-Stuff- Where does it all come from?

Better yet…where does it go? Where do you put those memories when you simply can’t bring yourself to let go?

Really? You don’t save special gifts from friends or loved ones? Since they cared enough to share something they took the time to purchase, or make, it makes sense to hang onto those items. Right?

Come on. Fess up. You do don’t you?

Well…let me tell you, I do.

Hello. My name is Carol…and I’m a hoarder! Lol

One of our members is moving out of state. I’m happy for her and the new adventure that’s sure to follow. I can only imagine the trips back to their old hometown they’ll make to visit family and friends. Because family and friends matter. Yes they do.

I wondered how much ‘stuff” she’d get rid of before the move.

Then I looked around my house at ‘memories’ placed here and there. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t saved each and every item I’ve ever received, I wouldn’t be able to walk through the house. Lol. But many, many are still with me, because I can’t seem to let go of them.

When my son was around five, he bounced into the house one day, with  a bunch of ‘weeds’ crunched in those tiny hands. With a shy gaze and a sweet smile, he said, “Mommy, I brought you some roses.” Let me tell you, my heart nearly burst with pride and joy. My son was, and still is, the most thoughtful and loving person. I still have those ‘weeds pressed within pages of my bible. Yes, I do.

I could go on and on, but I’m in the process of allocating at least two fifteen minute blocks of time to organize ‘My Stuff.’

Keep. Give away. Throw away. What to do? You may need a friend or family member around to make sure you don’t remove items from the give-away or throw-away basket and then add to the keep basket. Ha!

What’s an item, or items, you’d never rid your house of at any time?

Happy Memorial Day. Be safe.

Please check out these links to my books, available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, and Apple. http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

I wish you Butterflies, Music and Love

 

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to -Stuff- Where does it all come from?

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    I feel for you, Carol. Within the last couple of years—I’m not actually sure when—but while cleaning out a bunch of bins, I must have accidentally sent a wrong bag to the donation facility. What breaks my heart about that is that my mom had made each us girls a pillow. Much like a throw pillow in size, this one was much different. She’d cross stitched a tic-tac-toe board onto it and made smaller pillows with Xs and Os on them which attached to the larger pillow as you played the game. I’d give anything to have that pillow back. She used to sit with me for hours and play.

    It’s hard to let go. But we can’t keep everything. Good luck with your piles! ❤

    Liked by 4 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      Oh that is so sad. But when I think of a few friends who have managed to survive house fires, etc, they’ve lost so much more! Everything is destroyed. Memories gone in smoke.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Carol says:

        My mom lost everything she had, when I was in the fifth grade, I think, maybe it was the sixth. She had nothing left. Nothing. Fire destroys everything. No lives were lost though, so that was a blessing.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Carol says:

      Oh, Jackie. Losing that pillow must be heartbreaking. I feel for you. How awful the wrong bag was sent to a donation facility! Memories of you and your mom playing tic-tac-toe, is something you can hold onto! ❤

      Liked by 3 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I know I have way too many things that I have kept. But if my girls one day toss my first edition of Heidi or my first edition of my beloved Robert Louis Stevenson poems because they are old books and who reads paper anymore? I will haunt them forever!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    I have the same problem. I’ve got piles of art that my kids have done. I can’t throw out any scrap of paper that says “I love you, Mommy” on it, no matter how tattered it might be.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Carol says:

      I understand, Susan! I still have a box full of my son’s papers in the attic. When I am old, I shall drag out the box and read them again. My grandchildren played with some of their dad’s toys. They thought that was pretty cool!

      Liked by 3 people

  4. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I think, as parents, we always want to save every scrap of our children’s childhood. I tend to get rid of cards about a week after I get them. But I save other milestone items: their diplomas from all the schools they attended since preschool, their award ribbons, state test scores, their favorite companion toys from when they were babies (a cloth doll for my daughter, my son’s Elmo blanket). My daughter doesn’t know it, but she’s got an original Cabbage Patch doll still in its packaging safely stowed in my mother-in-law’s attic. They were the hot toy the year she was born so we bought one and kept it from her. Maybe it will be a collector’s item one day.
    Personally, my biggest hoard is books given to me by author friends or edit clients that have been personalized and signed. I’m always honored by those gifts and refuse to part with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol says:

    You have some treasured memories, Gina. If only we had a special memory room!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

