The Power of Words

I recently attended a workshop on poetry. I had to be there. It was for our local writing group and I had to MC, etc. Someone else had invited the speaker. All I knew was that Tom was coming and that he taught at a college. Long story short, I sort of recognized his face. It was later that I did that OMG head smack. He’d attended our group a few times, but used a nickname. As a speaker, he was fabulous and a little quirky – just enough to make him unique.

Poetry is one of those little hidden elements. So many people will tell you they dislike poetry. But they like music. Umm, wait a moment. The words to those songs are basically poems. They are listening to poetry. There are those who write poetry. They love to write it. And people who read it.

I read poetry. Occasionally I do a little mind bending and force myself to write a poem. Because making our minds do other things is supposed to be healthy for the brain to keep it active. Guess that means I do mental cross-training. Am I any good? Absolutely not! I can’t imagine ever putting together the poems I’ve written and publishing them as The Poetry of Elizabeth Ayers. (Doesn’t that sound as though you are about to read some Victorian British poet? Ha!)

But one of the things the speaker did talk about was the power of words. Words come with feelings attached to them, especially ones that utilize our senses. Say automotive tire to one person and nothing happens. But the odor of new tires is considered pleasant by some and might gag another. One thing everyone can agree on is that the odor is distinctive. The feel of corduroy is distinctive, as is polished stone. Oatmeal, grits, brownies, mashed potatoes, matzo ball soup, and the list goes on and on because foods produce feelings in us. What’s your comfort food and why? Do you remember your mom or grandmom making it? Or after you finished your Christmas shopping with Dad, he’d take you that one place where you’d get a cup of hot cocoa and an oatmeal raisin cookie that was so big you had to break it in half and share it with him? Memories! So when we read something, the words trigger those memories in our mind’s warehouse.

When I got to thinking about it and how it applies to what we read or write, like or dislike about books, I had another ah-ha(!) moment. We choose genres and often authors because those stories tug on memories and trigger those happy juices in our brains. What works for one person doesn’t for another. It’s a little like strawberry ice cream swirled with chocolate.

For me, I love old houses and tiny historic towns with little restaurants that serve real food that someone in the kitchen actually made and didn’t pull from a freezer and stuff in the microwave. Such is the little town of Franklin, VA. To drive up that hill to all those beautiful old houses, look down to the Blackwater River, the old train station and what was once a sawmill makes history come alive. It’s a friendly little place that the bypass has allowed the busy world to forget.

So if your idea of a good read is a feisty but kind female, and a strong, protective male who respects the women in his life, you just might like A Rancher’s Request. It starts out in the small, but thriving town of Franklin, VA. Two men, who have been friends since they were children, hatch a plan to have their children marry when Duncan Lorde writes home and asks his father to find him a good woman. His dad knows exactly where to find one.

Zadie Larkford, the daughter of the town’s doctor, is a young college-educated, proper, Victorian woman, and she’s livid when she discovers that her father intends to ship her off to the newly formed state of Wyoming to marry man she doesn’t know. In a time when arranged marriages were common and young women obeyed their fathers, Zadie has no problem letting her intended know that she’s not going to be a meek little woman. But sometimes the best plans go awry.

A Rancher’s Request is on pre-order sale for 99c USD. The low price is a little reward to my faithful readers. It will release June 27, 2017.

Enjoy the letter Duncan wrote to Zadie after receiving one from her.  He knew she was being uppity in her letter with the hopes of discouraging him. With tongue in cheek, he replied.

 

It will also be available in paper and in large print.

BLURB

Zadie Larkford, recently graduated from an Eastern women’s college, lives a quiet life in her hometown of Franklin, Virginia. Content to spend her days painting by the river and watching her friends marry, she is shocked to learn that her father has promised her hand in marriage to a complete stranger. Ultimately unable to disobey, she leaves her childhood home to travel – unaccompanied – to Creed’s Crossing, Wyoming to meet her betrothed.

