How We Met

romantic kissFor a long time, I was embarrassed to admit how I met my husband. I thought the method I used to find a mate sounded desperate. But after nearly 20 years of marriage, what does it matter? It’s time to fess up. Now I am only bemused that we’ve known each other since before the advent of online dating. Back then, we used a telephone dating service.

I’d been single for a while when my married friend introduced me to Telepersonals. I wasn’t seriously hoping to meet my soul mate through this service, but it was free for women (only men had to pay) so I figured, why not?

The first guy I went out with turned out to be a jerk who wouldn’t let me out of his car before I kissed him goodnight. I intended to be more cautious before trying again. Then John’s greeting message grabbed me. His voice stood out from the rest, with his smooth English accent. He said he liked classical music, travel and international cuisine. I thought he sounded sophisticated. I was intrigued.

We exchanged a few messages and arranged to meet for drinks. I took my friend with me for safety. When I saw him, I thought he was cute, with his neat dark hair and kind hazel eyes. But at first I wasn’t sure we had any chemistry. He seemed to have more in common with my friend, whose parents came from England. They reminisced about Polo mints and Flake bars while I sat back shyly.

After that first meeting, he called me right away and said he’d like to see me again. I decided to give him another chance. We met at an Elvis-themed restaurant for dessert—alone this time. That’s when the sparks flew. Talking to him was easy, and he was gentle and interesting. He showed me pictures of his family. He loved cats and 1950s and 60s music, just like me. I was smitten. And the rest is history! We’ll celebrate our 20th anniversary this August.

How did you meet your significant other, and how long have you been together?

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How We Met

  1. E. Ayers says:

    They say fate puts us in the right place at the right time.

    Hubby said he fell in love the minute he saw me.He asked me out and for some crazy reason, that makes no sense, I said yes. It took me the whole night to figure out that I was falling in love. He insisted on following me “home”, then walked me to the door. Told me how much he loved the evening and looked forward to seeing me. He gave me a kiss on the cheek and waited. I said good night, closed the door, and it hit me like a ton of bricks. Never had I spent an evening with anyone quite like him. We married five weeks later. We had almost 37 years together. There’s nothing like being madly in love with your best friend. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. jmichelemaurer says:

    I LOVE this post, Susan! I agree with E about fate. You were meant to hear that smooth voice and sit back that first night and take in his features. The memories of those first moments are always quite special.
    Hubby and I met in an AOL chatroom. He was persistent, which irritated me at first. Then he sent me the most beautiful love letter ever. I finally agreed to meet him. I still have the letter but it’s stuck inside the hard drive of my very first computer. Even though the computer only goes click click click click click now…I refuse to trash it. I know the letter that changed my life completely is still in there. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    We have more than one set of friends who met and latter married from on-line meets. That’s the nature, I think, of the world we live in now. There’s something meaningful in hearing your future partner’s voice on the phone. Can do that with computers now as well, if you want to. Seems like a great way to meet people.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Kristy Tate says:

    Congrats on 20 years, Susan! I met my husband in college. He was sitting on the sofa with one girl lounging along the back of the sofa and another sitting on the floor with her head leaning against his knee. He was eating up all the girly attention, and I couldn’t stand him. The next day, I pulled up beside him at a street light (he was in a FIAT convertible and I was in a Datsun four door sudan.) We made eye-contact. I waved because I recognized him. He looked away without acknowledging me, and I knew we would never be friends. What I didn’t know was that he told his roommates he was going to ask me out. It took a long time for him to win me over, but when I finally agreed to go out with him, he started talking about marriage on our first date. It’s been almost 35 years.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Carol says:

    While working a nighttime third job at a restaurant, I met the man I would marry. He came in every night with friends for dinner. Little did I know he’d bet his friends he would wrangle a date with me. Little did he know I’d told a co-worker he was the man I’d someday marry. His blue eyes and quirky smile mesmerized me. That was 51 years ago.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ginaarditoauthor says:

    Love your story! Mine is just as cliched. I met my man in a bar. A friend of mine was supposed to meet me there, but never showed. I was all dressed up and several guys tried to get my attention, but I brushed them all off. Then one guy came up to me and said, “You’re not having a very good time tonight, are you?” I attempted to brush him off too, but he just wouldn’t go. He offered to buy me a drink. I told him I was drinking club soda. He offered to buy me a club soda. I reminded him they were free. He told me he was a big Wall Street executive with a large expense account and in his spare time he was a ski instructor. Then he told me he’d love to take me out on his boat one night for a sunset cruise. He wore me down because the lies just kept coming, kept getting bigger and bigger, and honestly, I was intrigued that he tried so hard to impress me. Turned out, he’d bet his friend five bucks he’d leave the bar with me that night. He left with my phone number, not me, but he called the very next day. We married two years later and will celebrate our 31st anniversary this September.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill James says:

    I’ve known my husband since junior high through high school. We went to a small town school so everyone knew everyone. We would never have dated in school. We were so not each other’s type. Fast forward to having a kid with Mr. Wrong and needing a job to support said kid. I went to work at a trucking company in accounts receivable. His father was a manager in the office and asked if I would go out with his son if he asked. I said yes and he came in the next day in his police officer uniform to ask me out and I was lost in deep, brown eyes and a tight uniform. LOL The rest was history. We will celebrate 29 years of wedded bliss this June.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

