Moments of Joy by Susan R. Hughes

January is my least favourite month; in the letdown after Christmas, the bleak winter days seem to magnify even the smallest of my troubles and add a sense of malaise about life.

I know I’ve been lucky in life overall. I have a good family, I live in a peaceful, prosperous country, and I’ve enjoyed good health so far (knock on wood). Even so, it’s too easy to get bogged down with life’s frustrations and lose sight of the blessings. I’m a chronic worrier. I worry about finances, health, my kids, my parents, the state of the world, and anything else that might possibly have the potential for going wrong.FullSizeRender

But sometimes, in the midst of all the negative clutter in my brain, I manage to capture little nuggets of true happiness – those rare and fleeting moments of pure joy.

In my life as a writer, it would be great to sell millions of books (I’ll let you know when that happens), but nothing beats the feeling of reading a glowing review of one of my books, especially when the reader connected to the story in some way I didn’t expect. I’ll go back to worrying about sales later. That moment is precious and perfect.

As a mom, I face countless daily aggravations, but I live for the moments that make my heart warm and toasty. Exhibit one: my 6-year-old twins racking their brains trying to think of ways to express how much they love me. One comes up with, “I love you more than the whole city,” while the other settles on, “I love you so much I don’t even know how to say how much I love you.” Exhibit two: listening to my 11-year-old with dyslexia read stories to her little sisters, hardly stumbling over the words. Also, watching her excel as a performer in the school play, and the pride she takes in this achievement as well as her artwork.

There are plenty of others. A conversation with a friend I haven’t seen in years. A song on the radio that reminds me of a special time or person. A good Indian buffet (with dosas and aloo tikki chaat as essential elements). A whiff of the cologne my husband used to wear when we met (and I wish he’d still wear, even though he says it’s a ‘90s scent and no longer fashionable).

Where do you find your small moments of joy?

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Moments of Joy by Susan R. Hughes

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    Lovely post, Susan! It’s wonderful to sit back and think about all the small moments so I can pick one out to share. Today I spent the afternoon watching football with my son and we shared our cheers and jeers and easy-chair quarterbacking and joked and laughed and argued and smiled. I’m so lucky! Thank you for letting me steep in the pleasure and appreciation of these special times.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Carol says:

    Great post, Susan. The most meaningful joys are not material, but heartfelt memories. Your children are blessings!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    Dialogue on how much you’re loved…so perfect. Great post, Susan. BTW: We love you too. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  4. ginaarditoauthor says:

    It’s so important to take the time to count our blessings. Thanks for the reminder. Where do I find my joy? Sunday family dinners, an unsolicited call from my kids just to say hi or share some good news, a puppy kiss, and of course, chocolate!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. E. Ayers says:

    I find most of my joyful moments usually come from nature. The first yellow blossoms of the daffodils or a cloud formation in the sky. Those little unexpected things that nature gives us always make me smile when I see them. And then there are the moments when I’m with my family. The meal prep that went every which way but right and caused us to laugh until… Life is hard; living ain’t easy! Grab those little things life tosses our way and appreciate them for they are a fleeting as snowflakes falling onto a bonfire.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    Thank you for a truly wonderful post. We all need to take note of and cherish those moments rather than yield to the frustrations so prevalent in life.

    Like

  7. Kristy Tate says:

    Right now, learning that you also have a daughter with dyslexia. Just another thing we have in common, my writer friend. My daughter struggled in school, but went on to graduate from college and when she took the test to become a certified teacher, her score was in the top 15 of everyone who had EVER TAKEN THE TEST! She now takes courses for fun. It still hurts that she doesn’t love to read the way that I do, but I have other reader-children, and her son is a passionate reader.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