Raised in a seafaring community in North Carolina, Duncan Lorde made the decision to leave his father’s prosperous fishing venture to make a life for himself in the west. Determined to succeed in the treacherous and unpredictable pursuit of cattle ranching, he has land, a small cabin, and a herd. All he needs now is a wife–a good woman who will cook, clean, and provide him with strong sons to help on the ranch. When Zadie arrives in Creed’s Crossing, the young daughter of his father’s old friend is far more independent and strong-willed than he expected.

The young would-be-couple has barely begun to forge a bond when the forces of man and nature collide, impeding Duncan and Zadie as they struggle to fulfill…

A Rancher’s Request

Publisher’s Note:

A Rancher’s Request is a full-length historical novel with romantic and romance elements for the discerning reader who appreciates historical accuracy with a dose of authentic adventure. Available in both Kindle and trade-sized paperback, this story of a rancher and his bride speaks to the heart of the old west in a way that blends traditional western novels with the spark and excitement of love.

Indie Artist Press is thrilled to add another tale to the Creed’s Crossing Historical series with book 5, A Rancher’s Request.

This entry was posted in E.'s Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    Twelve children?! My grandmother was one of thirteen. I can’t even fathom that. Loved Duncan’s letter to Zadie. He sounds determined to give her…everything! 😉 Thanks for sharing, E.

    Liked by 3 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      My grandmother (nee 1880’s) came from such a family. She lived at home and when her son was born, her mom had a child a few weeks behind her, and two more children before she quit having them. Ugh! How did they manage? Well, my great-grandmother did have help but…

      Zadie and Duncan have an interesting start. They are actually well matched, and can both throw witty barbs. But Duncan’s mom has trained him and his father made certain Duncan knew how to treat a lady, even if that lady wasn’t cooperating.

      Liked by 3 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      Yes, Duncan and Zadie are well matched. And Duncan is very kind to her. Thought you might enjoy these lines, they start with Duncan.

      “You are horrible with a gun. I’m not sure you’ll ever be able to hit the side of a barn.”
      “A barn is much bigger than a little can, and I can’t imagine a vicious chipmunk attacking me.” She gave his hand a squeeze as they stepped off the porch. “You really aren’t being fair to me, because you’ve never allowed me to point the gun at the barn. I’m willing to bet I could hit it if I tried very hard.”
      “Don’t even think about it. You are not going to put holes in my barn’s roof.”

      Liked by 3 people

  2. This looks awesome, E! Can’t wait to read!
    downloading. xx
    L

    Liked by 3 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    You had me at strawberry ice cream swirled with chocolate. Oh, and the new book sounds great too.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Diane Culver says:

    I read the word “poem” and instinctively shuddered. Memories came flooding back of my 10th grade English teacher saying she had a full drawer of red pens reserved just for me…..I do find solace in certain kinds of poems and before every Christmas read a few of Robert Frost’s works. I’d definitely defined my life as “The Road Not Taken”. Looking forward to reading your book. Diane

    Liked by 3 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      Ah, but no one will judge you now. (Did we have the same teacher?) But say iambic pentameter to me and I will run screaming from the room! It’s no wonder we all wound up hating poetry in school. Must we dissect everything?

      Thanks, Diane, I always love hearing from my readers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I love music lyrics and have come up with some great descriptions for characters based on that particular type of poetry. My favorite meal growing up was a chicken dish my mom made with balsamic vinegar and lots of oregano. To this day, whenever I smell balsamic vinegar, I remember every birthday when my mom would make that dinner for me. I love the letter from Duncan. Twelve babies?! Yikes. I stopped at two for a reason. LOL!

    Liked by 2 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      Chicken dish with balsamic vinegar? Recipe please??

      The twelve babies comment came from her complaint to him that he probably expected her to have that many. 🙂 And Duncan was a bit risque in his replies on more than one occasion, which did not go unnoticed by Zadie.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol says:

    I feel as though I know Duncan and Zadie. Can’t wait to read your newest release, A Rancher’s Request. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

