Change is in the Air

At 50+ years old, one usually thinks their life is how it will be. The children are raised. You are enjoying the grandkids. Life is cruising along…and then this happens!

I moved to California from Maryland when I was 7 years old. I’ve lived my whole life here. And now we are moving–to Nevada!! The husband woke up one morning and said, “let’s move, let’s buy a new house, let’s have an adventure.”

The next adventure in my life is beginning. We know no one there. Our family and friends are all here. The husband is finally retiring retiring. We will have a new home, new furniture, and a new life. It will be different. It will be exciting. At least, I hope so!! Fingers are crossed and I am sending positive thoughts out into the universe. Maybe my next book will take place in a Nevada ghost town. Ooooh, new book ideas already!

What exciting unexpected thing has happened to you?


Jill James, romance writer and adventurer!

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Change is in the Air

  1. E. Ayers says:

    So excited for you! New life! I’m so ready to do that, too. That green glow in the eastern sky is me. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. jackiemaurer says:

    Congrats, Jill! How exciting. 😀
    I agree with Hubby. What a perfect time to go have some new adventures.
    You’ll have to keep us updated. And enjoy the process of relocating, finding new favorite places, and making new friends. Have fun! After all, isn’t that what life is all about? 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Jill, I’m excited for you, and look forward to hearing more as your adventure unfolds!

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Mona Risk says:

    Congratulations on the move Jill. I did the same a few years ago from Ohio to Florida, from a big house and empty nest to a small apartment always overcrowded. But not overnight! We spent a couple of years going back and forth like faithful snowbirds, and then decided to say goodbye to the snow and the cold, and mowing the lawn,… No regrets. Never looked back. Wishing you the best in your new place.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Carol says:

    Jill, wishing you much joy and new adventures in your new home! Reno is a beautiful area. What a great place to write!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. ginaarditoauthor says:

    Lucky you! Enjoy your new grand adventure. I’ve still got a few years to go before hubby and I can both retire and begin our own new grand adventure. Keep notes! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Diane Culver says:

    Enjoy your new adventure! I’ve never been to Nevada, but I think of mysteries, gambling, Billionaires and waitresses, and above all, all things western and what is hot in the market now, Cowboy themed books. Retirement is definitely a shift change in the paradigm of one’s life…. I had lived my life by a bell-when to eat lunch, when to pee—-the life for 34 years of being an award winning mathematics teacher, but on my bucket list (which, when settled you should make if not already done) was to write a novel based in the Hamptons where I grew up. I am now happy to say I’m 3 books into a 6 book series and a new series to launch…..I live in Syracuse, the snow-globe mecca with a man, also retired, who hates warm climates.So I curl up and write and play golf. I thought I would not survive as my children moved away from home, but I had to fill the whole since I have no grandchildren just two grand-dogs—I guess the best advice I’ll give it is take it a day at a time and enjoy every day as a gift. Good luck!!! Diane Culver

    Like

  8. Kristy says:

    Hope it’s a happy move for you. The thought of moving from my family and friends terrifies me. You’re very brave.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Go Jill! I hope you have a wonderful time setting up your new life!
    I’ll be thinking of you!
    xx
    Lizzi

    Like

  10. leighmorgan1 says:

    Here’s to the Adventure, Jill! Excited for you. Nevada is going to be all new and filled with the wonderful life you and your husband create there. Hugs! And Every Blessing on your new Home! ❤

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

