My Kindle Unlimited Experiment

highwayman 2 copy (2)For your free copy click here

Since the beginning of the indie publishing movement, it’s been a wild ride and a constantly changing landscape.  In a few weeks, I’ll celebrate my fourth year as an indie published author. I now have 14 published novels, and one, my first traditionally published book, is within weeks of release.

I’ve learned a lot about the craft, the edits, the art, the marketing, the accounting, the networking.

I’ve made a lot of friends.

But the more I learn, the more I learn I need to constantly stay on my toes, because what might be important today just might be obsolete tomorrow.

Kindle Unlimited is just one of the many undulating waves. Recently, I enrolled my book The Highwayman Incident in the program. It’s the first book in my Witching Well series.  I did it as an experiment. I’m thinking of putting all of the first books in my different series into KU so I can take advantage of the free promotional days. (Currently, The Highwayman Incident is free until Tuesday.)

Good plan? I’m not sure, yet. I’ll tell you how it goes in a few weeks. So far, I’ve had about 4k downloads, but only a few of those have gone on to buy book two in the series, The Cowboy Encounter.COWBOY encounter

I would love to hear other’s experiences with KU and marketing.

If you have a book in the Kindle Unlimited program, please feel free to share it with our 3k+ Main Street followers in the comment section. Buy links encouraged.

And if you enjoy time travel romance, I hope you’ll enjoy The Highwayman Incident.

About Kristy Tate

USA Today bestselling author Kristy Tate has come a long way from small-town Washington. Her avid curiosity and love of reading have carried her to thirty plus countries. (She loves to travel to the places she reads and writes about.) She's the author of more than twenty books, including the bestselling and award-winning Beyond Series and the Kindle Scout winning Witch Ways series. She writes mysteries with romance, humorous romance, light-hearted young adult romance, and urban fantasy. When she's not reading, writing, or traveling, she can be found playing games with her family, hiking with her dogs, or watching movies while eating brownies. She is also a popular public speaker and presents writing workshops for schools, libraries, and fundraisers. All proceeds donated to charity. References available upon request.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Kindle Unlimited Experiment

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    Kristy,
    I downloaded your book The Highwayman Incident – the blurb intrigued me! Can’t wait to dive in when I go on my next mini-vacation in August.
    I hope you keep us posted about your KU experiment! I also put one book in KU to experiment with it, Playing the Game. I chose to do the Kindle Countdown promotion to try it out and see what happens–if anything. In the meantime, I raised the price of this book to $4.99, and although I’m not selling a lot, I’m selling MORE than before it was in KU at a lower price! All part of the marketing fun!
    I have a feeling you’ll do FABULOUSLY with your promo and once people read the book and hit the end, they’ll start downloading!
    We’ll need to celebrate your upcoming Trad release!
    Best of luck,
    Stephanie Queen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I’ve had the same problem. Despite selling (or giving away) a good number of copies of book one in the series, and receiving positive reviews, not many people have bought the rest of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Right now I’m making more money from other distributors than Amazon, so am staying out of KU for the time being. Though everything is subject to change. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Hey, Kristy. I’ll be anxiously awaiting the outcome of your experiment–especially since Amazon decreased how much they’ll pay. Wishing you good luck & lots of trickle down.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jill James says:

    I was in KU for awhile, but my highest month of borrows was 11. Not exactly burning up the charts. I’m having trouble too with book 1 for free and not seeing spillage to books 2 and 3.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol says:

    I’ve had nothing in KU, so I can’t chime in on the promotion. I wish you lots of sales! Love The Cowboy Encounter cover!

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Can’t wait to see where you go with this, Kristy, but I know no matter how this experiment turns out, you will achieve much more than you can see now. Congrats, my friend, you have already accomplished great things and more are coming. 😀

    Like

  8. E. Ayers says:

    I’m loving KU! But I believe that there are different people who buy different ways.

    # There are the free readers. They will grab a book when it’s free, but will never pay for a book because so many of them are free. These are the library-type folks! (I won’t complain. You already know what I think of the library and how it’s made my life better!)
    # There are those who will read a 99c or $2.99 book but never one priced higher.
    # There are those who will not read anything under $5.99, they assume it’s not worth reading.
    # And there are KU (Kindle Unlimited) readers! They pay to belong and they will read anything that is a KU, but will not venture out of the KU program. Why should they? They are paying $9.99 USD/month to read KU’s.

    I think KU readers are the real avid readers. What might have cost them $25 a month, they are now reading for 9.99 and they can read until their heart is content! I have a few books that are not in KU and I expect they will be there before the end of the year!

    News for the readers: Amazon pays us a small amount when you borrow and read one of our books. It’s not the same as a sale. And Amazon has just changed how we will be paid. They are watching you! We will only be paid if you actually read our books! Borrowing it doesn’t give us a penny. You must read it.

    For authors, this has created all sorts of concerns. I’m not worried. If you don’t like one of my books, that’s okay! I’m not very fond of rocky road ice cream. That doesn’t mean it’s bad ice cream! It’s just not my favorite flavor. I do love butter brickle! 🙂

    And as for sales from places other than Amazon… All the other sellers combined only add up to a tiny fraction of the sales compared to Amazon. I’m happy my books are where the vast majority of the people are buying or borrowing. The few sales I’d make elsewhere are not enough to entice me away from Amazon. BUT! I will gave away a copy of any book if someone wants it for an e-reader that doesn’t accept a Kindle file. Just go to my WordPress site and contact me! Tell me on what you are reading and I’ll send you the proper file.
    CLICK HERE for my WordPress contact

    (I do hope that bit of code works. I’m so techno-challenged! If not try this: http://ayersbooks.wordpress.com/contact )
    🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

