Out Of The Mist – Take My Breath Away

Last week at the lake proved, restful, uplifting and productive, both for my soul and for my writing.

Uplifting because, Mother Nature provided spectacular images of her splendor. One evening when I stepped out on the deck, the sight took my breath.
11056057_10153554407008954_874608760309053627_n[1]

While I snapped away, my phone rang, and the sunset changed rapidly, from the above photo to the one below.

12009767_10153554406578954_96421651517696997_n[1]

We all know how loud ducks are, and while they continued to quack, they became my alarm clock the next morning. This misty scene is what welcomed me.

12009547_10153554407358954_8307508528136044695_n[1]

I couldn’t get all the ducks in the photo, but I counted at least forty-five, all in various situations. The ducks and haze reminded me of writing.

While many characters remain just out of sight, they still have a part in bringing a storyline together. Some characters are nothing more than author walk-ons, whether it’s lending author mood setting or background information. The reader never sees them, but somehow they play a part of character action. Maybe it’s why one character bites her nails and another character would never be caught dead biting hers.

When a story isn’t coming together, the author can’t see through the haze. It’s mind-boggling. It’s frustrating. When the mist finally lifts, the author writes furiously to jot down the next scene that plays out. At times the scene works, other times it doesn’t, but out of the mist comes light. And through light, we see clearly, at least clearly enough to work through a stalled scene and maybe through to the end. If not, there’s always another mist and a lifting of the haze that releases our muse.

What are your thoughts on looking through the mist? I’d love hearing from you!

Thanks for joining us and reading!

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Apple and Smashwords.
You can find links on my website for all My Books

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out Of The Mist – Take My Breath Away

  1. Joan Reeves says:

    Lovely photographs. I believe in the power of nature to soothe and relax stressed-out humans. Good analogy by the way.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Carol, gorgeous sunsets! And yes, there is a lot of mist in my head, lol. Some days the words come easy and I think, ooh, that’s good πŸ™‚ But most of the time it’s two steps backward for every one forward. Oh well, that’s half the fun, right? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. E. Ayers says:

    I know exactly what night that was. I snapped a few photos of that sunset, and a moment later, it was gone! Maybe writing is a little like that. If you don’t write at that very moment and capture it, those words fade.Only a few times have the words been shrouded in a mist. But my brain wanders off to play with something else, and when I get back to whatever I’m doing, the the fog has blown away and I’m writing.

    But the idea of recharging when surrounded by the beauty of nature… I’m green! You are so lucky to be able to run off with your son for a week of writing! Very few authors can actually “share” what they do with another family member. I think everyone in this business is probably envious of your writing retreats. I’m certain, in that atmosphere, any mist you might have had lifted, because there was nothing to suppress your muse.

    If your suitcase feels heavier than normal the next time you go there, it’s just me stowing away. I promise I will be very quiet. I’ll even make you breakfast! I might not actually be awake while fixing it. and if I am, it’s because I haven’t gone to bed yet. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thanks for posting Johnny Mathis singing Misty! Such a beautiful song. Alas, I gave the title of Clint Eastwood’s movie, Play Misty For Me, when the song title is Misty. 😦 It’s been years since I saw that movie. Great one.

      I checked my phone, the sunset photo was taken on Tuesday, 9-15. You’re right, blink and the moment is lost! πŸ™‚

      With as many books as you have published, I can’t see you in a fog while writing, but at some point we all climb out of the mist.

      Not only do I look forward to the writing retreat with my son, but I cherish our time together just as much, if not more. It’s funny, my hubby always asks what we did and what we discussed. When I tell him we worked and didn’t talk much, he looks at me as though I have two heads. Ha, ha! We do talk, but are focused only on writing for that week. The indentions in our seating is quite noticeable! πŸ™‚

      Pack your bags for next year! You’re more than welcome to join us! Breakfast sounds great! I usually grab a Glucerna shake and son boiled eggs and toast or cereal for breakfast, super healthy and filling sandwiches for lunch. For dinner we stop to breathe and make a delicious meal. Here’s to writing and next year! May your muse be wrapped in sunshine.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Gorgeous photos, Carol! I need to get away to lovely landscapes when I need to recharge–a thing that seems to happen frequently these days. The mist happens to us all at varying times and for myriad reasons. Here’s to clearing it enough to see the magic at the edges. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol says:

    Thanks, Leigh. The lake, the mountains and beaches are my go to for recharging. There’s always something magical at any of those places, at any time. πŸ™‚ Now I’m ready for the mountains!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

