Losing Weight!

I am always looking for new diets or special tricks to lose weight and get rid of my belly fat.

My bookcase shelters a variety of books on the subject.

The South Beach Diet by Arthur Agatston, M.D.
Mayo Clinic on Healthy Weight
Flat Belly Diet by Liz Vaccariello
The Good Herb by Judith Benn Hurley

Over the years I tried the Weight Watcher diet: I lost ten pounds and put back fifteen;
Quick Weight Loss: I lost thirty pounds and put back thirty-five;
Atkin diet–I lost five pounds and put back six.

Five years ago, I hired a private trainer at the gym. After four months of supervised exercise, I transformed ten pounds of fat into eleven pounds of muscles.

But I learned a few good tips:

Blackberries are great for your skin: eating a cup a day can make you look five years younger.
Grapes are a fat blaster. Eating two cups a day can make you shed four pounds in a month.
A bowl of raspberry can chase away tiredness in twenty minutes. Blueberries keep you mentally sharp.
Strawberries can keep blood sugar steady. Pumpkin seeds contain a high amount of zinc and increase your immunity.

I spend eight to ten hours a day sitting in front of my computer and developed an ugly fat belt where my slim waist used to be. Am I a desperate case?

Are you able to control your weight? Any advice?

NYT L-WeddingSurprise - CopyWedding Surprise(Holiday Babies Series Book 4) by Mona Risk

http://amzn.com/B00T24CULM
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/wedding-surprise
iTunes: http://indi.uno/16YpUf1
B&N: http://indi.uno/1CZOgTr

This entry was posted in Mona's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Losing Weight!

  1. Hi Mona, like you, I have always struggled with my weight. It wasn’t until I got married (eleven years ago today) that I discovered the super-secret trick. I walk. Every week, I walk 20 miles, even in cold weather. I started to see results quickly, then taper off, then more results. In the matter of five years, I dropped fifty pounds. It’s not easy but it works.

    Diets have never worked for me. I was constantly yo-yo’ing. But once I developed healthy eating habits and drinking at least 2L of water per day, the weight has stayed off.

    A little trick I developed too is to do 50 bicycle exercises every morning before I jump out of bed. You lay on your back and you pretend you’re riding a bicycle. I do them in sets of 20. Then I drink eight ounces of water. It’s a great way to start the day and gets your metabolism moving.

    I sit in front of the computer all day, too, but try to get up and move around every sixty minutes. I walk around for a minute. It helps with the eye strain and gets the blood flowing.

    What a great topic for a Friday morning! 🙂

    Have a great day, weekend and next week, Authors of Main Street. I’m leaving for my spa vacation on Saturday with my husband. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    • Carol says:

      I definitely agree on the walking and water. It works. Have a great vacation. See you when you return. Be safe.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Joan Reeves says:

      I agree. I walk at least 2 miles every morning and drink lots of water all day long. I bought an OrbiTrek for when winter comes. Parked it in the media room in front of the big TV. The OrbiTrek will kick your butt even when you think you’re in pretty good shape.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mona Risk says:

      Thank you for the tips. I will try to walk again every morning before it gets too hot. With GOOD sneakers. I was walking a lot five years ago but developed a bone spur in my foot that required two cortisone injections, special padding in my shoes, and three months of therapy. So I stopped walking. I have to get back to it.

      Like

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Bring on the raspberries!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. I purchased a Fit Bit Flex. I wear it on my wrist and it monitors my steps – goal is to 10,000 a day. I’m not great at hitting that goal – but it is making me aware of moving more. It also tracks your sleep and you can track food – which keeps me from eating those cookies at 4 o’clock because I don’t want to have to list them on my food for the day. So far – lost 8 lbs – everywhere but belly!

    Liked by 3 people

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Victoria, I just got a Fit Bit as well. I won’t be taking it on vacation because of the charging issue, but I love it so far. Great for monitoring my heart rate as well.

      Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Groan! I fight my weight constantly. My thyroid gave out years ago and I can’t take any of the meds for it. Adkins was the only way for me to lose weight but after a few years of that, those potatoes just call my name! I guess you could say I’m on a modified version of it. I eat salads and some meat. Once in a blue moon, I’ll eat bread or potatoes with a meal. My weight stays pretty steady but higher than I want. I need to exercise more, but my treadmill collects dust.

    It’s all in the belly! 😦

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Carol says:

    Sitting all day is what gets me. Right in the belly too. I have some great shorts I’d like to get back into, but…We’ve got to start back walking again. I felt so much better too.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    I’ve found that the older I get; the harder I have to fight to stay in shape. Sitting all day is the absolute worst thing for the body. Since buying my OrbiTrek, my goal is to jump on it 5 minutes of every hour to see if that will make the battle easier. Will let you know.

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Sitting all day stinks. Have to set the timer to remind myself to get up–get out–and do something. Walking is great. I’ve started keeping track of my miles now and that’s kind of fun. Swimming is great too, and you’ve got a pool. No stress on your joints! I’d like to loose inches of fat I don’t need. Good Luck. Hope I’m loosing with you :).

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

