Ebb & Flow

The perks of owning your own business are plentiful; like making your own schedule and generally liking your boss! ๐Ÿ˜€  People don’t always understand or see being a writer as a business. Granted, some of my work is sold through a publisher, but even with a publisher there is a business side that is all mine. Either way, it all begins and ends w/ me! This is both a blessing and a curse.  

 2015 was a rough year for the industry. Small publishers began closing their doors; including Samhain, which will close this year. And sales that were once soaring have tapered or plummeted, for some. The lucky ones have seen a slow enough decline to react in one way or another – like a “day job”. Which I have returned to, sadly! 

It’s funny how you forget office politics when you’re used to working alone. Or how co-workers can be quirky, for lack of a nicer term! I’ve started consulting for a tech firm, in the Sales &Marketing department. The Tech part is new to me, but I built a nice life and career in Sales & Marketing – before writing.

  
So while book sales ebb, I’m taking an opportunity for new character development via the workforce. I’ve already met several interesting people who I’m certain will find their way into personalities or full blown characters in a novel coming soon! It’s also giving me a chance to learn about a new industry. 

I will take this ebb in stride, create some new opportunities and develop a new portfolio of interesting characteristics. Hey, maybe I’ll be the first writer to make an engineer sexy! ๐Ÿ˜ Either way as long as the ideas and words flow, a little ebb can be dealt with. Lord, let it be a quick ebb! Here’s to new adventures! 

Wishing you well, in fiction and real life! 

Kindly,

๐Ÿ’– Kelly Rae โค๏ธ

  
๐ŸŒŸwww.kellyraebooks.com ๐Ÿ“š

Visit my website for information, buy links, or to purchase signed copies of any of my books! Thanks in advanceโฃ
Here is the reality of being a writer: 

   
I’ve seen numbers floating around about the top 10% are making it, or only those in KU (which is VERY restrictive for authors) are making it, to basically unless you’re Stephen King or Jodi Picoult, no one is making it! ๐Ÿ˜€ What you can do is support your favorite small business & writer with reviews and word of mouth advertising. Every little bit helps! ๐Ÿ˜˜
 

 

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ebb & Flow

  1. susanrhughes says:

    It’s true – being out in the workforce gives you the opportunity to meet all kinds of people are hear interesting stories that can spark your creativity. Best of luck with everything – may this year be good to you.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Joan Reeves says:

    Good luck with your new direction! Meeting new people and experiencing new situations is great background for writing. Btw, if anyone can make an engineer charming, it’s you.

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Carol says:

    Kelly, I wish you much luck with the job. I miss being out in the field mingling with people! I agree with Joan. bring on the charming engineer!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Seems you not only jumped back into the force, but full time, too! Best of luck with the new job of collecting characters for upcoming novels. And they will pay you to do that. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I can’t tell you how often I’ll warn a coworker, “That’s going in a book.” Usually they’re thrilled. Good luck with the return to the work force! It gets easier, I promise.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Kelly. My interface – as we now call it – with the out-there workforce is via the contracting company I run with my husband. He’s the project manager on the jobs we take on and I’m the financial person. In other words I juggle money so I don’t really interface much in person other than the occasional vendor or insurer or other bureaucrat. I wish I did have more of that face-to-face but this is the way we navigate affording the expenses of life while I continue to write and that income – as you so graciously put it – ebbs. Best of everything to you in this new venture. Best of everything to all of us as we ebb and flow and juggle and do our best to keep on keeping on. Blessings. Alice

    Liked by 1 person

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Congratulations, Kelly! Something new and wonderful will happen and maybe that sexy engineer will brighten your day ;). I love the quote about adjusting your sailsโ€ฆwe all need to do that in every endeavor we undertake personally and professionally. I know I have. Best of luck on this new journey—may it find you well and lead you where you want to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

