Questions That Keep Me Up at Night

file000988905509Lots of people have insomnia every once in a while. Stress about work, family, health, etc. will keep you awake, pondering in the dark. Me? I have one of those minds that refuses to turn off when the lights go out. But I’m not worried about work, family or health. My head is filled with questions about my current work in progress, questions like these:

1. Have I used that name for a character in a different book? It seems familiar. 

2. How could I only write one paragraph today? At this pace, I’ll never hit The End.

3. Should I even keep this chapter? Or is it as bad as I’m afraid it is?

4. Is it any wonder all the “great” writers drank or did drugs? 

5. If I quit this insanity tomorrow, how soon would I miss it? 

6. What if I changed the dog to a cat? Or a lizard? Would that be funnier?

7. Crap. Did I commit to participate in a book event on a family holiday? (For the record, yes. A local author library signing. On Greek Easter. Gonna have to cancel one of them.)

8. Wouldn’t it be great if I could just lock myself in a hotel room for a month until I finished this book?

9. Maybe I should change my title?

10. Okay, I left my characters here doing this. What happens next?

These days, I’m working on two books at once, and one of those books has two story lines. That’s a lot to keep track of, and a lot to keep me up at night!

11. Do you think it will be worth it?

When I finally type The End on these two books, I’ll sleep well. For about three days. Then, that pesky muse of mine will start enticing me with a new story idea, and the cycle will begin all over again.

About ginaarditoauthor

Writer, mother, wife, killer of innocent houseplants
This entry was posted in Gina's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Questions That Keep Me Up at Night

  1. Carol says:

    All your questions are valid and I suffer from some of the same! Hope you manage to finish the books with everything answered and on time!

    Liked by 4 people

    • ginaarditoauthor says:

      I will…eventually. My editor is planning to nag me a month from now. I better have The End in sight or a fine reason why not!

      Like

  2. susanrhughes says:

    That lion looks like he doesn’t have too many worries.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Those questions plague me too.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    OMG! I’m like that too. Just can’t turn my brain off when it’s bedtime.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. E. Ayers says:

    As soon as that book is packaged for publication, my head goes into overdrive with questions like did I ever fix…or maybe I should have…why didn’t I think of that two weeks ago…oh no!…did I really?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Jill James says:

    It is always great to know you aren’t the only one!! I’m facing a deadline from Hell right now and sleep seems impossible.

    Liked by 2 people

    • ginaarditoauthor says:

      Two words: room service. Seriously. My kids keep asking me what I want for my birthday, and I keep saying, “A hotel room for the weekend.” Why do they think I’m joking?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Brain runs overtime whenever it’s time to sleep. I used to dictate in head at night. Now I try to meditate…try being the operative word. Good luck on getting these two finished in a way you’re thrilled with, Gina!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

