Seasonal Reading

I love to read Christmas romances just before the holidays. Love, romance, and holly and green. Writers like Grace Burrowes can lavish you with Regency holidays. The balls. The gowns. The dashing men under the mistletoe. Ahhh! I can spend a whole day in a snowy English wonderland.

 

 

In the summer I love to read adventure tales. I binge on Andy McDermott, James Rollins, Dan Brown, Brad Thor, and Jonathan Maberry. The lure of other lands, of larger-than-life heroes and heroines is an easy way to escape the heat of summer. I am not an outdoors kind of girl. Give me a corner of the couch, a good book, and a glass of iced tea and I’m good to go for several hours.

 

Do you find your reading follows the calendar? Do you only read Christmas stories during the holidays or beach reads during the summer? Or do you branch out and read whatever strikes your fancy?


Jill James, writer and reader

working on Christmas novella: names and title still a work in progress. 🙂

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seasonal Reading

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    When I’m in between writing, I read whatever snares my attention, which often is young adult stories like Legend by Marie Lu, Harry Potter, or Winger by Andrew Smith, just to name a few off the top of my head. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I think I tend to read Christmas stories around Christmas, but I have no problem reading them in July. I guess I read whatever whenever. I’m not very picky about the seasons, but I am picky about reading a really good book.I don’t have time to read one that isn’t grabbing me or well written. Toss! Find another!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ginaarditoauthor says:

    I tend to read holiday-themed stories around that holiday, but at any other time of the year, it’s just what I’m in the mood for and what I just finished previously that drives my next choice. I can read a gripping thriller on the beach or in front of a fire during a snowstorm, but when I finish that thriller I’ll look for something cheery and light for my next read. I love having so much variety!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carol says:

    Christmas stories any time of the year are still one of my favorites. Another favorite is John Grisham or other writers of legal books or thriller writers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Just finished, “One Heart to Win”. Haven’t read a Johanna Lindsey in a while so I figured I’d give it a shot. Fast, fun read. Now I’m into, “Extreme Prey”, by John Sanford. I like his Virgil Flowers books the best, but so far this title is fantastic. Loving it!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

