Retreats and Obsession

Though a Writing Retreat is months away, I’m already gearing up for the trip and making a list of needs or wants to generate a more enjoyable, week.

Okay, I do buy items that aren’t really necessary, but what can I say? I might need them. Lol

My husband rolls his eyes when he gazes at a corner filled with bags of toiletries, and items that have a long shelf life. A couple of weeks before leaving, it’s easy to add extra items to my grocery list, cross them off, then slide them into waiting bags for the trip. This process saves me a ton of time when I make a last stop at the grocery store trip for refrigerated items. 

Let’s don’t forget cleaning supplies. Heaven forbid. I refuse to take for granted the place is germ free…so out comes my disinfectant spray and paper towels to clean counters, bathrooms, etc.

Don’t think I don’t run two loads of dishes we’ll use while there…because I do.

Is anyone else as paranoid particular as I am when it comes to cleaning a condo before spending an entire week where who knows what type person came before you?

Granted, I admit I’m paranoid particular and cleaning requires time. Still, that nice cup of steaming coffee is definitely satisfying once I’m settled in front of the computer and fingers on keyboard. The view is awesome, especially when we have spectacular sunsets.

Here’s a couple of shots of amazing sunsets from last year. Maybe it was the year before that. Regardless, I hope you enjoy the view!

12009767_10153554406578954_96421651517696997_n[1]

11056057_10153554407008954_874608760309053627_n[1]

10421154_10152701515743954_5091088363926069364_n

Please check out these links to my books, available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Apple and Smashwords. http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

I wish you Butterflies, Music and Love

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Retreats and Obsession

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    Oh, that view looks gorgeous! And no, you’re not the only one who is particular about those things. Hope your writing retreat is wonderful. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I’m green. I wanna go!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      You’d love it, E. We’re set way back in the country and the quiet takes some getting used to. 🙂 Watch fish jump in the lake and ducks swimming or making their rounds. As I checked out a couple of years ago, a man and his wife were behind me. He kept looking at me until it became uncomfortable. Soooo…what did I do? I turned to him, smiled and then finished checking out. All of a sudden he asks, “Are you a writer?” I nodded and said, “Yes.” He elbowed his wife. “I knew it.” All I wanted to do was get out of there. “We were in the condo across from you and noticed your car hadn’t moved the entire week,” he said. Well…I thought that was spooky that they’d been watching. He went on to tell me his wife reads all the time and asked what I wrote. I hope I gained a new reader! You never know.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    Stunning sunsets!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a beautiful spot, Carol! Where are you going? Truly lovely. Happy Writing!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Jill James says:

    I never thought about all of that while renting a condo…now I will!! What beautiful sunsets.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I’m so jealous! It looks so inspiring. And yes, I, too bring my own cleaning supplies to vacation condos. You’re not alone.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

