Friday the 13th

Writers are a superstitious lot. Add more than a wee touch of Irish to my DNA and you have a nice brew of “do this, don’t do that.”

I’ve been known to stay home in pj’s on Friday the 13th. I always have a favorite note-taking pen that I can’t start work without. I will NEVER walk under a ladder and always toss spilled salt over my left shoulder.

AthenaOne thing I don’t worry about is black cats. They can’t help being black and they didn’t ask to be thought of as bad luck. Since we have two in the house; Athena and Aphrodite, we really can’t help having them cross our paths. They haven’t become my writing buddies, but I do enjoy having them around to pet and cuddle.

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday the 13th

  1. I agree, writers are a superstitious lot. I always use the same color pen and sticky notes when writing. I drink out of the same cup and I kiss my teddy bear figurine (my mascot) before I start writing. Am I strange? You bet! Does it work? I’d like to think so.

    I agree, black cats can’t help being black. Poor things. Although, maybe they like their reputation because us humans tend to leave them alone. lol!

    Happy Friday the 13th everyone!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    With three kids at my house, there’s usually enough food on the floor to sweep up without adding salt! LOL

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Carol says:

    I used to be superstitious, but let it go. Whatever will be, will be! 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  4. Jo Grafford says:

    I am not personally superstitious, but I love to explore ancient superstitions in my books. I posted on FB today how Rose in BREAKING TIES was accused of witchcraft for failing to drown when she fell overboard, how the sailors thought it was unlucky to have a red-haired woman sailing with them, and the terror inspired by the ring of St. Elmo’s fire above the mast before the big storm struck.

    One of my favorites is the belief that you belonged to another person if they saved your life until the favor could be returned. So romantic!

    <3, Jo

    Liked by 3 people

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Three solid black cats in this house, and a black and white tuxedo. I’ll tell you about them sometime. 🙂

    What happens happens? Over the course of too many years that I don’t want to count, Friday the 13th seems to be a great day to be in a major accident in my family. The first one I remember was in the middle of winter. Someone came around a curve on an ice-slicked road and lost control, hitting my mother head on, which sent her spinning and she eventually wound up head on into huge snow bank. Then another car plowed into her back end. Three cars wound up totaled and no one was seriously injured.

    In a nut shell, on the 13th, I was run over by a much bigger car, my sister was in a head on, my one brother flipped a crane, another dangled a truck off an overpass, etc. So when it comes to the 13th, I tend to avoid driving if possible. I figure there are two ways to look at all of it. I’ve had my Friday the 13th bad luck and I no longer need to worry about it, or I can avoid driving on the 13th. I prefer to avoid driving. Now I know what you are thinking… You aren’t letting me get into the car with you, right?
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    I do toss the salt over my left shoulder. I don’t walk under ladders. I try not to curse and instead bless, but I fall off that wagon often enough. Friday the 13th doesn’t ring warning bells for me, but the Ides of March is a day best treated with a kind of optimistic caution for me. I still say, ‘bread and butter’ in my head when I’m walking with a member of my family and we are separated by a person walking between us or an obstacle we have to divide to go around. It’s a hang-over from my grandmother and it stuck :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jill James says:

      The first time my husband did the ‘bread and butter’ thing, I was like, “what?” We didn’t have that one in my family. We had no hats on the bed, no shoes on a table, and no crossing the black cat’s path. 🙂

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

