Best Birthday Present Ever

IMG_3338One of my seven-year-old twins made me this card for my birthday last week. I love it. I don’t need anything more than this.

Life as a working mom of three young girls can be overwhelming. I’m always playing catch-up, trying my best to keep up with the demands but seemingly still falling short.

Sure, I know I’m important to my kids – but when one of them takes the time to tell me, it means the world.

On the weekend, I remarked to my other twin that she looked cute in a picture I’d taken. She looked at me and said, “You’re cute and brave and strong.”

“Like Wonder Woman!” I joked.

She agreed wholeheartedly.

I don’t see myself as any of those things. But there it is, the reward for all my hard work and sacrifice as a mother – I get to be Wonder Woman in someone’s eyes.

That’s pretty amazing.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Best Birthday Present Ever

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Ahhhh! That is so sweet! So glad you get to be Wonder Woman. Enjoy it. They will be come teenagers too soon. LOL

    Liked by 5 people

  2. jackiemaurer says:

    I think you are Wonder Woman in the eyes of many, Susan. And I agree with you; these beautiful words from our kids really are the best. You’ll cherish that birthday-beauty forever. Thanks for sharing it with us. Hugs to you, WW ❤

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Carol says:

    Nothing compares to a handmade card with such sweet honesty from your child. Frame it! BTW Happy Belated Birthday!

    Liked by 4 people

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a beautiful post, Susan. Your birthday card is perfect. Happy Birthday, Wonder Woman!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ginaarditoauthor says:

    Make sure you save that card! When your child becomes a miserable teenager, you’ll want to pull it out and remind yourself you used to be Wonder Woman (and you will be again, once they hit their adult years).

    Liked by 2 people

Please Leave a Reply

