What Most Folks Don’t Know About Me

Grandma & Maya - Thanksgiving 2015I’m going to follow  Gina Ardito’s good example and introduce myself. I’ve spent much of the past thirty years being fairly visible in the writing world. I loved it while I did it. Traveling to conferences and writers’gatherings. Giving talks and workshops. Wearing my tailored black suit.

Now I’m going to tell you something most folks don’t know about me because it happened very recently. I’ve settled down and I intend to stay settled down. As I said – I enjoyed the crowded itinerary while I lived it. Now I don’t care if I ever pack a suitcase and catch a train or plane again. With a few exceptions.

Trips to visit family – especially when my grandchildren are involved. That’s me and granddaughter Maya in the photo. Also occasional getaways with my husband Jonathan. Such as to southwest Colorado and Monument Valley in Utah this coming spring. Plus a jaunt every now and then to hang out with a faraway friend so we can stay up talking and laughing together until the wee hours.

The only business traveling I plan to do is to the infrequent conference where I’ll be there as simply and purely and wonderfully a writer. No podiums to stand behind. No stacks of workshop handouts to lug around. No tailored black suit. Instead I’ll collect other presenters’ handouts and stay up talking and laughing with author friends until the wee hours.

In between these once-in-a-while travels I mostly occupy the pleasant nest that is my home. In particular my nest within that nest – the room where I write. The walls are covered with family photos on one side and my grandchildren’s artwork on the other side and memorabilia of my writing career in between.

There are bookcases and file boxes and a daybed couch I prefer to the desk for just about everything. Whether it be making up stories or struggling with marketing or indulging in a daydream. I walk in here with my mug of coffee in the morning and exhale fully because I’m fully at home.

My mug was given to me by my grandkids and it says this. “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined.” Finally I’m truly doing exactly that.

Alice Orr – http://www.aliceorrbooks.com.

A Wrong Way Home – Book 1 of my Riverton Road Romantic Suspense series – is a FREE eBook at Amazon and other online retailers. All of my books are available at my Amazon Author Page http://www.amazon.com/Alice-Orr/e/B000APC22E/.

About aliceorrbooks

I love to write. Especially romantic suspense novels of love and danger. I've been a workshop leader, book editor and literary agent. Now I live my dream of writing full-time. I've published 13 novels, 4 novellas and a memoir so far. I wrote my nonfiction book, No More Rejections, as a gift to the writers' community I love. Expect a revised version soon. Amazon says, "This book has it all." About my romantic suspense stories, Amazon says, "Alice Orr turns up the heat." Most of all, I want to hear from readers. Email me at aliceorrbooks@gmail.com. Or go to my website http://www.aliceorrbooks.com. As for my personal life and my family - which means everything to me - I have 2 grown children and 2 perfect grandchildren and I live with my husband Jonathan in New York City.
This entry was posted in Alice's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Most Folks Don’t Know About Me

  1. susanrhughes says:

    Lovely to read your first post, Alice!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thrilled to have you here, on Main Street, I am looking forward to the future of this amazing team! Welcome and congrats on post #1. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Getting behind the great wall of WordPress isn’t very difficult. Once there, it’s not very confusing…well, maybe a scooch. 🙂

    A big welcome to Main Street. It’s not a place but rather an attitude. And your writer’s cave sounds like the perfect Main Street hideaway for a writer. There’s no need for that tailored suit, just something comfy. Out here, we grab a cup of our favorite drink and visit with our friends.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    Yes, I’m thrilled you joined us on Main Street, Alice! We are a close-knit team and I’m proud to be working with you in the future. 🙂 Your granddaughter is lovely. Enjoy your time while you continue to settle in.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Kristy Tate says:

    Welcome to Main Street, Alice!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    So pleased you have joined us on Main Street, Alice. Enjoyed your first post and the photo. (Maya is such a pretty name–and a pretty girl.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I don’t believe I’ve ever been a “good example” before. I’m usually the “Don’t be like…” girl. Lucky you that you are living your dream! I do hope I’ll get to be one of the authors you hang out with at those rare conferences you decide to attend.

    Like

  8. Jill James says:

    Alice, welcome to Main Street. So sorry I didn’t comment sooner but we had a run of stomach flu at my house (pun definitely not intended). We are all better now and enjoying 70+ weather here in sunny California.

    Like

  9. Mona Risk says:

    Good to meet you, Alice. I can relate to your feelings. I practically live in my office, unless I am driving or babysitting grandchildren. But I still love traveling with my husband.

    Like

  10. Hi Mona. Sorry I missed your comment. They put it in my Social list instead of my Primary email list. I wish they wouldn’t do that. Anyway I know what you mean about living in the office. I love traveling with my husband too and the grandkids will be here next week so I’ll be less work and more play of a few days. It’s good to meet you too.

    Like

  11. leighmorgan1 says:

    Happy to have you, Alice! Lovely post.

    Like

  12. Thank you Leigh. It’s lovely to be here.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

