From Louisiana To the Heart of Acworth, Georgia

Cajun food at its best.

We celebrated an early Father’s Day with my husband and my son’s family last Thursday evening.

The place? Henry’s Louisiana Grill in Acworth, Georgia, with local and national acclaim. A little bit of Louisiana tucked into the outskirts of Atlanta. http://www.chefhenrys.com/

The town of Acworth is small – very small. A railroad track runs the length of Main Street, with somewhere in the neighborhood of 30-35 trains passing daily. But, the trains don’t bother Henry’s clients. The restaurant has helped put the town back on the map. The restaurant is cozy and rustic and is housed in a 1909 building on Main Street. Even before you reach the front door, street music, straight from New Orleans, blasts in the air…the feeling of Mardi Gras.

The atmosphere is homey, where you are invited into their home…you are part of the family. Henry visits each table and casts beads to every guest. What fun. He isn’t rushed as he takes a few minutes to talk to each guest and gets their names.

I’d love to add some photos, but don’t have permission to use them. Click on the link below to catch the essence of the town and Henry’s Louisiana Grill.

http://acworthtourism.org/acworthy-announcement/why-acworth-is-a-metro-atlanta-foodie-destination/

The food at Henry’s is an experience, not simply dining out. I had Shrimp and Grits. Absolutely the best I’ve ever had. If you get a chance, drop in and join their family for a meal. Oh, they’re closed on Sunday. They’re open for lunch also. Come prepared to wait in the evening, but it’s worth the wait. Who knows, you may get lucky and walk right in. If it wasn’t great food, there’d be no wait. 🙂

I raise my glass to Pepper Phillips, an author  at Authors of Main Street, but who we lost to illness. Pepper remains in our hearts. From Louisiana, she graciously shared many of her favorite recipes with us. She loved cooking and it showed.

Do you have a new, favorite eating place?

I wish you love, butterflies and music.

Links to my books, available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Apple and Smashwords, can be found here: http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

 

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From Louisiana To the Heart of Acworth, Georgia

  1. E. Ayers says:

    That’s funny. I was putting out a recipe to the other authors here on Main Street and this comes in at the same time!

    I really don’t cook anymore. It keeps my kitchen cleaner! And I love to bake! Well, baking and a diet never fits together! But I’ve cooked enough to good a good recipe when I see it. So for now I eat out! And it’s not green and leafy, with tomatoes on it, I’m probably not eating much of it.

    Locally, I have a few favorite places. Casadore’s is a local, family-owned Mexican restaurant and their food is delicious and very inexpensive. The waiter staff isn’t well versed in English, but they are very good and will do everything to be certain you are happy.

    But my all time favorite place is Pescados in Midlothian, VA and is owned by my nephew. They do a 5-star menu at reasonable rates. His fish and seafood is flown in from all over (he meets the planes), his salads are organic and from a local farmer, and the presentation is totally perfect. And since I can’t eat seafood, I can only say that his non-seafood is divine. In fact, if anyone has seafood allergies, what goes on in the kitchen to accommodate those of us who can’t go near it is amazing. One chef will prepare that meal. Everything is separate! No cross contamination! He’s won the best of Richmond, VA ever since he’s opened. He’s been on TV, etc. His prices are equal to most of the big chain restaurants. There’s not one microwave in the place. Everything is prepared from scratch! Everyone we’ve ever sent there, or taken there, has been amazed. Yeah, it’s my favorite place to go! All those batches of Christmas cookies I made with him when he had to stand on the chair to help are totally worth it and obviously paid off!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Carol says:

    I can’t see you not cooking! I guess there does come a time to close your kitchen. If I ever get to Richmond, I’ll look you up and we can enjoy a meal at your nephew’s restaurant. Making cookies with the kids is so much fun. You never know where those sessions take children.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kristy says:

    There are no words to describe Cajon food!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    I agree. There isn’t a dish I’ve tried, I haven’t loved.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. E. Ayers says:

    The problem with food, is that I love everything! Unfortunately I really cannot eat everything I love! One pound, two pounds, three pounds, four pounds… 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol says:

    I’m the same way. Everything I really love packs on the pounds! Plus, I’ve always been a bread lover!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. E. Ayers says:

    I love baking bread and not in a machine! Kneading and all of that is part of the fun! And once you learn to make bread and know the different recipes, it’s easy to experiment. Because baking bread is not an exact chemical science. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol says:

    Breads are my favorite to make and bake. I don’t make as much as I used to though. I do have a bread machine, but I do miss the steps of kneading, rising, punching down, shaping and rising again before popping into the oven. Nothing like fresh bread to make the house smell like home. 🙂

    Like

  9. stephaniequeen says:

    When I saw this post about Louisiana and Cajun food, it reminded me of Pepper! Thank you, Carol.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

