Renovating a house is like editing a book.

DSC02069

Dining room before

I’m in the middle of renovations in my house. The air smells like paint night after night but it is coming along. Tonight the dolls are out of the cabinet and sitting on the catchall. The china is out of the china cupboard and stacked on the kitchen island, but the last room downstairs is now painted.

 

DSC02086

Living room after (now Peach Glow)

Renovating is like editing. You hope you start with something good (good foundation and bones on a house–good bones and the start of a story in a book), and make it great. Layers of dust I didn’t know I had are now gone. The carpets and furniture are steam-cleaned and the house smells great (other than paint fumes). Layers of characterization and GMC and not a sagging middle are found in my current story. Bit by bit the house is coming along and bit by bit my third zombie book is taking shape.

Fingers crossed that the house is done and the book is up for preorders about the same time! (Beginning of April)

I’ll have more pictures once the kitchen is all done in Flaming Torch!! And after 15 years in this house, I will have knobs on the kitchen cabinets!! WooHoo!!


Jill James, romance author and Do-it-yourselfer

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Renovating a house is like editing a book.

  1. Jill. I love the wall color. So bright and cheerful. Sunshine inside even when there is gloomy weather outside. The same color scheme we had when we lived in the rainy-cloudy Pacific Northwest. Also red tile in our kitchen and flame-red pots and pans. See how great minds think – and decorate – alike? I wish you many happy productive days in your newly made surroundings and an equally happy future for your book. Unfortunately mine is currently still in messy plaster-dust-in-the-hair stage but I shall keep plugging along until the walls are sunny and the kitchen is flame bright. Blessings. Alice. P.S. In my other professional life my husband and I own a contracting company so renovations are our reality. That’s why contractors turn up so often in my books and also why I know so much about plaster dust in the hair. It actually gives the do lots of body.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Wow, Jill, your home looks fantastic! What a lovely welcoming color you’ve chosen for your walls. We need new windows and trim which will necessitate a complete re-painting this year. As much as I want it done, I’m not looking forward to actually doing it. Kudos on a job well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    Nice job! I had my small bathroom fixed up recently and I love it. Now the rest of the house looks run-down by comparison. I could just hang out in the bathroom and be happy!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jill James says:

      Susan, we are totally gutting the master bathroom (not there yet) with new shower made of Swanstone, new vanity, and granite sinks and vanity top. New mirrors over the sinks too. I can’t wait to do it.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Great comparison. Best of luck on your book… and your house.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Carol says:

    Such a pleasing color, Jill. And…cheerful. Enjoy your new surroundings and happy writing!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. E. Ayers says:

    How did you paint those cathedral ceilings? I read doing mine because this is an old house. Can’t wait to see your kitchen.

    Yes, renovating a house is a lot like writing a book. You get the basics and then you keep doing things until it’s perfect! Wishing you lots of luck!

    Like

  7. Joan Reeves says:

    Jill, thank you for taking my blog day. Last week was crazy with all the hospital stuff.

    Congrats on getting that part finished! I’m still waiting for my contractor to do my kitchen. He always seems to be on vacation. Here’s another way renovation is like editing: they both seem to never be finished!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ginaarditoauthor says:

    We just redid our bedroom after 25 years. New lighting, new carpet, new paint. It’s amazing what a little polish can do to our homes (and our books!) I love that peachy color. So warm and inviting.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

