First Monday of the Month

I have a new book coming out mid-May. It’s awaiting its cover – otherwise I’d show it to you. It’s a historical western, A Rancher’s Request, but a good potion of it is set in the Tidewater area of Virginia. She’s from here. He writes home to his father in North Carolina and requests a bride. That father contacts his best friend in Virginia and inquires about his daughter. Guess who is not too happy?  Okay, she’s totally livid, but it’s also set in a time when women did as they were told. She has to go.

And I’m writing a contemporary. The one I told you about last month. I’ve actually done a silent dinner. Oh, what fun! I did a lot of writing on a pad of paper because my ability to sign is terrible.

If you haven’t signed up for our newsletter do it! I have an excerpt on that work in progress (WIP) and lots of really nifty information. Plus my friends here in Main Street also have some news. Sign up! You don’t want to miss the excitement. (Upper right hand corner of the blog – see it? Click it! We won’t drive you nuts with boring newsletters or constantly fill your inbox.)

With all that I’m doing, how did I spend a good potion of my day? Doing what for me is a rare event, I went shopping for clothes. Why are we so hard on summer clothing? I think it’s because summer lasts longer around here and most summer clothes are made of lighter fabrics that just don’t wear like a heavy sweatshirt does. Anyway, I found three shirts, two necklaces, and three pairs of earring. But there’s something about having new clothes.We always feel great when we wear something new.

New clothes means I need to cull my pile and remove at least three old shirts. Actually I need to sort quite a few things from my closet and drawers. Why do tee shirts change shape? They seem to get shorter and wider as they age.  Maybe they are a little like people who tend to get shorter and wider as they age.

My Favorite Pic of Me!

The doctors have me on vitamins to help prevent my getting shorter, and I’ve been working on that wider problem.  I’m a serious salad eater. I want my salads. You can put almost anything on it, and I will eat it. In fact, the more you put on it the the more I like it – just no onions or peppers. Salad and meat, and I’m a happy person. (Obviously I haven’t shaved my legs in ages, and I think my ears are getting a wee bit long. Maybe it’s from all the nuts I drop in my salads.)

Because I have a new book coming out, I’ve got several upcoming book signings. I’m trying to get things ready for that. I’ve been asked about an upcoming event, and I’ve got a form for it in front of me that should have been returned two weeks ago.  The list goes on. Trip to Wyoming is still a possibility.

Sometimes I feel as though I’m being pulled in directions at once.  Everyone assumes I’m a highly-organized machine and capable of doing anything. I’m not. And through most of April, I’ve had things in this old house being repaired. Certain noises will break anyone’s concentration!

Every now and then I have to remind myself that I am human and quite capable of screwing up. At least now I can feel better knowing I look great, while falling flat on my face. They say life is what we make it. Um, really? Maybe it is. I like staying busy, and it seems I’m constantly running.  No one will ever say I sat back and watched life happen, I’m too busy making things happen.

This entry was posted in E.'s Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Monday of the Month

  1. Carol says:

    You’re definitely not a watcher, E. I hope all your repairs are completed and the noise has stopped! I’m looking forward to your new book and its cover.

    Liked by 2 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      I’ll sneak an announcement in on a Sunday and show off my cover.

      No such luck on the house repairs. This is the year of “the house.” Little bit by little bit, I’ll get it back into shape and then I’ll repaint. (Which I guess is like buying a new blouse, except it’s for a house.) 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Carol says:

    You’ll be happy woman once all repairs, etc. are complete. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. jackiemaurer says:

    Salads are great! They even taste delicious with fruit and almond milk all blended up into a smoothie. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You go girl! Do we all run crazy like that? I’m starting to think so.
    🙂 Rabbits. Yum. 🙂
    Have a wonderful day and I can’t wait to read the book in its final form!
    xx
    Lizzi

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    You’re a busy lady, E! They (those infamous “they”) say staying busy keeps us young. If that’s the case, I’ve reverted back to about ten years old these days.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

