Choose Love

 

file9921250747866

The U.S. election is over. A new president will be sworn in this coming January. For the record, I’m writing this post prior to Election Day so don’t think the results swayed my opinion here. Over the last year or so, friends and family have become alienated because of politics. Harsh words were spoken or written on social media.

Whatever the results, I’m hoping we, as a nation and as people, can come together and heal. Let’s remember what really matters in life. Not money, not winning or losing, not political issues at all.

What really matters is love. Remember John Lennon’s Imagine? The lyrics still resonate just as much today, maybe more so. Throughout life, we are faced with decisions, options, choices. Imagine how much easier those moments might be if we tackled them with love. Without fear, ignorance, or bias. What if we saw ourselves and those around us through the lens of love?

Yes, I’m a romance writer. Love is my stock and trade. I truly believe there is no greater power, no better gift we have and can share than the aspects of love. Compassion, tenderness, patience, generosity, civility, mercy, and happiness all stem from love. All that’s good in the world begins and ends with love.

Join me. Choose love.

“And the world will live as one.” – John Lennon

 

About ginaarditoauthor

Writer, mother, wife, killer of innocent houseplants
This entry was posted in Gina's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Choose Love

  1. Carol says:

    Inspiring post Gina! We all would be much better off working together and spreading the love.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    A wonderful thought for today. Thanks.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Hannah M says:

    This post is so crucial. Now, politics is just a game..a dirty, selfish game

    Liked by 3 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      As I’ve been saying for months, it didn’t matter who won or lost because they would still be multimillionaires and we’d still be struggling with paychecks.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Hannah M says:

        I totally agree. Some “qualified” people have good intentions for the US, but it is almost impossible for them to win without having contacts in high positions and a loooot of money. I hope we get back to the basics.

        Liked by 2 people

        • ginaarditoauthor says:

          What bothers me the most is the amount of hate spewed this time around. And it still continues. I worry what kind of world we’re leaving the next generation.

          Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Yes, love is our stock and trade. I think there isn’t enough of it. People look for it but they don’t find it so they turn to us to fill in the emptiness inside of them. We give them hope that there really is love out there.

    I was so lucky to have found true love. It’s a wonderful thing. It doesn’t keep all the terrible things away but it does make it easier to cope when there’s someone at your side.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    I’m a political news junkie. I love it all. I usually get up by 4 and read on-line papers for an hour or so. Politics intrigues, infuriates, and energizes me. That said, I would never want to lose a friend over my views, so I rarely share them. Action is better anyway—if someone needs help, help in whatever way you can. That makes our communities stronger and shares the love. Sometimes just a small kindness is enough. Great post, Gina. Thanks for it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      I have one friend who is very liberal and one who is very far to the right. Try having dinner with both of them1 I did that yesterday!

      Liked by 1 person

    • susanrhughes says:

      How refreshing, someone who doesn’t feel the need to splash their opinions all over the place! I feel the same – arguments rarely solve anything. Compassion and lending a hand does.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ginaarditoauthor says:

        Oh, don’t get me wrong. Like Leigh, I’m a political animal and have my own leanings and strong opinions. But I know I’m not going to change another political animal’s mind, no matter what information I share. I have to cling to the belief that we all want to leave this world better than we found it, but we have different opinions on how to do that. And yes, E, one of my closest friends is the polar opposite of me on the political spectrum. We’ve spent entire weekends together and we stay friends by avoiding any discourse on the subject. There are plenty of other things to talk about and enjoy together. Because we love each other, regardless of political leanings.

        Like

Please Leave a Reply

