Autumn is Coming!

autumn-leavesIt takes a little longer here in Northern California, but you can feel a difference in the air. The mornings and late evenings are getting cooler. Some trees are getting some color. My writing urges are in overdrive. I want to work on a dozen projects all at once.

First up is a Christmas novella. I’m enjoying listening to Christmas music to get me in the mood and look at the dusty red of the cherry tree outside my office window. It is still too hot some afternoons to work in the office so my temp desk is the couch in the living room. LOL Give it a few weeks and I’ll be at my desk with the window open to the cool breezes.

I love this time of year for walks on the bike trail without thinking I’ll melt into a puddle on the way. hahaha Soon I’ll be in shape for bike rides and really get to enjoy the changing of the seasons.

Do you do anything different to enjoy the coming of autumn? Or do you like another season better?


Jill James, romance writer

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn is Coming!

  1. E. Ayers says:

    My first reaction is to say I do anything different. But there are all sorts of tiny shifts that I make. My Hawaiian shirts are the first to be put away, I tend to go for the 3/4 sleeve shirts and my jewelry also tends to change in favor of my “autumn” jewelry with leaves and mums, etc.

    I used to decorate my mantels. (But with my roommate’s cats, I can’t. Those cats will destroy anything up there. Grrr!) So now the mantels are empty season after season. But I do change the wreath on the front door. But around here autumn often doesn’t turn colorful until well into November so a wreath with colorful leaves or a fancy bow made with fall colors looks out of place when the summer blossoms are happily blooming their hearts out! For that reason, I don’t usually do that until almost November.

    I venture outside a little more,and I’m more apt to sit out in the evenings with friends and enjoy the cooler air. There’s usually a very lightweight sweater or something in the car – just in case it gets too cool. I also love the beach now that it’s empty and of course the mountains which will turn color sooner, so I’m apt to take off one day for a ride. I wash up sweaters so they are fresh when I need them. (Lay flat to dry can often be a problem if I wash more than one!) And I tend to go looking for my socks. So the changes are tiny but they are there in subtle increments.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jill James says:

      E., I think one of our biggest changes was moving from Baltimore and coming to California and learning that no one did the whole summer clothes/winter clothes change. We have all our clothes available year-round. It was a big change for this east coast girl.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I like summer best, but this year it was just too hot! I’ve been looking forward to cooler weather. But the coming of fall makes me dread winter.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carol says:

    Fall is my favorite time of year. The changing of colors, a soft cool breeze, a walk in the mountain with a sweater hugged around me. Winding mountain trails that lead to a rushing waterfall has me ready for a Fall vacation! Maybe it’s the Indian in me, but my energy level rises and I simply feel more alive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love just walking in autumn and trying to catch leaves as they fall—-it’s harder than one might think! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

