Gothic Romantic Suspense

A new member on Main Street: Raine English

I’m Raine English, a USA Today and award-winning author of sweet small-town romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance. I live in a quaint New England town with my family and two French bulldogs. I’m very excited to be here, sharing my first post with you.

While I write in a variety of genres, my favorite stories contain paranormal elements. SHADOWS AND LIES, my latest release, is part time travel, part ghost story, and is a hauntingly romantic Gothic set in Louisiana along the banks of the Mississippi River on an 1830s sugar plantation.

When Olivia Lockwood leaves the comfort of her Massachusetts home for an eerie mansion in Louisiana to fulfill her grandfather’s dying wish, she has no idea of the long-buried secrets that await her there. Or whether Jaxon Carter, her grandfather’s right-hand man, might steal her heart or put her life in jeopardy.

shadowsandliesraineenglishmedium

Excerpt from SHADOWS AND LIES:

I was quite impressed with Jaxon’s choice of restaurants. Antoine’s opened in 1840 and was still owned and operated by relatives of the original founder. Sitting there in one of its charming and beautiful dining rooms took me back in time, quite appropriate considering the events that led up to us coming there.

We ordered the Chateaubriand for two and a bottle of red wine. While we waited for dinner, Jaxon gave me a brief history lesson on New Orleans—a place of second chances.

“So I hope you understand a little better now why the people here believe as they do,” he said before taking a sip of his wine.

“Indeed.”

“And what about you? Did your visit with Lily Dewitt make you a believer?”

“I have to admit that I do believe that what I’ve been experiencing were events from another lifetime. There’s just no other explanation. But as far as believing in ghosts and a curse, I’m not sure I’ve come that far.”

He took another sip of wine. The dancing candlelight from the table’s centerpiece, cast a warm glow over him, making him even more attractive. “That’s okay. You’re making progress. In time, you’ll come around.”

Those words were similar to what Kelly had said, and I suddenly felt homesick. “A good friend of mine said something very much like that to me before I left Boston.”

“Must be a wise friend.”

“She is.”

“Do you miss home?”

“With everything that’s been going on here, I’ve hardly had a chance to think about it until now, and I must say, thinking about Kelly does make me miss my life there, as dull as it might have been.” My voice wavered with the brilliance of his look.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to make you sad.”

“That’s okay. It was bound to happen at some point.”

“But not tonight. Tonight we’re celebrating.” He raised his glass to me.

“We are?” I said, lifting mine. “What are we celebrating?”

“You…becoming one of us.”

The rest of the evening was spent discussing the bed-and-breakfast and how close we were coming to the grand opening.

When we left the restaurant, Jaxon placed his arm across my shoulders as we walked toward the car. Once we were seated inside it, he leaned toward me.

“I had a really nice time tonight,” he said, his breath warm on my cheek.

“I did too.”

I don’t know if it was the wine or the fact that we had this undeniable connection, despite us both not wanting to admit it, but somehow I wound up in his arms, and once again his firm lips were on mine. His kiss was demanding and urgent, and I was shocked at how I responded to him. His lips seared a path down my neck and shoulders, setting my body aflame with desire, and then back up to my eagerly awaiting mouth.

I lost track of time. It wasn’t until a group of noisy teenagers walked past the car that our lips parted.

During the ride home, neither one of us spoke, both lost in our own thoughts. What did tonight mean? Anything? Or would Jaxon brush our kisses off again? I supposed I would find out soon enough.

Back at Turnberry, the house was quiet. Everyone was either asleep or in their rooms. After a polite good night, we retired to ours as well, leaving me not knowing what to make of that man.

SHADOWS AND LIES is available at Amazon.

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Shadows-Lies-Gothic-United-States-ebook/dp/B01M9BY010

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shadows-Lies-Gothic-United-States-ebook/dp/B01M9BY010

 

This entry was posted in Raine's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gothic Romantic Suspense

  1. susanrhughes says:

    Welcome to the group, Raine! Thanks for sharing your excerpt with us. I look forward to reading more of your work.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jmichelemaurer says:

    “You…becoming one of us.” Intriguing and I enjoyed your excerpt, Raine! I haven’t been to New Orleans since I was kid. Beautiful cover!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Raine, welcome. We are pleased to have you with us here on Main Street. Just stop in the coffee shop and grab a cup of your favorite beverage. Then visit with the authors and and all of our wonderful readers. We’re very casual. 🙂 Because we all have busy lives, spending time with a book is important. But getting to know that author is always fun.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    Raine, welcome to the group. I’m excited you joined us. New Orleans has always held a mysterious intrigue for me. Not that I wanted to feel that way, but it is what it is. I lived there for a little over a year when I was much younger. I met some wonderful people and some strange people there. Shadows and Lies excerpt is captivating! Great cover

    Liked by 3 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I love a good gothic! I’m so glad you’re with us, Raine. I’m looking forward to getting to know you and your work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jill James says:

    Welcome to the group, Raine! I love gothics. Will have to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

