband had business in England, but we spent a weekend poking around castle ruins. I would love to go back for an extended period of time. My ancestors are Scottish.

    Liked by 2 people

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Kristy! I love Scotland too! We renewed our vows there for our 20th anniversary. We were going every other year, but it’s been 5 years since we’ve been back and that’s just too long 🙂 We were in England & Wales in 2013, but didn’t have enough time to make it to Scotland too, which is a shame because every time I go there’s something new and wonderful to discover. I’ll blog all about it!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    I’d love to go to Scotland! Have a wonderful time and may your research be all you expect. I can’t wait to read about your trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Carol! I’ll be there with my son for a few weeks before my husband comes, so the driving alone will be an adventure. I’m hoping one that isn’t as frightening as I’m imaging. 🙂

      Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Enjoy it. That’s what you call digging for your roots!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mona Risk says:

    Leigh, maybe we’ll meet. I’ll visit Scotland at the end of July.

    Like

  7. Joan Reeves says:

    I’m catching up on my blog reading. Scotland in summer sounds wonderful. Enjoy.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

