The Home Front

November 11 was Remembrance Day here is Canada. On this day, we pay tribute to all those in the armed forces who have sacrificed their lives to ensure the peace and freedom we enjoy today. The ceremonies of remembrance always touch me deeply. I am overwhelmed to think of the millions who lost their lives in World Wars I and II, and specifically the 105,000 Canadian soldiers who perished.

I can’t help but think of the families left behind; as a mom, I put myself in the place of the mothers who lost their sons. Imagine the agony of each of those women, going about her days in fear of a telegram arriving at her door with the dreaded news that her child will not be returning home.

Imagining this inspired me to begin myAt Home.indd latest novel, set in 1943 in a fictional Ontario city. The heroine, Grace, is a young widow whose only son has enlisted in the army. Grace spends her time taking care of everyone else, keeping herself busy and thinking little of her own needs. When she meets Max, a mortician with a captivating smile, she realizes there is room in her beleaguered heart for the exhilaration of falling in love. But when Grace discovers a painful secret from Max’s past, she can’t help trying to set things right, whether he wants her help or not.

I started this story last year and had to put it aside to work on my Christmas novella. The research required to get a handle on the time period has slowed me down as well. I have a cover, because a cover always inspires me to continue writing, but I’ve only drafted three chapters and made a general outline for the rest. I have no timeline for finishing it – I don’t want the pressure of a deadline to prevent me from getting it just right. This is a “book of my heart” sort of project that I work on whenever I have time. Hopefully it will be available by next Remembrance Day.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Home Front

  1. jackiemaurer says:

    November 11 is a day that touches my heart deeply, too, Susan. I can’t even imagine the loss of 60 million people, women included. I wish for peace on Earth, and I don’t understand why it’s such a difficult concept for some.

    I can’t wait to read your story. Don’t worry about how long it takes to transfer all those thoughts onto paper. Some of the best books I’ve read have taken years to evolve. Enjoy the process. Love your cover!! ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Carol says:

    Yes, it’s heartbreaking to think of thousands of lost lives who’ve fought for our freedom over the years. Brave young men and women gave their all. War is a horrible thing. Good luck with the book of your heart. I’m sure it will be an emotional read. I can’t wait for it to release.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m grateful we take November 11th to honor the men and women who fought for our freedom.
    Good luck with your story, Susan. I look forward to reading it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    My family over-seas has the image of the poppy to remember. Art is filled with poppies, poppies adorn hats and lapels and hearts. It’s hard to see all that red, but it’s helpful to remember service and sacrifice. Thanks for this post, Susan. I love your cover. Excited about your newest work.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

