Mustering the Muse–Finding Inspiration

A few days ago, a writer friend was experiencing some self-doubt (as we all do, whether we’re writers, painters, carpenters, accountants, etc.). To cheer her, I sent her a couple of quotes I find motivating.She replied, “I could use one of those quotes daily.”

And it got me thinking. We all need daily affirmations, so why not create a space for that to happen? I probably won’t be able to do it everyday, because LIFE (and I have a big one.) But I write most days, I read everyday, and I could certainly use a positive thought or two or a zillion everyday. So, for the last few days, I’ve been publishing what I call Mustering the Muse on my personal blog: kristystories.blogspot.com

Here’s one of my favorite John Green quotes:

Don’t make stuff because you want to make money — it will never make you enough money. And don’t make stuff because you want to get famous — because you will never feel famous enough. Make gifts for people — and work hard on making those gifts in the hope that those people will notice and like the gifts.
Maybe they will notice how hard you worked, and maybe they won’t — and if they don’t notice, I know it’s frustrating. But, ultimately, that doesn’t change anything — because your responsibility is not to the people you’re making the gift for, but to the gift itself.

 

And a similar thought from Andy Warhol

making art
In addition to the positive thought, I though I would offer a space where friends can share either a link to their work or a favorite sentence. I’ll admit my goal with this is selfish. I try to write fast. They call this “being in the flow.” (You can read about that here) But sometimes, as I’m writing fast, I forget those sentences–the ones that sound and feel just right (writely.) And so, I think if, at the end of my writing day, I’m looking for that writerly sentence, maybe I’ll create a few more. Here’s my sentence (s) for today:

Grace leaned closer and lowered her voice, even though she knew her grandparents were miles away. “Do you think Mom entered into some sort of bargain with them?” she asked, thinking of her advanced English class in general and Faust and his pact with the devil in particular. Who would Grace rather strike a bargain with—Satan or her grandfather? Given the choice, it would be a hard decision.

ANYONE WANT TO SHARE A SENTENCE (or two) OR A THOUGHT? IF SO, LEAVE IT IN THE COMMENT BOX, ALONG WITH A BUY LINK AND I’LL POST IT IN OUR AUTHORS OF MAIN STREET NEWSLETTER.

 

About Kristy Tate

This is a fun place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mustering the Muse–Finding Inspiration

  1. Carol says:

    I enjoyed your post, Kristy! Wonderful words for thought. Also liked Andy Warhol’s thought.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. stephaniequeen says:

    I love the notion of sharing positive thoughts, Kristy! Can never have enough of those. I saw one today on Twitter, more inspirational like your John Green quote:
    #happiness grows at our own firesides, and is not to be picked in strangers’ gardens. – Douglas Jerrold
    And another one from John Wooden:
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful.
    Hopefully these are encouraging, but they are at the very least wise.
    SQ

    Liked by 3 people

  3. ginaarditoauthor says:

    My favorite quote is from Douglas Adams: “I seldom end up where I wanted to go, but almost always end up where I need to be.” So true!
    And to share a sentence of my own from today’s writing jag:
    I no longer intended to consider myself a victim with a shady past, doomed to failure and misery. I deserved a life—a real life that included respect and love. The sooner the Maxes of the world learned I wasn’t lying down in the gutter for them to step over anymore, the better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheri Fredricks says:

    I love the quotes shared here! Thanks ladies. I find inspiration in a quote from my mother who walk/jogged 3 miles a day, 5 days/week, until she turned 83. After that, she decided to stroll. “Why walk when you can run.”

    Liked by 3 people

  5. My go-to quote is a short one but it stands me in good stead all the same. I believe it’s from the Buddha but I’m not certain. It goes like this. “Fall down seven times. Get up eight.” I’m way past that number now as I’ll bet most of you are too. But we’re still standing back up and dusting ourselves off and starting all over again. God bless us every one for that. Alice

    Liked by 3 people

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love the Andy Warhol quote, it resonates with me. We all do need affirmation–thanks, Kristy!

    Here’s a recent bit from: The Magician’s Chalice: Cian strapped on his vest, now complete with as many bladed weapons as it was capable of holding. Rowan reached across his left hip and withdrew a wicked looking short sword from its scabbard. It was a sword Cian hadn’t seen before.
    “It belonged to my mentor,” Rowan said handing it to Cian with the kind of reverence that made it hard for Cian to swallow.
    “Thank you,” Cian said as he strapped the blade to his thigh. His katana was at his back, not at his left hip where it should have been had he been armed solely with the Japanese sword. If Cian was going to openly carry only one blade, that blade would be Rowan’s.
    “It’s called, ‘Damsel’s Kiss’,” Rowan said.
    Cian waited. It wasn’t like Rowan to volunteer information without making a point.
    It wasn’t long in coming. One side of Rowan’s mouth lifted in what for Rowan qualified as a smile. “The man who gave it to me swore there was nothing more capable of cutting and killing, before the recipient even feels the pain, than a damsel’s kiss.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. E. Ayers says:

    Some of my favorite quotes come from Churchill. And the one that has seen me through plenty of tough times is: When marching through hell, keep going. (Obviously that is not the time to stop for a pity party. Sometimes we need to be reminded to put on foot in front of the other and keep going.)

    As for those wonderful sentences… I wish I could write them more often. 😦 But when they happen, they always make me happy.

    Here’s my sentence from A Rancher’s Dream, which became the inspiration for the cover.
    http://amzn.com/B01BL0HKHS

    The elusive dream of his own ranch rested before him, a reality still shrouded in a morning mist that reflected the green of nature, of money, of success, and of a future.

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    A quotation that keeps me focused on today is by Thomas Carlyle: “Our main business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what lies clearly at hand.” I have it framed on the credenza behind my desk.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

