Regrets – I’ve Had a Few

This summer, Indie Artist Press has Eastport Bindup Kindle Cover Jpgreleased all three books in my Eastport Series (Secret Vow, Kiss the Bridesmaid, Forever Your Valentine) in a set called A Homecoming in Eastport. These contemporary romances involve three friends in the fictional town of Eastport, Ontario.

In Book 1, Secret Vow, Brooke has kept a terrible secret for 18 years. As she falls in love with Ian, she realizes that revealing what she knows might mean losing him forever. On the other hand, she can’t live with herself if she doesn’t try to set things right.

Brooke’s predicament leads me to the topic of regrets, and how they can torment us if we let them. How often have you looked back on decisions you’ve made in the past and thought, “If only I’d done that differently …”?

I’m the type who will stew about my mistakes for years, or even decades. Fortunately there are no tragic secrets or hidden crimes in my past to weigh on my conscience. But there are many things I would have done differently, given a second chance. Now that I’m [mmmf] years old and maybe a little wiser, it’s easier to look back and see where I went wrong.

To begin with, I wish I hadn’t let fear hold me back so often. How many opportunities did I miss?

I wish I hadn’t let pride interfere with relationships. Better to let things go instead of wasting time with arguments that don’t matter.

I wish I’d appreciated my grandparents more when they were alive, and taken time to ask more questions about their lives and our family history. I’m sure they had many stories to tell and life lessons to share. Now that they’re gone, it’s too late.

Maybe making a list of one’s regrets is a good way to let them go. Since it’s impossible to travel back in time and fix our mistakes, regrets are futile; all we can do is forgive ourselves, learn from our errors, and apply those lessons in the future.

Do you hold onto regrets, or are you able to let go of the past?

A Homecoming in Eastport is available at Amazon.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Regrets – I’ve Had a Few

  1. Jill James says:

    I’m a Virgo. We hold on to everything forever…regrets, grudges, etc. LOL

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Joan Reeves says:

    I’m a mother. Isn’t it in the rulebook that we have to regret all we did and all we didn’t do? *LOL* Good luck on your box set.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Carol says:

    It’s true. We always regret things we didn’t do or things we did, but not like we’d have wanted to do. I try to live with no regrets. it’s hard though. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I used to have a lot of regrets. Regret and fear were my badges of courage; I wore them on my chest proudly. But then my father passed away and I went through a very low time in my life. When I came out of the pit of darkness, I vowed to live every day like it was my last. No regrets. Life is too short to let fear and regret keep us down. Carpe Diem! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Most of my regrets involve time. Time spent or wasted on worries and situations that ultimately weren’t worth it and time not spent on people who were or are worth it. Time’s easy to regret, because no matter what we do, we can’t get it back. I do wish I’d behaved more appropriately on occasion. I guess we learn from regret, but at some point we have to let it go. I know I do 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  6. stephaniequeen says:

    This is a tough one for me–I hate re-visiting the topic of regrets because it’s so closely related with the big bad thing called GUILT!
    I agree with Joan’s comment about motherhood almost automatically coming with regrets. My poor first child!
    I’m sure this is something that I should explore in the name of deepening the emotional levels of my writing. I think I need to work up a little more courage for that first–in the meantime, I’m sticking with Myren as the root cause of all regrets (it’s in his job description as chauffeur)

    Like

    • susanrhughes says:

      My kids are still young – I haven’t messed them up enough to have many regrets yet. I’m working on it. (LOL)

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

