Change is the only constant

This has been a big year for changes around my house. I’m writing less, working outside of the home, and still trying to keep the best seller dream alive! 

The book business is not for the faint of heart. Luckily, I’m not deterred – only slowed down a bit! 😀 

The things that used to work to promote books – don’t. As authors we are constantly looking for the next thing, the next advertising avenue, the next blog or marketplace to share our work. The problem is that often if your book isn’t on trend; like the wave of NA that hit for a while or the new Step Brother trope, it’s hard to find readers. We all have to make the business decision on whether we want to write what’s hot or write what we like best. Right now, I’ve decided to write what I feel is best suited to me. Mistake or not, it’s what I feel best doing.

You can try and write to the market or you can wait for the market to swing back around to your focus. So, I wait! Okay, that’s not entirely true…I work on my craft and get some writing in and then I sort of wait! 😀 For readers to try something new, by that I mean a new author. And hope it’s me or one of my Main Street friends. 

As for the rest of life, parenting is not for the faint of heart either. My son will spend his last few days in middle school this month and transition into High School this September. I tear up thinking about it, because change even when it’s good, can sting the old heart a bit. I can’t believe he’s gotten this big, while I haven’t aged a day. 😜


Life, well it just keeps moving along. My new “day job” has offered me new and bold character ideas. My son growing up has offered me new reasons to panic and worry, but also a vast number of reasons to be proud. Change is the only constant…let it not stop you in your tracks, but rather embrace it and see where the change takes you.

Wishing you all an amazing June, at the same time, I can’t believe it’s already June! Let this summer take you away and change your life in every possible good way it can. 

Wishing you well, in fiction and real life!

Kelly Rae

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Change is the only constant

  1. Jill James says:

    Kelly, what a handsome son you have. He will set all the girls’ hearts aflutter. We have a grandson and nephew making the transition to high school this year. Change is everywhere.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Joan Reeves says:

    I tear up just remembering how I felt when each of the kids made the transition to high school. Now they’ve all left the nest. *sniff* Change is constant. So is the passage of time. Keep the dream alive, Kelly. We always need to enjoy the writing and try to ignore the selling. Hard to do, isn’t it?

    Liked by 4 people

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Yes, handsome son! But I think he got those great looks from his momma!

    I’m with you, Kelly. This is a year of change! I’m going through some huge changes here especially with my writing and what I’m doing.

    My days of little ones, diapers, toys, school books, sports equipment, and college bills are gone! I had dinner with my granddaughter the other night, just the two of us. She was so grown up – when did that happen? Doesn’t take them long. 😦

    Liked by 3 people

  4. ginaarditoauthor says:

    You two look great together! Best of luck on the new adventure come the fall. It’s scary how fast they grow up. I agree on the book thing. You can exhaust yourself chasing trends. I’ll just write what I love and wait for the world to catch up to me.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Carol says:

    Yes. We look up and our children are driving, dating getting married, and grandchildren. Your son is very handsome. Of course you haven’t aged! Good luck with the writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Kelly, I love seeing the photos of you and your son. Your smiles are contagious. Going through these milestones of high school, driving, ACTs & SATs can whirl by so quickly that we focus on their leaving instead of the very real fact that they are very much still here. Cian will be a senior this fall and is taking college classes half his school day, so I get it. These years will be wonderful—-just think of the suit and tux rentals. The bond you have will only grown stronger. 🙂 Thinking of you and sending much love.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

