Candy Hearts

candy heartsSweethearts (candy)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
 

Sweethearts (also known as conversation hearts) are small heart-shaped sugar candies sold around Valentine’s Day. Each heart is printed with a message such as “Be Mine”, “Kiss Me”, “Call Me”, “Let’s Get Busy”, and “Miss You”. Sweethearts are made by the New England Confectionery Company, or Necco. A similar type of candy is sold in the UK under the name Love Hearts. Necco manufactures nearly 2 billion Sweethearts per year. (That’s a lot of candy!!)

Some of my early childhood memories are of those little boxes of love. Long before I was old enough to get chocolates from a boy, I would receive those candy hearts in a decorated brown paper bag hanging from my desk. Way back before Politically Correct was a thing, you only got valentines from those who liked you and lived in fear of taking home an empty bag.

In line with the song, You Can’t Buy Me Love, you can’t make little boys like little girls and vice versa until they are ready. But you can give a little happiness with a little box of candy hearts.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Jill James, romance writer

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Candy Hearts

  1. E. Ayers says:

    O-o-o-o, I learned something new – how Necco got its name! Try and find those Necco wafers. But candy hearts just scream Valentine’s as do those little red cinnamon candies in the heart shape. (I loved those hot cinnamon candies.)

    “Guess who” was the way to sign the Valentine when you really didn’t want anyone to know that classmate got a Valentine from you. But Mom made me give one to every classmate! Except one Valentine never made it to school. It was shredded into tiny bits and left in the cow pasture. There was no way I’d ever give DM a Valentine! He was the boy who always tried to lift my dress or do some other awful thing to me. Then he moved away. TG! When I was about 16, he called and asked me out on a date. At least I realized he had the worst crush on me probably from second grade onward. Of course, I turned him down, but I was nice about it. I wonder what happened to him. He’s probably living in some mansion someplace, making a gazillion dollars as the CEO of a Fortune 500 Company! 🙂

    My hubby slipped me a tiny box of those Sweethearts one Valentine’s day. I laughed and we had fun eating them. Let’s just say that eating those in bed with your lover gives a slightly different slant on the wording. 😉

    Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Yes, I remember in those days we just gave Valentines to our friends, and only to boys we liked (not the mean ones). Times have changed.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Carol says:

    Ah, yes. Those little candies bring back so many memories. Once, while I was in the third grade, a boy named George tried to give me candies and a quarter to be his girlfriend. Ha! A quarter. I’m sure that quarter was a lot of money to George back then. 🙂 He always managed to sit across from me in the lunchroom, too. After the ordeal with the quarter, I could barely swallow lunch. I was happy when George moved away. That’s been a long time ago, but sticks in my mind as if it were yesterday.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I remember these so well. Even the sort of chalky sweet way they tasted. i liked to let them sit in my mouth until they disappeared. As if I could keep the loving message speaking to me longer when I didn’t chew it up fast. Too bad I never got one from David Shuffler. Thanks Jill for the memory.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    Ah, yes. I remember these well – and their taste. Now, they’re more decorative than eaten, I think. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    I still like the candy hearts. When I was in elementary school, our teachers always had a talk with us before events that involved exchanging anything. They told us how much it would hurt a child who didn’t receive when others did. So all kids made Valentines for everyone or gave Easter candy to all, etc. That was back in the old days when teachers actually taught morals and concepts like kindness, empathy, etc.

    Liked by 2 people

    • What a good example that teacher set. Thanks for mentioning it Joan. I remember the anxiety that accompanied watching the most popular girls count the number of cards they received loudly and proudly. Oh the trials and tribulations of the playground. But of course this didn’t happen on the playground in the North Country which was frozen solid in February.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jill James says:

      Joan, I’m sure my teachers said that too, but didn’t mean the mean girls listened. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    I miss having children young enough to purchase valentines for them to give to their classmates along with a small box of candy hearts. Up until about 4th grade both my children took these to school for valentine exchange. Wonderful time—every child got one!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. stephaniequeen says:

    I loved reading the messages on those candy hearts, but i don’t think I ever ate one of them. They aren’t chocolate!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

