Never Say Never

Okay, those who know me can stop laughing now. Those who don’t know me as well should know that I say never a lot. A LOT. I’ll never eat guacamole. (even though I’ve never tried it) I’ll never go scuba diving. (saw Jaws as a kid) I’ll never write this story or that story. (even if I haven’t tried yet) I’ll never write it this way or that way. (even though I have no idea whether it will work or not) Stubborn, much? LOL

I have loved romance novels since I was a pre-teen. I believe with all my heart in happily-ever-after. I even found Prince Charming. So when I say I love romance novels, I mean it. But…there are some things I don’t like in romance novels so I always said I would never do them in my own stories. Never say never. Mother Karma is a witch with a B and when you say something like that…she listens. LOL

DefendMyLove 200x300Never #1 – Never write a romance novel with a kid in it. Not just in it, but one of the main characters. Yep, Karma was listening on that one when I sat down to write Defend My Love. Daisy is an adorable child and she is the pivot for the whole story. Although, I did manage a mini-never to put a kid on the cover. It has a tire swing instead. I’m sure Karma is listening on that one and I’ll be forced to put a kid on some cover someday. Like for my Mommies Club series (as if that title isn’t clamoring for a kid on the cover). hahahaha

LoveintheTimeofZombies 200x300Never #2 – Never write a book in 1st person. I don’t like to read it, but since I read a lot of apocalyptic fiction I seem to be reading more and more. I read The Hunger Games and realized it can work really well. That’s Karma over there against the wall laughing at me. She must have been present on the night that Emily Gray came to me in my sleep with a snarky attitude and her story that just had to be in 1st person as she told me about the day the zombies got “her momma and daddy and husband, Carl. Not that Carl was any great loss.” To date, Love in the Time of Zombies is my best-selling book.

happy writerNever #3 – Never volunteer for anything related to writing, let someone else do it. Just sit over there quietly and write your stories. Yeah, I know, everyone is laughing now. I’m like the poster child for volunteering.(ask my husband) I’ve been on RWA chapter boards, all the way up to president. I would rather be shot than do public speaking, so what did I do? I did a workshop at a chapter meeting about why I chose Indie publishing with two other writers. (expected 15 people, there were over 50) I joined Authors of Main Street (best decision ever) and did banking and helped with formatting for box sets, heck, I’ve written stories for the boxed sets. I’ve learned to leap before looking. Karma is laughing her butt off over there. Oops, she just fell off the chair.

Never say never…in your writing and in life. Don’t close the door to opportunities. Give it all you have. You will discover so much about yourself and others. The rewards will be priceless. Don’t let regrets over what you haven’t done be all you are left with at the end.

Never say never.

Say, “Yes, I can.”

Jill James, romance writer (took until I was 45 to be able to say that.)

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Never Say Never

  1. I can so relate! My biggest “never”? I will never marry a coach. We have been married for 34 years and yes, there were times that his job was a pain!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Carol says:

    Who of us hasn’t said, “Never,” at one point in their lives? I certainly have and lived to eat those words. lol Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    I love guacamole! You must try it.

    Liked by 5 people

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I only need to learn how to say no when my plate is already too full! But teaching old dogs new tricks isn’t very easy.

    I almost put that kid on the cover! Fortunately I found another piece of stock that I loved. Now Karma is pointing her fingers and laughing at me.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    Never is the thief of opportunity. The better response is (usually), “Maybe just this once…”
    Great post, Jill! Thanks for the reminder that every once in a while, we need to step out of our comfort zones.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    About 38 years ago, I said, “No, I’m never getting married again.” That was when my darling husband proposed the first time. I am SO glad I decided I couldn’t live without him! *g*

    Liked by 3 people

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    I turned away from the c-section video they played in my first birthing class thinking, ‘that’s never going to happen’. Two c-sections later, I don’t turn away anymore. ^_^.

    Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

