Nothing Will Happen to Me

It doesn’t seem real. Texas is so far away. So we sit back, watch a city flood, and view the twisted steel remains of what were condos. Knowing it’s not going to have any real effect on our lives other than drive the price of gasoline through the roof, we go about our business, because it’s not tangible when you live a 1000 miles away.

Except the world is growing smaller, thanks to cell phones and places like Facebook and Snapchat. As Harvey is wrecking havoc on Houston, we’re virtually watching it as it happens. Seeing the video of my friend’s son whose street is already flooded and slowly the water is getting closer to the house. His brand new house that they just bought a few months ago. And he’s in an area that wasn’t supposed to flood.

To be honest, I didn’t even know there was a hurricane until late Sunday night. When I discovered it, it was simply just another hurricane in the Gulf. “Uh-oh, here goes Louisiana again.”

But then it was headed into Texas and the storm didn’t look too big, there wasn’t much of an eye. What? A Cat 4? This was no ordinary hurricane. We don’t get many Cat 4’s hitting the USA. Then I watched it. OMG!

The devastation is unreal. Still it’s far away. But when you live in an area where hurricanes hit, you pay attention to them. And when your friend’s young son lives near Houston with his wife and baby… And when another friend lives in the downtown Houston, and the list goes on and includes authors and other friends. The whole thing seems worse with cell phones recording the rising water or the house that has tumbled to the ground. There is no question in my mind what a Cat 4 can do, I know how bad a hurricane can be. I know what a tropical storm can do, and I know how fast a tropical depression can change into a full-fledged hurricane.

Harvey has made me rethink what I would do if the call came to evacuate. Even an early warning to evacuate has made me alter my thinking. Yes, I’m on high ground. And my house has stood for probably 200 years or more. What’s the worse that would happen? That darn pecan tree that is owned by the neighbors that sways over my house could fall and severely damage the back end of my house. Or maybe that illegal aluminum siding that someone managed to put on the house about 40 years ago might be ripped off in a good blast of wind. Certainly I could sustain the force of a hurricane. “Give me that marker because I’m more than willing to write my social security number on my arm. Nothing will happen to me! This house can withstand a storm.”

After watching what has happened in Texas, I’ve decided I’m the biggest chicken to ever live. Want to see how fast I can pack and get out of town? I’ll toss my external hard disk in the car, along with my laptop, a handful of family photos, all the insurance stuff, and other important papers. I’ve seen enough. I’m not going to hang around for anything greater than a Cat 1, and I might not take my chances on that. I’ll be one of the first ones to pull out.

And why are they calling them cyclones? That’s the new word for what, a hurricane or tropical depression? And we have “something” dumping a ton of water on us. What? We’ve got a “cyclone” sitting off our Eastern coastline. When did that happen? I’ve been watching Harvey. I had no idea until this thing was about to dump a ton of water on us!

Okay, who lives where there are no earthquakes, tornadoes, volcanoes, or hurricanes? Because that’s where I want to go!

This entry was posted in E.'s Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nothing Will Happen to Me

  1. Yep, it’s a scary business. We plan to be in Texas in November…Hope everyone’s okay. xxxx

    Liked by 3 people

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Such a heartbreaking situation.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is on my mind as well. We live in along a bad faultline and they’ve been warning it’s only a matter of time until there is (not if) a devastating earthquake. I worry because my mom isn’t in the best of health and my grandson has type 1 diabetes. They both HAVE to have their meds. I hope and pray in an emergency we have the time and means to get them and everything they need to safety.
    My thoughts and prayers are with those affected by Harvey.

    Liked by 3 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      Hurricanes are scary but living anywhere near a fault line would terrify me! Oh but wait, I do live near one, it only gives a little bit of a rumble-shake every 200 years or something. It did that in 2011. With luck, I’ll never feel it again. I really cannot imagine living in Calif with what they get! I’d be panicked that the thing would crack open and swallow me, the house, and everything I owned. 😦 At least we have plenty of warning and can get out before a hurricane hits!

      Liked by 3 people

  4. jackiemaurer says:

    This past July, Chicago got hit with 1.6 trillon gallons of rain in a matter of hours, which caused a ton of flooding. One elementary school’s library was over half under water. I cannot even fathom nearly 10 trillon gallons of Harvey rain coming down. In a way, it has to be similar to an earthquake in severity as more and more water falls to Earth. Like the difference between a 6.0 magnitude quake versus an 8.0. It doesn’t sound like much of a difference, but it really is. After a certain amount of rain, there is just nowhere for it to go. I wish there was an easy way to put that water in tanker trucks, clean it up, and ship it to dry land that needs it. My heart goes out to Texas.

    Liked by 2 people

    • E. Ayers says:

      I agree. It seems unfair that one place gets too much while another is starving for rain. But I also find it amazing that clouds can hold that much rain. When you think how heavy water is… How can clouds hold that much above our heads, yet look so fluffy and light?

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Carol says:

    I cannot even imagine going through something as horrific as Hurricane Harvey. The devastation is so widespread and heartbreaking for those involved. God bless all the compassionate workers that volunteered in this time of need, and are still doing so, to save lives. God Bless Texas and Louisiana.

    Liked by 1 person

    • E. Ayers says:

      You bring up a good point. The devastation is well beyond Houston but the news only carries Houston. And so many average people with fishing books went down there to help rescue, etc. They took off from work to do what they could. No pay, used their own gasoline, paid their own way, etc. Yes, the kind wonderful hearts of so many volunteers. They are doing what they can to rescue people and pets.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

