Are You A History Buff?

If you’re a history buff, this would be a perfect trip to make. I’d love to add photos here, but they are licensed. So, I’m adding links to some of the sites instead.

http://www.atlantastruesouth.com/gone-with-wind/

Margaret Mitchell visited her grandparents at their Fitzgerald Plantation during summers. She’d listen to them tell stories of the War Between the States. They’d also talk about Reconstruction of the South. Needless to say, she was undoubtedly fascinated and as her imagination grew, she wrote one of the most beloved books of our time.

Margaret Mitchell pulled information from stories she’d heard and her exceptional novel “Gone With the Wind” was born. It’s no wonder the area she chose for, Scarlett O’Hara’s beloved Tara, as the setting in Clayton County, Georgia.

If you visit The Road to Tara Museum, be prepared to view some exciting items and wonderful memories to take away.

http://www.atlantastruesouth.com/gone-with-wind/road-to-tara-museum/

A short drive from Clayton County, you’ll find Marietta, Georgia.

There, and only a few steps away from the quaint Marietta square, is the Marietta Gone With the Wind Museum: Scarlett on the Square.

http://gwtwmarietta.com/

http://gwtwmarietta.com/visitors_information.aspx

Many other areas have Gone With the Wind Museums. Check online for one near you!

There’s still time to visit before school begins! Take your kids along for a bit of Southern history.

Enjoy the rest of your Summer.

Please check out these links to my books, available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, and Apple.

http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.html

I wish you Butterflies, Music and Love…

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are You A History Buff?

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    I’ve always loved that movie! Georgia is beautiful in many ways, and the people are so friendly. Sadly, during out visits to the Marietta area with travel baseball, I never thought to go check these places out. My take-all-side-roads Navi system showed me all sorts of places while driving from complex to complex. But how did I miss this? Now that we’re empty nesters, I’m going to have to put another Marietta area trip on my bucket list. Thanks for sharing, Carol. And enjoy the rest of your summer! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched Gone With the Wind. The first time was at a drive-in where you had to attach speakers to your window! Giving away my age, I suppose. 🙂 My brother and I were allowed to sit on a blanket in front of the car to watch the movie. We thought that was pretty cool! With so many speakers around, there was no problem hearing the audio. If you get a chance, visit both places for a warm and fuzzy feeling.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I love historical sites. There are many places in the U.S. I’d love to take my kids if we could afford to travel far and wide.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Diane Culver says:

    I devour anything any historical novels – fiction or non with Revolutionary or Civil War content. I remember seeing GONE WITH THE WIND on the “big screen” for $.75 and fell in love with Rhett—-There are times I’d wished I were born in another era to live the experience…..but the colonial period has given me a few ideas for time-travel books from 1776 time period to present day….Last year we toured VA and followed the Civil War trail sites in VA stopping at Monticello, Fredricksburg and other places along the way. Fascinating. Never enough $$$$ to see it all and get “across the pond” as well. Have printed out your column to be saved in my “hope to go to” folder.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Carol says:

      Ah, Rhett. I also fell in love with Rhett. How could we not? Your trip sounds wonderful! My nephew and niece visit Fredricksburg every year. They simply love the area. There’s so much to do and see there. I so hope you’ll visit our area one day! Great idea to have a “hope to go” folder! 🙂 Thank you for visiting our blog, Diane. Please don’t be a stranger.

      Liked by 1 person

      • E. Ayers says:

        Funny, when we live close to things, we have a different perspective on them. Say Fredricksburg to me and I think traffic jams on the interstate. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        • Carol says:

          My nephew and niece have visited Fredricksburg, I believe, four years in a row. It may be three, but thinking four is the correct number. I kind of feel the same way about our Stone Mountain. So many people visit, it’s hard to even park! But…we do love the area. 🙂

          Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I think we all thought Rhett (Clark Gable) was the ultimate hero, until I got old enough to discover that my mom really liked Leslie Howard. Huh? Maybe that why she married a blond. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristy Tate says:

    OH MY GOODNESS. When I was in 8th grade, I lived and breathed Gone With the Wind. I read it in a week and missed days of school because I was “sick.” Loved it with a passion and had a picture of Scarlet and Rhett on my bedroom until the day I got married.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. LOL.
    I started reading this thie other day…and went off on links and never got back here to comment!
    Thanks for sharing this with us!
    xx
    Lizzi

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

