What Did We Do Before YouTube? by Joan Reeves

Need a laugh today?

Need a laugh today?

Back in the old days, humans would sit in front of the TV and flip from channel to channel using the remote. Now, with a smart TV, humans–like me–can click on the TV’s YouTube app and be entertained for hours by amateur filmmakers.

That’s right, I’m a YouTube fan. If there’s nothing on regular TV that interests me, I know there’s always something on YouTube. I can choose from music, dance, movie clips, television clips, humor, commercials from around the world, and educational topics too that are great entertainment, not boring facts.

I love videos and have numerous playlists set up on my YouTube channel.  Here’s a random sampling of some of my favorites.

  1. Evolution of Dance by Judson Laipply. So imaginative which explains the more than 294 million views.
  2. I’m Farming and I Grow It by Peterson Farm Bros. Another humorous video with more than 9 million views.
  3.  Rita Hayworth Is Stayin’ Alive by et7waage1. Combines famous dance sequences with modern pop music. More than 5 million views.
  4. Tequila Ad by Eldon Coldiron. Humor. Unfortunately–and hilariously–too true. 591,ooo+ views.
  5. Heineken has created some of the most imaginative and entertaining videos accompanied by great music. This one is The Switch from 2012.
  6. Heineken Walk In Fridge. Hysterically funny. Over 14 million views.
  7. When Harry Met Sally Part 2 by Funny or Die. OMG! Hysterical.
  8. Tea Partay by iamigor. A classic. Over 6 million views.
  9. Jane Austen’s Fight Club by TwoTurntablesNMic. Another classic with more than 1.5 million views.
  10. Crazy Amount of Sugar Hiding in Random Foods by BuzzFeedVideo. Fascinating and scary. Over 3 million views.

SS_2400px3200p_NYTMaking videos are as much fun as watching them. I made this video for Scents and Sensuality, my romantic comedy currently on sale for only 99cents for the ebook edition.

A transformed ugly duckling…a matchmaking mom…a blind date gone awry.

Available here: Kindle * iBooks * Kobo * Nook * Smashwords. Audiobook edition available at Audible (not on sale but if you buy the ebook from Kindle you can get it at a reduced price.)

Thanks for letting me–and YouTube–entertain you this cold January day!

About Joan Reeves

Joan Reeves is a NY Times and a USA Today bestselling author of Contemporary Romance. She is multi-published in print, ebooks, and audio books. Sign up for Joan's email list: http://eepurl.com/Yk61n and visit her on her blog http://SlingWords.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Joan's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What Did We Do Before YouTube? by Joan Reeves

  1. My Dh loves YouTube, particularly fishing videos, kayak whale sightings, and my favorite, news anchor bloopers 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Thanks – I’ll have to check out these links.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Joan Reeves says:

      As a research resource, it’s amazing. Next time you need to research a setting, go to YouTube and type in something like “video walking tour of Paris” or of the Louvre or must about any city and attraction. Want to know how to make wine or olive oil or just about anything? There’s a YouTube video for just about anything. In 2014, YouTube said that 300 hours of new videos were uploaded to the site every minute! There are about 800 million users currently.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristy Tate says:

    My favorite is Ted Talks on YouTube

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Carol says:

    I sometimes watch YouTube for music. This one isn’t what I normally tune into, but I can’t get this guy and his audition out of my mind. It’s hilarious! Larry Platt, from Atlanta, GA., was on American Idol a few years ago and captured not only the judges attention, but America’s heart.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMwhl4IrPNc Watch it for a laugh. Love it. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Going to YouTube is a little like going to FB, you go for one thing and wind up spending an hour watching everything else! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I seriously have to up my YouTube game. (and my Twitter game, my Pinterest game, my Snapchat game, my Periscope game…)

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Jill James says:

    My grandson and nephew love YouTube. They watch stuff all day long.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    It’s not surprising when there are actual movie and TV actors producing original YouTube videos. Billy Crystal, among others, has done a lot of them. With that million viewers online, it’s not surprising that YouTube now offers a monthly paid subscription. Next step is original programming like Netflix and Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. leighmorgan1 says:

    I listen to Epic Celtic music on YouTube whenever I need to get into writing epic style. Love it! I also enjoy watching lip-sinking videos. ^_^ Thanks, Joan, for the links. I’ll be checking them out!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Homepage

Please Leave a Reply

