HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT YOU MIGHT LIKE TO LIVE IN ANOTHER TIME?

I did, for years and years…and then I discovered SCA, the Society for Creative Anachronism, where others who sometime wish they lived in other times and I get together to play, learn and teach others the skills you’ve learned! I didn’t think you blog readers would be interested until someone out there told me they’d love to see a post about it, so here goes!

 

I grew up in the California redwoods, helping around our little lifestyle block, riding my horse,         and pony broncs!  with my best friend Leslie and my sister    

 

 

 

 

 

 

cooking, working with leather,

doing 4-H in a major way,

cheerleading, and generally having a pretty wonderful time.

 

 

One of my favorite pastimes, when I had the chance, was hiding in the tall field of wild oats at a neighbor’s place with my pony’s lead in one hand and a book in the other, reading about other faraway places and times past…especially Dark Ages British Isles in general and Arthurian legends, in Mary Stewart’s Crystal Cave, in particular. J

 

Then I went off to university and studied my little brains out until I graduated from veterinary school at UC Davis in the Equine Track. It was a long ride, but it was worth it.  Life stayed busy for many years. I moved to New Zealand, raised a family, farmed and I rode and drove riding and carriage horses.  But always, in the back of my mind, was that little idea that I was born in the wrong time.

  

Driving Blue Mist Shemaya with youngest son Elliot grooming, and with Jason, my navigator for the roads and tracks portion…Elliot was too little, he wasn’t allowed.

 

I’d always liked archery, since I’d been little, and when the opportunity to shoot returned to my life, I grabbed it. I attended an archery event in New Zealand:  

and shortly

 

afterward, I found out about a medieval re-enactment event called Abbey Medieval Festival, in Australia. Well, it seems I was heading over there anyway, to speak at a veterinary dental conference, and the dates coincided nicely! I sorted out all sorts of things, like authentic costume, etc. for my son and I, and we went. It was fantastic, all I could have ever dreamed.

 

 

While we were there, I looked up a Kiwi whose name I’d been given at that original archery event, found him, and he told me about SCA…in New Zealand!

SO what’s SCA? It’s a worldwide organisation that re-enacts the middle ages… ‘as is should have been’, says my partner…ie: without getting killed when you fight with swords, without the plague, and with indoor plumbing and cooking with gas. In short, all the best parts, pageantry and fun without the serious danger. Cheating a bit (well, a lot?), but it’s awfully fun. “Scadians”, or those who participate in SCA, aim for varying degrees of authenticity in their clothing, weaponry, food, crafts, in the creation of their SCA persona, but all with an overlying concept of chivalry and courtesy. In New Zealand, we seem to go for a higher level of authenticity than some other parts of the organisation. This past year, I was recognised by the Crown with an Award of Arms. That meant I could create a device (coat of arms) for myself and call myself a Lady, even if no one else does.  LOL

The name I’ve applied for is: Lisebet Skinkel van Egeskow.

 

Here’s a bit about the Skinkels and Egeskow (Egeskov currently, though was spelled Egeskow historically). My mother is Danish, so it fits.

http://www.egeskov.dk/en/history

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeppe_p%C3%A5_bjerget

 

Equestrian  skill at arms:   My first try on a lovely, borrowed horse in Australia. 🙂

 

Martial Arts  archery,

fencing, heavy fighting, (not steel in SCA)

Sewing: making our own clothing, using lovely, natural fibres: linen, wool, fur and silk, primarily…learning and teaching others…

             

 

authentic, natural fabrics, dyeing, spinning, weaving, nalbinding, lucet braiding,

 

Cooking:  here’s me doing Medieval Masterchef, or at least the food I cooked. It’s being judged.

Playing Medieval Music and Dancing:

Royalty!

EATING…

  

 

 

SO

If you’ve ever wanted to live in another time, go out and find your local SCA group, they’re all over the world now, and…get this…The group was formed less than half an hour from where I grew up…I went away to university and missed it…how’s that for timing?

I had to go halfway around the world to find it.

Hope you don’t have to.

Come on out and play!

Xx

Lizzi

About Lizzi Tremayne

Lizzi grew up riding wild in the Santa Cruz Mountain redwoods, became an equine veterinarian at UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, practiced in the California Pony Express and Gold Country before emigrating to New Zealand. When not writing, she's swinging a rapier or shooting a bow in medieval garb, riding, driving a carriage or playing on her farm, singing, or working as an equine veterinarian or science teacher. She is multiply published and awarded in special interest magazines and veterinary periodicals.
This entry was posted in Lizzi's posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT YOU MIGHT LIKE TO LIVE IN ANOTHER TIME?

  1. Carol says:

    Wow! Makes me tired just reading all you do! It’s so interesting being invited inside your life. You’ll never go down as the girl who left her dreams behind. 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    That sounds like so much fun. Especially dressing up!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. jackiemaurer says:

    I once thought I might like checking out the future. Not so much anymore. I think I’d make a great companion to Dr. Who, and I’d really like trying your archery. Enjoyed your post, Lizzi. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, wow! Around here, there are mostly Civil War reenactments, and it’s loads of fun to see everyone dressed and figuring out how to cook on an open fire.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Want a Little More Insight into Lizzi Tremayne? «

Please Leave a Reply

