The Joys of Regifting

 

frenchpress_coffee_SM

Last week, I was eating at a local lunch counter and got into an enjoyable conversation with a young employee. She and I often fall into discussion of healthy eating, and on this day, we also talked about coffee. I had recently enjoyed my first cold brew from Starbucks–Oh. My. Word.

I then waxed poetic about my French press, which I’ve used and loved for several years.

The girl’s eyes lit. She said she had always wanted a French press–it was on her list of things to buy some day. She asked about the process of making coffee with one, and I explained it.

I finished my lunch, talked with the other lady who fixed my delicious meal, listened to the young employee’s college plans (much better thought-out than mine were at her age).

I went home, retrieved the unused, still-in-its-packaging, French press that someone had given me two or three years ago, returned, and gave it to her. (What do I need with a second one, I thought, when it was handed to me. This seemed to be the answer.)

She was so excited to have something she had only hoped to acquire someday, and didn’t mind that it was a regift. I demonstrated (without water or grounds) the simple, beautiful method of making delicious coffee.

I smiled all the way home, and for quite a while afterward.

In the big downsize of 2012, I sold and gave away many items. Maybe someday I’ll share the story of my grandmother’s sewing rocker.

In my book, Emily’s Dreams, the heroine has survived a car wreck, and endured painful physical therapy and rehabilitation. Afterward, she realizes that in order to start over, she needs to shed her past. That past includes, it turns out, most of her possessions. Some of them are sold, but there’s magic of a sort in what happens with the ones she gives away.

EmilysDreams-MD

Here’s the blurb for Emily’s Dreams (Serendipity, Indiana – Book Two):

Emily Kincaid was seriously injured in a car wreck (Small Town Christmas). Now she has to figure out how to live instead of simply surviving. Her past includes a series of broken relationships and dead-end jobs, but her future is a giant question mark.

Everybody wants to help–the nurse aide Emily can’t stand, Emily’s grandmother who had the perfect marriage and wants Emily to find the right man, and her teenage sisters who are eager to get her out of their way.

David Standish wants to help too, but he’s the guy Emily can never have. He’s older, and cosmopolitan while she’s small-town boring…

And on top of all this, there’s the voice in Emily’s head that keeps giving her advice she can’t understand.

Come to Serendipity, and believe in the magic of Love!

****

Emily’s Dreams is free right now. If you’d like to download a copy, all the links are on the free books page of my website.

Do you have experiences with regifting, as a giver or receiver? I’d love to hear your stories!

Magdalena

About Magdalena Scott

I'm a USA Today Bestselling Author, and write two series of small-town romance and women's fiction, with characters you'll wish lived in your neighborhood. In fact, readers have said they'd like to move to the towns I write about. And you can move there too--sort of--by reading the books.
This entry was posted in Magdelena's posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Joys of Regifting

  1. susanrhughes says:

    That sounds like a great read!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I love stories that revolve around personal struggles. And the idea of getting rid of things… My daughter was re-gifted with a virtually new quality sewing machine that belonged to the ex-wife. Daughter was in heaven! Why not pass things along to those who want or need them? It makes sense and everyone feels good.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Carol says:

    I’m reading Emily’s Dreams now and loving it! Regifting your French Press to the young employee was such an unselfish and wonderful act of kindness on your part, Magdalena. 🙂 The girl will probably think of you each time she uses it. We change lives and the world, one person at a time.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I hope you’ll continue to enjoy Emily’s Dreams, Carol! If you saw how much kitchen cabinet space I have, you might think I was selfishly trying to free up a tiny bit by regifting the French press. 🙂

      I love your comment: “We change lives and the world, one person at a time.”

      Liked by 3 people

  4. jackiemaurer says:

    I have got to get to know the fine folks of Serendipity! It’s a good thing I have a short trip coming up soon. My reading list is growing! As for giving…it’s such a wonderful feeling to be able to give kindly to others. And it’s so easy to do. Even a kind word goes a long way.
    I’ve got my copy of Emily’s Dreams. Can’t wait to read it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    On one of my first days at Le Day Job, a young girl admired my necklace. It was actually one of only two I had left that had been promotional giveaways for one of my paranormal romances. I went home at lunchtime, dug up the other one, and gave it to her that afternoon. You would’ve thought I handed her the Hope Diamond. She showed everyone and wore it constantly. Sometimes the littlest gestures mean a great deal to someone else.
    I’m looking forward to visiting Serendipity!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gina, What fun to make that girl’s day by giving her the necklace! I’m sure she thinks of you with a smile each time she wears it!

      I hope you’ll enjoy your visit to Serendipity. 😉

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

