Parents And Problems by Joan Reeves

Inspirational Typographic Quote - What doesn't kill you makes you stronger

I’m slow to get this post up today because I’ve been on the phone a long time counseling my oldest kid. He’s going through that difficult time: raising a teenager. He bemoaned how hard it was to deal with his teenager.

*ROTFL* I remember how he was when he was a teen. Oh, my! It really is true. What goes around, comes around.

Difficult Relationships

That made me think about all the parental-child relationships in my books. There are some where the heroine has a great relationship with her parents. That’s based on personal experience because that’s a reflection of our relationships with our kids.

Then there’s the heroine dealing with a difficult mother. Sadly, that too is based on personal experience. My mother was the poster child for difficult, but that didn’t mean I didn’t love her and do everything I could for her. That’s often the way it is with these relationships. You just do the best you can and learn from the experience.

RJA_2400px3200p_NYTRomeo and Judy Anne

I suppose when I was creating the mother in Romeo and Judy Anne, I was mirroring part of my own relationship. Some readers have posted reviews for this book saying Judy Anne was a wimp for putting up with her mother. I disagree. She was just doing what she could to support her mother until her mother “grew up” and could move on in life.

In the book I wrote, that was part of the resolution of the story. Judy Anne’s mother did manage to accept what had happened and become able to stand on her own rather than clinging to her daughter for everything. That’s one reason I love being a writer. I can make everything work out whereas in real life, it usually doesn’t.

Romeo and Judy Anne, a romantic comedy, has eccentric small town characters, a bratty niece, an overbearing school board president, and the temptation of a secret lover. Judy Anne has all she can do to keep her passion for her Romeo from turning into the biggest scandal little Clayton Bend, Texas, has ever seen.

Review

The multi-generational aspect of the story brought a very realistic dimension to this romance, and I appreciated the challenges Judy Anne had in this arena of her life. Of course, it would be hard to resist the sexy, music-loving, full-of-surprises Roman/Romeo for long, wouldn’t it? Watching the two of them discover, define and work out their relationship was delightful from start to finish.~ Amazon Reader Review

Add Romeo and Judy Anne to Your Library: All Romance eBooks * Amazon Kindle * iBooks * Kobo * Nook * Smashwords.

By the way, you can buy the Kindle edition and get the audiobook from Audible at a greatly reduced price. (The audiobook is WhisperSynced with Amazon.)

Post Script

Joan Reeves is a NY Times and USA Today bestselling author of Contemporary Romance. Available as ebooks and audiobooks, her romance novels all have the same underlying theme: β€œIt’s never too late to live happily ever after.” Joan lives her happily ever after with her hero, her husband, in the Lone Star State. Sign up for WordPlay, Joan’s email list/newsletter for readers and receive a free ebook.

 

About Joan Reeves

Joan Reeves is a NY Times and a USA Today bestselling author of Contemporary Romance. She lives her happily-ever-after with her hero, her husband, in the Lone Star State. Sign up for Joan's mailing list: http://eepurl.com/Yk61n and visit her at JoanReeves.com and her blog http://SlingWords.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Joan's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Parents And Problems by Joan Reeves

  1. susanrhughes says:

    There are always readers who will find fault with your characters – one of my heroines has been called a wimp, but I don’t let that bother me. I wrote her the way she came into my head, as someone conflicted who needed to grow and find strength through the course of the story. And all the positive reviews I’ve received tell me I did a decent job.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    I’m looking forward to reading, Romeo and Julie Ann. It sounds like just the thing to curl up for the weekend. Parent ~ child relationships are rarely dull. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Carol says:

    One of my reviews added that my characters, Tina and Hank, in A Smoky Mountain Christmas, were a bit too disagreeable with each other in the beginning. I personally know several people who did not get along at all when they first met. The book is a romantic comedy. Think back and remember how many of those type movies, or books, start off with two main characters at each others throats. It’s a good way to set up emotion for the rest of the book.
    Sometimes we base a character on a combination of many – but we probably have a number of readers who think they know the character they were based on. Not always true. A character must remain true to the storyline. LOL

    Liked by 4 people

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, the days of teens. When I hear mothers say that they hope that child has one just like them, I cringe. I wouldn’t have wished my one daughter on anyone! But when that daughter had a daughter who was a teen, you would have thought the sky was falling. Sorry, but my granddaughter has been total angel compared to her mother. I just smiled and nodded and reminded my daughter that the granddaughter might be difficult, but compared to her mother at that age, she was tame. πŸ™‚ Thank goodness they’ve all grown into wonderful women.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I, too, had a difficult relationship with my mother. And that often shows up in my books. Several of my characters have disagreements ripped from my real life. Congrats on the book; it looks terrific!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. stephaniequeen says:

    Joan, I applaud you for tackling those parent-child relationships in your stories! I have all I can deal with trying to manage the hero-heroine and a few friends. It’s a brave thing to explore difficult relationships in fiction!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

