Like a little suspense? Guest Author, M. S. Spencer

The author world is very small and most of us here on Main Street know a wide variety of authors in probably every genre. I’ve known M.S. Spencer for ages, and I’ve enjoyed her books.  But often she’s left me with my heart racing as I’ve read! So if you like a good file0001179129151suspense…she’ more than a cozy, much more, but she’s never gross or over the top with the suspense. So I figured I’d bring my friend here and let you peek at her books for a little change of pace. I can’t wait to read A Widow’s Walk.  Which one will you add to your TBR pile?  E. Ayers

Thanks so much for having me today! Before I give short introductions to two of my new releases, I’d like to talk about what it’s like when your whole world crashes in on you.

Melodramatic, you say? Somewhat histrionic? Well, yes, but for a few weeks after my wonderful publisher Secret Cravings, announced it was going out of business, it felt that way. SCP had published eight of my ten romantic suspense/murder mysteries. The publisher, staff, and authors were incredibly supportive, helpful, and accessible. Unfortunately, it is extremely hard to succeed in the indie publishing business, so last September I found myself faced with the prospect of finding new homes for my babies. I was lucky. Partly due to SCP’s reputation, several houses were willing to take them in.

I Heart Book Publishing and The Wild Rose Press have been wonderful, but it’s not as easy to transition to different publishers as you might think. They all have their little foibles—formatting preferences, contract terms, editing process, even style manuals. I found myself resisting the new rules—slamming my laptop closed, muttering curses, pacing. Thank God everyone agreed on the Oxford comma or I would have drowned myself (editor’s note: again with the histrionics?).

E. Ayers: I would have a major hissy-fit if the Oxford comma was removed!

Eventually I settled down, and now nine books have reentered the market and—I must confess—all the better for a good going over by new eyes. So all you writers who find yourselves in a similar position—and there are lots of you—fear not! Look at it as your chance to re-edit and polish your works as never before. Robert Frost, in answer to a question, replied something on the order of, “When is my manuscript done? When the editor pries it out of my cold, dead hands.” (I can’t find the exact quote, but you get my drift). Here’s another:

“Writing without revising is the literary equivalent of waltzing gaily out of the house in your underwear.”
― Patricia Fuller

E. Ayers: Oh, I love that quote! Or as my grandmother would say your slip is showing. Does anyone know what a slip is today? 😉

Below are introductions to two of my releases—Whirlwind Romance came out August 17 from the Wild Rose Press, and A Widow’s Walk: Catherine’s Dilemma was published by I Heart in June.

Pirates, Puritans, and princes—pieces of the puzzle in the whirlwind romance between a jelly maker and a castaway.

WhirlwindRomance_3_850Whirlwind Romance

Wild Rose Press, 8/17/2016, Champagne Rose imprint
Contemporary romance/Action Adventure; M/F; 2 flames
Ebook 89,905 words; Print: 358 p.

Blurb:

In the aftermath of a hurricane, Lacey Delahaye finds herself marooned on an island on the Gulf coast of Florida with a mysterious man. They are immediately drawn to each other, but before Armand can confess his identity, they are kidnapped and taken to a tiny island in the western Caribbean. With the help of her son Crispin and a cadre of loyal followers, she and Armand must face down pirates, power-mad ideologues, and palace intrigue, if they are to restore the once idyllic tropical island to its former glory.

Buy Links:

TWRP: http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/all-titles/4470-whirlwind-romance.html

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Whirlwind-Romance-M-S-Spencer-ebook/dp/B01HLSSS3Y/

AllRomanceEBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-whirlwindromance-2069719-153.html

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/whirlwind-romance-ms-spencer/1120206448

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/whirlwind-romance-4

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/whirlwind-romance-0

ITunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/whirlwind-romance/id1137681038?mt=11

My latest release from I Heart is A Widow’s Walk: Catherine’s Dilemma.

 Which will she choose—her old love or her new love?

A Widows Walk FINAL EBOOK COVER copyA Widow’s Walk: Catherine’s Dilemma

I Heart Book Publishing, June 6, 2016

Ebook: 71,500  words; Print:  227 pp.

Contemporary Romantic Suspense, M/F, 2 flames

Blurb:

Catherine Killean is a woman on a mission. When her new husband disappears, leaving a suicide note, she is determined to find out why. She follows his tracks first to the North Woods of Maine, then to Florida, and back again to Maine. Along the way, she meets the tall, dark, gruff Holden Taggart, a Maine guide.

In her doubt and loneliness she is drawn to Holden, leaving her confused and adrift. What will happen when her questions about Jonathan are finally answered? Will old loyalty or new love triumph?

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FZSCYZK

ITunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/widows-walk-catherines-dilemma/id1116861603?mt=11

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/638502

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/a-widow-s-walk-catherine-s-dilemma

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-widows-walk-ms-spencer/1123844822?ean=2940153036274

All Romance Ebooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-awidow039swalkcatherine039sdilemma-2045648-149.html

About the Author:

M. S. SpencerAlthough M. S. Spencer has lived or traveled in five of the seven continents, the last thirty years were spent mostly in Washington, D.C. as a librarian, Congressional staff assistant, speechwriter, editor, birdwatcher, kayaker, policy wonk, non-profit director, and parent. After many years in academia, she worked for the U.S. Senate, the U.S. Department of the Interior, in several library systems, both public and academic, and at the Torpedo Factory Art Center in Alexandria, Virginia.

Ms. Spencer has published ten romantic suspense and murder mystery novels. She has two fabulous grown children and an incredible granddaughter. She divides her time between the Gulf Coast of Florida and a tiny village in Maine.

 

Contacts:

Blog: http://msspencertalespinner.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/msspencerromance

Twitter: www.twitter.com/msspencerauthor

GoodReads:http://www.goodreads.com/msspencer
Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+MSSpencerauthor

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/msspencerauthor/

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Like a little suspense? Guest Author, M. S. Spencer

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Welcome, dear friend! I love your covers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. msspencerauthor says:

    Thank you so much for letting me walk the Street with you. I look forward to many comments. M. S.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carol says:

    Welcome, M.S. You’ve had quite a ride with your books! Love the excerpts and look forward to reading the books. Good luck.

    Liked by 2 people

    • msspencerauthor says:

      Thanks Carol. Thank God I’m looking at the last child heading out the door and I can go back to my (now it’s up to THREE) WIPs! Please let me know what you think of my stories. M. S.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Carol says:

        LOL, M S. I have to laugh, because I’m also working on three WIP’s. Good luck with their completion!

        Liked by 1 person

        • msspencerauthor says:

          I usually stick with one story at a time (I get confused easily) but in the hiati (is that right?) I start a new story depending on where I am (I always start with the setting). I have one almost ready for submission, one in 3d draft, &, since I’m on vacation in Maine, outlining a new one set here. What are your WIPs? M. S.

          Liked by 2 people

  4. Melissa Keir says:

    Great advice. Having been with 4 publishing houses that closed, I’ve found that when each door closes, another opens! 🙂 All the best with your releases!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I found your blog very interesting as I too have been with a number of publishers that folded. It is discouraging and as you point out, each has its own techniques for formatting, editing, etc. Difficult to make these adjustments.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Ilona Fridl says:

    MS, I love your novels! These two new ones sound like winners. Best to you!

    Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

