Fear of . . .

fear (fir) n. anxiety caused by real or possible danger, pain, etc.; fright

Fear of Failure

For writers, this is the fear that nothing is good enough. Their writing sucks, no one will want to read it, so why finish it? It can be paralyzing. These are the writers working on the same book for 10 or 12 years or they have a trunk-load of unfinished manuscripts in their computer’s hard drive or under the bed. Nothing will ever be good enough to do something with it.

Just as frightening is . . .

Fear of Success

This was me for years. What if I get published and it does well? Then, what do I do? What if I can’t repeat the success? What if I’m a one-hit wonder? From there, the only direction is down, right?  If I do nothing, I have nothing to fear. When I published my first book with The Wild Rose Press I sat for months doing nothing. Why? Because my dream for so long was to “get published.” Now that it had happened I was at a loss of what came next. Dreams are glorious things, but what do you do when they come true?


What are you afraid of?


Occupo Somnium, Jill James, writer of romance and dreamer of dreams

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fear of . . .

  1. Marquessa says:

    Great post. I’ll take door number 2 if I had to choose!😊

    Liked by 3 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I think my writing career has been filled with so many but comments, that I’m afraid that my whole career will be shadowed with but’s. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I often fear my best books are behind me. I never want to be the author accused of “phoning it in.” And every time I toss myself out into the universe, I wonder, is this the time I crash and burn?

    Liked by 3 people

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    I fear every story isn’t good enough, readers will see through the plot twists or something glaring will make them stop. More than that though, I fear not being read. Some of that I can control, some I can’t. And while “control” is most certainly an illusion, we are the only ones who can put our stories on paper and that is empowering too. Every time I fear, I now stop myself and try to see the flip side of the fear coin that is, “OK, now what can I do about it?” Sometimes the solution is just as scary, but at least it gets me moving 🙂 . Great post, Jill. Fear is something everyone feels, it’s what we do about it that matters.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jill James says:

      Leigh, that’s why I don’t write mysteries. LOL I don’t read them either because I feel so stupid for not figuring it out before the big reveal at the end. hahaha OTOH, love plot twists I didn’t see coming.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Carol says:

    I fear not being able to finish a story once I begin writing…and if I do, who will read it?

    Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

