Memories – A Piece of Time

Memories are funny things. Some days I’ll go into a room and forget what I went in there for. Then, some days I remember the moment my mom brought my baby brother home from the hospital. Christmas is like memory overload. The sights. The scents. The memories.

As we decorated the tree tonight we laughed at the funny ornaments the kids made in grade school. We sighed as we hung up the name ornaments for those who have passed. We took a deep breath as we finished and the boxes were empty and the tree was full.

ornamentIn our house we have an ornament for every year we’ve been a family since 1988. We have a baby’s first ornament for 1981 and 1990. This year we received this beautiful one here with a bright purple gemstone. Each one has a memory attached. They are a time capsule of ours lives together. From our first Christmas together as a newly-married blended family, to adding a son to our family, to now with spouses-in-laws and grandchildren. A time capsule!

Happy Holidays and Joyous Memories!

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memories – A Piece of Time

  1. susanrhughes says:

    A few years ago, my mom was planning to throw out some of the old tattered plastic ornaments we had on our tree when I was a kid. I said, “No! I’ll take them!” Now I use them on my tree. They are kind of ugly, but looking at them reminds me of childhood Christmases and gives me a warm feeling.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Carol says:

    I’m about to add those decorations from son and grandkids to our tree. So special. I think they’re wonderful to remember who made them and the fun we had. I wouldn’t throw them out for anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    I love decorating the tree with the kids and going over the ornaments–when and where we got them is story building and memory generating at its finest. Have a wonderful Christmas, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I finally broke down one year and left the old decorations in their boxes. I bought all new stuff such as magnolia branches, some beautiful holly pieces, gorgeous ribbon, the most awesome looking cardinals with real feathers that clipped onto the branches, and well…you get the picture. When I was done, I stood and and was thrilled with my new creation which I thought looked positively fabulous. My mantel matched and the wreath on the door and the pieces on the porch and… all matched. The dried and the silk cost a fortune – oh, but it was worth it.
    Hubby came home and asked, “What happened to our tree?” 😦
    “I decided it was time for a grown up Xmas tree.”
    “Oh.”
    😦
    One by one the kids came over. “Mom, what happened to the tree! Where are our ornaments?”
    “In the box.”
    “Why aren’t they on the tree?”
    “I decided it was time for a grown up Xmas tree being there are no little ones left.”
    “What did you do that for?”
    “Never mine.” 😦
    I never tried to do that again. At least I enjoyed my grown up Xmas tree that year.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

